Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TUT] Performance improving of HD (.NET, DirectDraw Drivers, CorePlayer ...)

OP geistteufel

16th December 2008, 10:05 AM   |  #1  
geistteufel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Hi,

As some user complain about speed of this marvellous object, HTC Blackstone (HD), I want to give some advice and method to speed up the tools.

So, first, when I had opened my phone, start using it, it crash 4 times just during the simple first usage (cross around TouchFlo 3D) ... I was afraid that this phone doesn't work pretty well comparing to the price, but

the system is nearly the same that the Diamond, with more memory (200 mb against 128 mb for diamond !), it change everything !

I have start to go on the forum and find a perle for tweaking, add to my tweak, it's great !

So, first of all, we need to install ".NET Compact 3.5", because by default on official first rom (I have the 1.14), it come with ".NET Compact 2.0" which is know to be slower than the "3.5" version.

So, go there : Microsoft .NET Compact 3.5

Install it on your phone (Internal of course, not Storage card)

After, install TCMD or any registry tools to change registry value
TCMD Web Site

Open it, go to "\\Registry\HKLM\Software\Microsoft\.NETCompactFra mework"
You have 2 entry :
2.0.7045.00
and
3.5.7283.00

So edit the 2.0, change value from "1" to "0"
and edit the 3.5, change value from "0" to "1"

Ok, now .NETCompact 3.5 is the default one.

After that, and before reboot, go on this thread
and take this cab : tnyynt SD TuneUP.cab

Install it, it will tune up your memory access to the storage card and global speed.

After that, install AdvancedConfig 3.3 from here
Open it (now it work with .NET 3.5 ),
Go to performance :
Change that value :

System Cache : Activated
System Cache Size : 0 (Auto)
Filter system file size : 16384
Glyph cache : 128 ko

Save and reboot

Now you system is full optimized, and work really well (crash doesn't occur any more or really really rarely, and speed is really apreciable).

This tweak work on diamond, but with too few memory, it's hard to use well the phone after, with all this memory and this nice HD, it's marvellous !

Hop this tweak will be sticked thanks everybody for this great forum,

hop HD will be explore like diamond in not too long time

Enjoy

Here 2 tricks to enjoy more :

First : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=461228 (Dutty rom, great idea to use it )
Second : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...69&postcount=3 (post 3 of dutty rom !), a great improvement for 3D capability of your HTC, a real Direct 3D Drivers. Just try, and report your feeling

Here a trick for CorePlayer :
They is an option in coreplayer for extra speed. They help a lot when you have a big video who lag a little.
So
Menu > Tools > Preferences > Select Page > Buffering > Microdrive mode
Check it

They will grow up cache size and other think, so report back your experience on it.
Last edited by geistteufel; 25th December 2008 at 04:35 PM. Reason: Add trick for coreplayer
16th December 2008, 10:15 AM   |  #2  
Laurentius26's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,152
 
1010
7,952 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
Lightbulb Netcfcfg
Hi,

To configure NETCF you can use Netcfconfig tool, no need to modify the registry.

You can find it in Raissak's Cabcorner:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=398050
16th December 2008, 10:18 AM   |  #3  
geistteufel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurentius26

Hi,

To configure NETCF you can use Netcfconfig tool, no need to modify the registry.

You can find it in Raissak's Cabcorner:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=398050

Thanks for this

I suppose this cab do the same tweak ?
16th December 2008, 10:20 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2005
More
Thanks... testing it right now
16th December 2008, 10:23 AM   |  #5  
Laurentius26's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,152
 
1010
7,952 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
Yes it does, but it has much more options.

For example you can run apps individual in Netcf 2.0 or 3.5.


Quote:
Originally Posted by geistteufel

Thanks for this

I suppose this cab do the same tweak ?

Last edited by Laurentius26; 16th December 2008 at 10:25 AM.
16th December 2008, 10:45 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I've done those tweaks, waiting for the last reboot... will give feedback !
Thanx a lot
16th December 2008, 11:05 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
1,006 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
hey guys how do we set net config?
16th December 2008, 12:23 PM   |  #8  
geistteufel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hykhleif

hey guys how do we set net config?

for ? to use 3.5 by defaut or more ?
for this one, just follow my tut

16th December 2008, 12:44 PM   |  #9  
dsm52's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 37
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Many thanks for this!

Wasn't aware of the .NET CF tweak.. which apps are likely to gain from this?

Does this also result in a memory saving - as running apps all use the latest version and the old one isn't loaded into memory?
16th December 2008, 12:48 PM   |  #10  
geistteufel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsm52

Many thanks for this!

Wasn't aware of the .NET CF tweak.. which apps are likely to gain from this?

Does this also result in a memory saving - as running apps all use the latest version and the old one isn't loaded into memory?


All apps on windows mobile use .NET, (I'm not sure but I think that), AdvancedConfig use that ...

So .NET 3.5 improve speed, memory usage and more. It's really good to use it, less crash, more speed, less memory, so any think is good for that

By the way, on diamond any cooked rom use it as a default one, and have deinstall the 2.0 version.

We can't do that there, we can just set 3.5 as the default.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes