FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

[UTIL] TouchWatch 2.01b - Timer/Stopwatch application

205 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By lopez1_de, Senior Member on 11th December 2008, 02:57 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is an old version. Get the new one here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=3837186


Hi again,

it's time to release a beta of the next version of TouchWatch.

This utility is in beta status. Please report bugs into this thread. Thank you.

Requirements:
Features:
  • up to 6 timers or stopwatches
  • landscape support
  • d-pad support
  • should work on all screen resolutions (VGA,QVGA,WVGA etc.)
  • use your own notifications sounds

Usage:
The usage is very simple. Just use fingertips to start or stop a timer (d-pad action). If you want to reset a timer, hold down your finger for 500ms (d-pad action for 500ms). To modify the settings of a timer, tab on the left side icon and the settings will open (d-pad left).
The top notification bar is showing radio strength, battery status, bluetooth status, wireless status and some other informations. Tab on the left side of the top bar to open the main settings screen (or use north gesture, d-pad right). To hide the application click the middle part of the top bar (or use south gesture). To close it click the right side of the top bar.



Installation:
Copy and run the CAB file on your device. You will find a shortcut to TouchWatch2 in your programs startmenu.
If you get an error that some DLL is missing: This can happen with some ROMs. Extract and copy the files located in the "TouchWatch2 DLLs.zip" into the "\Programs\TouchWatch2" directory and maybe TouchWatch will execute.

Version History:
2.01b:
* Added an option to select between application- or standard taskbar.
* Fixed bug: Font directory not found at startup (DirectoryNotFoundException).
2.0b:
* First beta release.

Support me with a donation for future developments:

Thank you!

Old Version 1:
You can get the v1 of Touchwatch here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=367333

Screenshots:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.png
Views:	856
Size:	12.4 KB
ID:	136434   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen3.png
Views:	755
Size:	14.9 KB
ID:	136435   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.png
Views:	468
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	137990  
Attached Files
File Type: zip TouchWatch2 DLLs.zip - [Click for QR Code] (136.0 KB, 270 views)
File Type: cab TouchWatch2 2.01b.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (1.23 MB, 696 views)
Last edited by lopez1_de; 26th May 2009 at 11:20 AM.
 
 
11th December 2008, 03:43 PM |#2  
hanackin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag toulouse
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
hi thanks for sharing

Is it fo VGA only or QVGA also ? and is it going to work on my hd also ? (WVGA)
11th December 2008, 04:52 PM |#3  
atomic2mod's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Great App! Absolutely love it and use it daily!

2 things:
1) When my phone goes into stand-by, the alarm does not go off - just a quiet vibration.
2) The top bar is very, very tiny. It's impossible to click the area to minimize or close the app.

Suggestion: Add soft-keys on the bottom bar, like Menu (close; minimize; about) and Settings on the other side.

I'm using it on:
Sprint HTC Touch Pro; WM6.1pro; VGA screen

thanks a bunch! Great Work!!!!
12th December 2008, 11:05 AM |#4  
lopez1_de's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanackin

hi thanks for sharing

Is it fo VGA only or QVGA also ? and is it going to work on my hd also ? (WVGA)

It's designed to work on all resolutions. But it's only tested in emulators. Please report your reesults here.
12th December 2008, 12:12 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Vesoul
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
No problem for me, just working fine on trinity except the fact that's it's for wwe rom, the cab doen't put the fonts in the "police" folder on my french rom so it made an error. I created a Fonts one to put the .ttf and all works fine. Thanks for sharing.
12th December 2008, 08:45 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
On my Tytn2 with WM6.1(HTC dutch Rom) it doesnt even start.

I get the following error:

DirectoryNotFoundException

I do have Net CF 3.5 installed.
Last edited by p-de-geus; 14th December 2008 at 10:02 PM.
15th December 2008, 12:03 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Won't start on a Touch 3G - it reports "An unexpected error has occurred in TouchWatch2.exe" and "This application requires a newer version of the Microsoft .NET Compact Framework than the version installed on the device." - which is very unlikely given that this is a brand new handset from HTC with ROM dated October 2008 ?
15th December 2008, 01:03 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 236
 
More
Thumbs up
Congratulations for TouchWatch application! Like it over G-Watch for one main reason, I was able to minimise it to do other stuff.

I'm running it in a TyTN II. Works great.

I've some suggestions:

1. Put icons over the top three locations (Main settings, minimise and close). Users don't need to guess what to do next once they launch the application and they don't read instructions :).

2. Increase the size of the two icons signifying timer and stopwatch (older people like me with poorer eyesight have difficulty distinguishing which is which).

3. Or put the words Timer and Stopwatch above the icons.

4. Possibility to change the background of the application (best is to use three colour slider).

Keep up the good work. Thanks.
15th December 2008, 12:45 PM |#9  
lopez1_de's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p-de-geus

On my Tytn2 with WM6.1(HTC dutch Rom) it doesnt even start.

I get the following error:

DirectoryNotFoundException

I do have Net CF 3.5 installed.

Hi. Can you click on details of the error message please. There should be a path which is not found. (for example: \Windows\Fonts)
15th December 2008, 12:47 PM |#10  
lopez1_de's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zard

Congratulations for TouchWatch application! Like it over G-Watch for one main reason, I was able to minimise it to do other stuff.

I'm running it in a TyTN II. Works great.

I've some suggestions:

1. Put icons over the top three locations (Main settings, minimise and close). Users don't need to guess what to do next once they launch the application and they don't read instructions :).

2. Increase the size of the two icons signifying timer and stopwatch (older people like me with poorer eyesight have difficulty distinguishing which is which).

3. Or put the words Timer and Stopwatch above the icons.

4. Possibility to change the background of the application (best is to use three colour slider).

Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Thanks for your feedback zard. I will have a look and will try to realize this suggestions.
15th December 2008, 12:54 PM |#11  
lopez1_de's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boggle

Won't start on a Touch 3G - it reports "An unexpected error has occurred in TouchWatch2.exe" and "This application requires a newer version of the Microsoft .NET Compact Framework than the version installed on the device." - which is very unlikely given that this is a brand new handset from HTC with ROM dated October 2008 ?

Please try the following:
Download, extract and copy the files located in the "Touchwatch2 DLLs.zip" into the program folder of TouchWatch2 (\Programs\TouchWatch2). Maybe this will work for you.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, stopwatch, timer, util
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes