Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,261 Members 51,145 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[App] [01/26/2009] TouchResponse 0.3.2 - Vibrate on touch

Tip us?
 
Snailslug
Old
(Last edited by Snailslug; 3rd February 2009 at 02:50 PM.) Reason: New Version 0.3.2
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City
Default [App] [01/26/2009] TouchResponse 0.3.2 - Vibrate on touch

01/26/09 - This is just a minor update to fix some issues and add a couple small features.

Feel free to give comments or ask questions.

Thanks!


This program is a touch driver to handle the touchscreen presses and vibration. A settings program exists to configure how the vibration works.

Since this is a touch driver, there is no program you need to run to start it.

It has been tested on an HTC Touch and HTC Touch Pro for several days with several stability issues corrected. I am only releasing this now that I feel comfortable that you will experience no major issues. However, I cannot guarantee that it will work flawless for you. I cannot be held responsible for any loss of data or time you may experience while using this.

If you are experiencing problems after installation, please let me know so I can fix these issues.

Features
  • Global enable/disable option
  • Vibrate on touch/release
  • Variable duration of vibrate
  • Disable during Phone Call option
  • Disable when device is silent
  • Disable when device is locked
  • Disable when stylus is out (for devices that support this option)
  • Enabled for On-Screen Keyboard only (Temporary option until full include/exclude list is incorporated)
  • Settings Program->Settings->System->TouchResponse Settings
  • AppToDate support

Coming Soon
  • Include/Exclude list for vibration
  • Different vibration patterns
  • Resolve any software conflicts
  • Vibration tweaks
  • Sound on touch
  • Vibrate on hardware button press
  • Multi-language support in Settings program
  • I'm open to suggestions...

Known Issues
  • May or may not play well with touchflo/ftouchsl. If TouchResponse isn't working for you, try disabling those if they are enabled.
  • Disable when device is silent may not work on some devices. Let me know what kind of device you have if this is the case for you.
Donate

This is a free program and I plan on keeping it that way. If you enjoy using it and would like to support its development, please consider donating by clicking here:

Donate $ | Donate €

Change Log

.3.2 (01/26/09) - Minor update
- Option to disable vibration when device is locked
- AppToDate now supported - Download AppToDate to be informed of the latest updates
- Fixed issue when SIP Only didn't work as expected in landscape mode
- Fixed issue when Stylus Out still resulted in vibration when that option was set.

.3.1 (01/14/09) - Minor update
- Should properly upgrade when built into a custom rom

.3 (01/13/09) - More features
- Option to vibrate on release of touch
- Option to disable vibration when stylus is out
- Option for vibration to only be enabled for on-screen keyboard
- Better auto-detection of device model/vibrate id

.2.2 (11/27/08) - More Minor Updates
- Can increment the duration by one instead of five now
- The chance for a longer than usual vibration should be reduced if not eliminated altogether
- Disable while silent option should work a little better now
- Settings program allows for more Vibrate IDs in the Advanced tab

.2.1 (11/26/08) - Minor Update
- Windows Mobile 5 is now supported

.2 (11/26/08)
- Attempt to resolve suspend issues with certain phones - Let me know
- Disable while silent option added - may not work perfect

.1 (11/24/08)
- Initial Release

Questions and Answers
Q. How to I change the settings?
A. Start->Settings->System->TouchResponse Settings

Q. Why do I not see the settings program?
A. For some phones, the settings program does not appear in the control panel. Until I figure out a fix, you can run the program by going to \windows\TouchResponseSettings.cpl

Q. Why is it not vibrating when I touch the screen?
A. Go to the Device tab in TouchResponse Settings. It will display information about your device. If it says to select your vibrate id then find the one that causes the vibrate to work. Send me a PM with the name of your device model along with the vibrate id that works for you and I will incorporate that into future releases.

Q. Will this drain my battery life?
A. I don't have any statistics to show the before and after battery usage. However, I personally have not experienced any significant increase in battery usage. It all depends on how long the vibrate duration is and how often you touch the screen.

Q. Why does the vibrate last longer than it's supposed to sometimes?
A. This should hopefully be resolved as of version .02.2. If you experience this after this version, please let me know when it happens and how often.

Q. Why is the vibration always the same duration no matter what the settings are set at?
A. Use a registry editor to go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software>OEM>VIB and set STRENGTH_LOW to 0. Thanks to agdaniels for pointing this out.

Please don't post this cab on any other site. Let's keep all discussion here. I appreciate your cooperation.

Thank you for your support!

Attached Files
File Type: cab TouchResponse_v0_3_2.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (310.5 KB, 52996 views)
 
xboxhaxorz
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 849
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Ill try it and let ya know how it compares
XModdz Xbox & PC Repair
XTC Clip Unlocker
 
m.schmidler
Old
#3  
m.schmidler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 302
Join Date: Apr 2008
Nice idea, thanks for sharing.

I read about a phone (I think it was LG Incite?) where some people complained about vibrating even when entering text with the soft-keyboard.

Could you give us an option to dis-/enable vibrating when entering text ? Maybe there´s an event you can use when the soft-keyboard flips up...dunno

regards,
Martin
HTC Touch Pro with WM 6.5.5 - Exquisite Series with Sense 2.1 & ThrottleLauncher

martinschmidler.com -- web, gadgets, politics, thoughts -- german+english.
 
Snailslug
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by m.schmidler View Post
Could you give us an option to dis-/enable vibrating when entering text ? Maybe there´s an event you can use when the soft-keyboard flips up...dunno
Since the driver has first crack at the touch event, I should be able to determine which window is being touched and either vibrate/not-vibrate depending on how it's configured. For example, I can see that the SIP is being touched and not vibrate. I'll add that to the list, Thanks!
 
xmoo
Old
#5  
xmoo's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1790
Posts: 5,301
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Eindhoven

 
DONATE TO ME
Just as Martin said.

When typng on the on screen keyboard. Vibrate on every button of the keyboard we pressing. That would be awesome.

Gonna test this on the X1i
Follow me on Twitter
 
zakula
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2008
It works great on my HTC touch PRO.
 
_fm
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 2,689
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Surabaya

 
DONATE TO ME
Yea Man !!

I love this Apps !!!

Thanks so much

all feature Works like a charm in my Kaiser (HTC TyTN II)
 
curious george
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 533
Join Date: Nov 2006
Well I guess I will put my suggestion here as I did with the other 2 programs like it. Would you consider creating a setting to were it is only active on SIP Keyboard AND when SIP keyboard is active I have choice between a vibration or a sound or both?

I know I can get a sound by going to the general settings of winmo but when it is on it makes a noise for all screen taps...annoying!!

CuriousG
Curious George
--------------
Cingular 8125(Wizard)
TNT .19199 WM 6.1 Prof ROM
IPL/SPL 3.08
GSM 2.71.11
OS 11.0.1.1
 
Snailslug
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by curious george View Post
Would you consider creating a setting to were it is only active on SIP Keyboard AND when SIP keyboard is active I have choice between a vibration or a sound or both?
Since this is a similar comment among everyone I will focus on this next. Thanks everyone for your feedback!
 
richabi
Old
#10  
richabi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 746
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
how about different types and lengths of viberations like the old motos used to have? dash-dash-dash-buzzz haha

maybe different intensities if possible?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more