5,600,335 Members 34,564 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][WM6][2009-07-01] FingerSuite v1.12 RC8

Tip us?
 
francarl
Old
(Last edited by francarl; 6th July 2009 at 10:14 AM.) Reason: version 1.12 (fingersuite release candidate 8)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 329
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default [APP][WM6][2009-07-01] FingerSuite v1.12 RC8

FingerSuite
by
Francesco Carlucci
Graphics by 12aon and Kraize

FingerSuite replaces standard menu and messagebox for our windows mobile devices.

Usage:
- configure autostart, skins and applications by new control panel applet.
- If fingermenu or fingermsgbox are visible, tap on left softkey (no label!) to access service menu (see video demo below).
- Slide right to left anywhere to go to parent menu. Last slide minimizes fingermenu.

Of course, this is a beta application so use it very carefully!!!!
These are video demonstrations of the application:

v1.09
v1.11
v1.12

For ROM cookers:
- if you want to change FingerMenu installation path, put a String value named InstallDir under [HKLM\Software\FingerMenu] e.g. InstallDir = \Windows
- if you want to change FingerMsgbox installation path, put a String value named InstallDir under [HKLM\Software\FingerMsgbox] e.g. InstallDir = \Windows

For skinners:
Put your skin under \Program Files\Finger<Menu|Msgbox>\skins under a custom folder, then select the skin from control panel applet. Edit font and color settings in settings_finger<menu|msgbox>.ini files.
Keep in mind that:
- selection_Xvga.png height is the menu item height
- btn_<up|down>_*vga.png height is the up/down buttons height

Multilanguage: it's provided by mean of MUI files under program folder. By default english is selected if correct rom language is not found. If you want to contribute with your language, edit Finger<Menu|Msgbox>.exe.0409.mui files changing string tables, menus and language id (important!), rename it according to language id and post to this the thread please.
ONLY 2 LANGUAGE SUPPORTED: ENG and ITA.

For developers, I code all the application using WTL and C++, so there is no need of .NET CF. I tested it only on my QVGA devices, but it seems to work well also under WQVGA/VGA/WVGA emulated device.

About me: I'm an 31 years old italian boy and I work in Rome for a big IT company. Really I haven't so much time to coding, so I want to thank my girlfriend Agnese for her patience.

Thanks to supbro, crino (http://wmdevelopers.blogspot.com/200...ject-dlls.html), dzolee (http://www.codeproject.com/KB/mobile/cergn.aspx), dimitri (http://www.ddj.com/architect/184405459), mamaich (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=247425), Kraize and 12aon for help with graphics.

Thanks to all beta tester for helping me in finding bugs and for their useful suggestions.

Please report in this thread any bug/suggestion.

Thanks to all.

ChangeLog
v1.0) initial release
v1.01) bug fix
v1.02)
- more bug fix
- added more registry key to control menu colors

v1.03)
- only one instance allowed
- double menu fix (to be tested)

v1.04)
- introduced transparency level for background
- bitmap converted to PNG with transparency (removed TransparentColor registry value because no more used)
- more bugfix

v1.05)
- a lot of bugfixes
- configuration by program name instead of window class name

v1.06)
- smooth scroll correction

v1.07) Revolution
- changed the way the program works (no more standard menu)
- support for SIP menu
- more similar to Opal SIP Menu
- support for WQVGA (like Omnia)

v1.08)
- AppToDate support (not tested!!!)
- Exclusion list (add only executable name without full path!)
- Autostart at windows boot (after cab install)
- png updated from Kraize work (thanks a lot!!)

v1.09)
- configurable visible menu item number (set to 0 for max)
- new feature: when menu is larger than screen, 2 big button appear for scroll up/down (see video)
- copy/paste/undo/cut now works almost always
- new option: disable background alpha blending and replace with solid color
- new option: max velocity scroll
- pngs and icon updated from Kraize and 12aon works (thanks a lot!!)

v1.10)
- back navigation with finger (right to left or d-pad left). This action on main menu cause fingermenu to minimize.
- d-pad & scroll wheel support (up/down to scroll, left to go back, right or enter to select)
- compatibility with .NET apps
- new option for disabling up/down button
- new service menu: disable fingermenu for x second (where x is configurable)
- bug fixes (transparency problem should be fixed now)

v1.11)
- new application FingerMsgbox
- configuration moved to control panel applet (Settings -> System -> FingerSuite)
- added option to autostart
- skin support
- multilanguage support (with MUI files)
- a lot of bug-fixes

v1.12rc8)
FingerMsgbox:
- added exclusion list by windows class - title
- added min height
- added start splash screen
- fix freeze problem
- fix: sound is disabled from Sound & Notification settings applet.

FingerMenu:
- added scrollbar
- added exclusion list by windows class - title
- back softkey on submenus
- added start splash screen
- new feature: keep pressed then release SIP button to popup SIP menu
- fix render of ownerdraw menu (if ownerdraw menu can't be rendered, switch to standard menu)
- fix freeze problem





Todo
- new application: FingerNotification similar to topaz notification manager (70% done)

Known bugs
- not working on WM5


Installation:
- if you've just installed older version, I strongly recommend you to uninstall and SOFTRESET device before installing new version.
- Installation on device is mandatory (if you need more space, delete *_vga.png on QVGA device or *_qvga.png on VGA device from installation folder)

PLEASE REPORT IN THIS THREAD ANY BUGS YOU FIND, THANKS!

Buy Me a Beer if you like my work

Code:
Total donations received: 131 EUR (too little, please support my work if you like it!)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture1.jpg
Views:	57947
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	145354   Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture3.jpg
Views:	57642
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	145355  
Attached Files
File Type: cab FingerSuite.v1.11.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (364.1 KB, 19813 views)
File Type: cab FingerSuite.v1.12rc8.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (370.4 KB, 20482 views)
File Type: cab FingerMsgbox.v1.01rc8.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (216.7 KB, 5815 views)
 
laocheebye
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2008
so i have to manually setup what the menus do? i'll try it out now. seems like a great app to make the soft key menu more finger friendly like tf3d.
 
francarl
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 329
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by laocheebye View Post
so i have to manually setup what the menus do? i'll try it out now. seems like a great app to make the soft key menu more finger friendly like tf3d.
thank you.
Yes, for now the setup is manual.. the cab is configured only for work with Manila2D and File Explorer apps.
 
mssmison
Old
#4  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 230
Posts: 1,646
Join Date: Apr 2008
Awesome idea and a really good implimentation. I'm curious what the problem would be if we preconfigured a large list of apps/registry keys and then included that in the cab? Not everyone will be wanting to edit their registry.
 
Madremiha
Old
#5  
Madremiha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2007
if i understand it's working on Manilla and Fexplore?
A chance to have this on other programs which use WM menu style? (Resco explorer; Memmaid; etc...)
HTC Elf / HTC Prophet
Best French WinMo Site
Sorry for my english, i'm french
 
francarl
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 329
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mssmison View Post
Awesome idea and a really good implimentation. I'm curious what the problem would be if we preconfigured a large list of apps/registry keys and then included that in the cab? Not everyone will be wanting to edit their registry.
you're right...I will soon implement a large list of preconfigured apps in the cab...please wait for a new release, thank you
 
francarl
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 329
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madremiha View Post
if i understand it's working on Manilla and Fexplore?
A chance to have this on other programs which use WM menu style? (Resco explorer; Memmaid; etc...)
Of course, it can work with other programs! for WMP, Resco Explorer and ActiveSync create a file with estension .reg and copy/paste the following text


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\FingerMenu\App3]
"ClassName"="WMP for Mobile Devices"
"Enabled"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\FingerMenu\App4]
"ClassName"="ActiveSync"
"Enabled"=dword:00000001


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\FingerMenu\App5]
"ClassName"="RESCO_EXPLORER_CLASS"
"Enabled"=dword:00000001

then use dotfred taskmanager to import it (www.dotfred.net/TaskMgr.htm).

Soon I'll release a configurator!
 
sheennick123456
Old
#8  
sheennick123456's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 787
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI

 
DONATE TO ME
Default adding new programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madremiha View Post
if i understand it's working on Manilla and Fexplore?
A chance to have this on other programs which use WM menu style? (Resco explorer; Memmaid; etc...)
see the 1st post he has given example of 2 programs

you can add others by adding the respective registry key(classname and enabled)
 
Madremiha
Old
#9  
Madremiha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2007
Okay so i'll test it good news for the configurator

Maybe a way to skin it as White writing on Black background
HTC Elf / HTC Prophet
Best French WinMo Site
Sorry for my english, i'm french
 
talbotlives
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2007
Great program!

A few things I've noticed:

-the program only shows 4 menu items, even if there are more in the softmenu. (example: I cannot see "connect via bluetooth" anymore in activesync, and its missing some out of wmp)

-the background goes fuzzy for a second when the program is activated (when you click on a menu).

Tags
finger friendly, fingermenu
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...