View Poll Results: In your opionion did the tweaks here speed up your X1 ?
Yes its zippy -my Xperience was improved 277 36.79%
No now it crawls like a slug 87 11.55%
Dont know ? / No difference, most tweaks are in my current ROM. 389 51.66%
Voters: 753. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Turbo Speed X1 - ROM 1 - Performance Thread, tweaks and benchmarks

OP Mark A Cilenti

15th December 2008, 02:55 AM   |  #11  
Mark A Cilenti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rotherham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Contender
Hi Chongbh

Nice Bitmaps, I bet your runnin a 4gb card ?
15th December 2008, 03:05 AM   |  #12  
chongbh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singpapore
Thanks Meter: 14
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark A Cilenti

Hi Chongbh

Nice Bitmaps, I bet your runnin a 4gb card ?

Yes, you are right. Still running on default 4GB MicroSD Card.
15th December 2008, 03:13 AM   |  #13  
THJahar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Mine with Jacks 1.06 ROM

Integer: 329.2297
Floating point :7.486
Ram access:1481
Draw Bitmaps:789
Main storage (write):10326.05
Main storage (read):15794.66
Ramdisk (write): 5394.21
Ramdisk (read): 16925.62

Although I think i've slowed it down a bit by installing/uninstalling too much stuff, perhaps it'll be better with a fresh installation
15th December 2008, 03:20 AM   |  #14  
Mark A Cilenti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rotherham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Ram disc nitrous !
Hi, THJahar

Whats the ramdisc, that more than 10 X my SD write, you,ve taken the lead, for now ha ha
15th December 2008, 03:24 AM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Mine with Jacks 1.07 ROM

Integer: 328
Floating point :7.442
Ram access:1470
Draw Bitmaps:787
Main storage (write):11548
Main storage (read):15022
Ramdisk (write): 5242
Ramdisk (read): 15835

Ran twice
15th December 2008, 04:21 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag S.F. and Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Thanks for this write up. I got:

Integer: 328.89
Floating point :7.521
Ram access:990
Draw Bitmaps:786
Main storage (write):8641.35
Main storage (read):11273.39
Storage card (write): 409.03
Storage card (read): 15633.59

Why are my numbers lower?

ok ran it again just to be sure:

Integer: 331.2134
Floating point :7.54
Ram access:1510
Draw Bitmaps:798
Main storage (write):8904.35
Main storage (read):13444.20
Storage card (write): 425.54
Storage card (read): 16605.41

Yay at least everything went up the 2nd time haha.
Last edited by contaygious; 15th December 2008 at 04:30 AM.
15th December 2008, 04:38 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Hmmm whats the down side of applying all those tweaks?

battery life?
heat?

Can we undo all of those changes and get the phone back to what it was just in case something goes wrong ?


Thanks
15th December 2008, 05:10 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 11
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
what about the camera recording/encoding at vga?
any enhancement with these tweaks?
15th December 2008, 06:06 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
1,443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotsu

Hmmm whats the down side of applying all those tweaks?

battery life?
heat?

Can we undo all of those changes and get the phone back to what it was just in case something goes wrong ?


Thanks

memory leaks = more freq. soft resets. they're all just registry changes so easy to revert.
15th December 2008, 06:18 AM   |  #20  
jackleung's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
2,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiebum

memory leaks = more freq. soft resets. they're all just registry changes so easy to revert.

What are you talking about? Most tweaks are just use more memory for caching to increase performance. The SD cab probably just enable DMA to increase throughput. All of them has nothing to do w/ memory leak.

BTW, why use SKtool instead of SPB Benchmark? SPB takes much longer but provide more detail.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes