Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,683 Members 51,379 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Changing the Start Button Icon

Tip us?
 
dom_mitchell1
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 188
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Changing the Start Button Icon

I've seen a lot of people asking how folks have changed the Windows logo to the HTC one and so on. I am one of those people!

There's a thread over in the Diamond Forum here, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=437307, that discusses altering the taskbar icons.

I've had a read of that but it doesn't appear to discuss the start button. I've currently got a cab installed that gave me coloured icons on the taskbar but also the 3d MS Office style start button. I like the icons but not that start button.

Is there anyway someone could provide an idiot/noob style guide for altering that icon. I'd love to have the Vista start button on my HD (attached image) but have no idea how to go about it aside from I think it has something to with .dll files.

Can anyone explain this? Anyone? I know there would be a lot of people grateful for it! I've Googled and used the search but just cannot seem to find anything!

I've attached a mock-up of my ideal; I've got the coloured icons, just the start button to go!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Start_Button.jpg
Views:	843
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	137864   Click image for larger version

Name:	taskbar.png
Views:	2807
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	137865  
 
sk806
Old
(Last edited by sk806; 16th December 2008 at 11:49 PM.)
#2  
sk806's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,427
Posts: 1,957
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rye, New York
Default I think....

the explanation is to edit the shellres.192.dll file here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...69&postcount=3

using the process here?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...65&postcount=1

No?

EDIT: I am going to try myself this evening with your very nice icon...will let you know how it goes, if you don't beat me to it!
If you like my work, please hit the thanks button....!

MY ROMS:
Magnolia 1.0 for Inc 1
Magnolia 2.0 for Inc 2
Magnolia 3.0 for Rezound (coming soon...)
Magnolia Tab for Galaxy 7.7
Tweaked Stock ROM for Galaxy Tab 7.7
Magnolia X for HTC One X

My Mods
6-signal Signal Bar for HTC Thunderbolt
Power Widgets for Thunderbolt
Quick Settings for Sense 2.1 Inc 2 Roms
Rosie Remaps/ordering for Thunderbolt
Probably more I can't remember....
 
tkalli
Old
#3  
tkalli's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,398
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego
I believe you can do it with Wisbar.
Wisbar is not free.
http://www.lakeridgesoftware.com/


=====================================
Nexus5/16GB_Mahdi ROM(4.4.4)_Franco Kernel r61
Nexus 4/16GB_Mahdi ROM(4.4.4)-Franco r211
Nexus 7 LTE Stock 4.4.2-KOT49H Franco r16
Support xda and Get a Star here

 
frostywrath
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk806 View Post
the explanation is to edit the shellres.192.dll file here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...69&postcount=3

using the process here?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...65&postcount=1

No?

EDIT: I am going to try myself this evening with your very nice icon...will let you know how it goes, if you don't beat me to it!
you had a chance at it yet? did it work?
Nokia 6150>Motorola startac>Ericsson T28>Samsung A300>SE T68i>Siemens SL55>Nokia 7610>NokiaN70>Nokia N93i>Nokia N95 8GB> HTC touch HD.......what's next?
 
Prof. Yaffle
Old
(Last edited by Prof. Yaffle; 17th December 2008 at 01:01 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 250
Join Date: Mar 2008
...........
 
Prof. Yaffle
Old
(Last edited by Prof. Yaffle; 17th December 2008 at 09:26 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 250
Join Date: Mar 2008
This is the thread I used to alter the Windows logo to a HTC logo among other things in this thread. It's dead easy,

1) Unsign the file using Unsigner linked to in the thread further up (on page 2 of the Unsigner thread there's a .bat file that I found gave a better idea of whether it had worked or not).
2) Open the file in Reshacker and go to Icon on the left hand side and click it to expand it. Go to number 292, click it and it will expand to show 1033. Click 1033 and it should be the start menu icon. Right click on 1033 and select Replace Resource. Select Open File With New Icon and find your new (resized) icon. Double click it and it will show a preview of new and old. Click Replace in the bottom right corner.
3) Save the newly modified file.
4) Sign the modified file using Ssigner linked to in the thread above. CHECK THE TEXT FILE IT CREATES TO MAKE SURE IT SIGNED OK. Don't forget this bit as it will mean a hard reset if you do (as I learnt).
5) If you've not installed SDKCert.cab some time in the past. download it from here, copy it to the phone and install it.
6) Copy the file to the Windows directory on the phone using Resco Explorer or Total Commander.
7) Reboot the phone.
 
guap
Old
#7  
guap's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 1,178
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milano
how did you copy shellres.192.dll? it says "Acces denied" even with resco. No chance to renaming also
Devices: Xperia Ray, Huawei Mediapad, Xperia Sola, Xperia Z1 Compact.
 
Prof. Yaffle
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 250
Join Date: Mar 2008
To get the file in the first place you need a program called ROM Extractor on the phone to get the file from ROM. There are also different varients of the ROM for different locales. There's a description in the link above.
 
guap
Old
(Last edited by guap; 17th December 2008 at 01:41 AM.)
#9  
guap's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 1,178
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milano
thanks for your efforts but seems a little complicated TotalCommander did the trick, resco seems to have some security check problems

anyway, unsigner doesn't work so i'm stuck
Devices: Xperia Ray, Huawei Mediapad, Xperia Sola, Xperia Z1 Compact.
 
Prof. Yaffle
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 250
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by guap View Post
anyway, unsigner doesn't work so i'm stuck
Try the .bat file in the second page of the Unsigner thread. Copy Unsigner, the .bat file and the file you want to unlock to the same directory and double click the .bat file. Also, because the file is from ROM make sure it's not marked as Read Only when you get it to your PC before unsigning it. If it's from ROM they're usually Read Only for a start.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes