5,815,022 Members 37,738 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Meaning of AT&T Fuze Unlocked .....

Tip us?
 
fahadriaz49
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Meaning of AT&T Fuze Unlocked .....

Hi there,
I am pretty new to the forum and I havent had much experience with locked / unlocked devices so my question might be a bit naive.
I wanted to buy the AT&T Fuze from ebay and the offer says its unlocked.
Does that mean I can use it in Pakistan and Middle East. And secondly, can I change its ROM to the standard middle east rom version.
I ll be thankful if someone could guide me regarding the problem.
Thanks
 
lbhocky19
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 2,111
Join Date: Feb 2007
yes you can
GS4
Acer Iconia

Retired
Evo3d
Archos 101
T Mo US HD2
ATT Fuze
8525 half white screen
 
trancer_84
Old
#3  
trancer_84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 107
Join Date: Nov 2008
unlocking your phone will allow you to use your phone with another service provider (instead of just At&t).

You can change your ROM regardless of whether your phone is unlocked or not.
 
KD8DNS
Old
#4  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 937
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: On a cell tower
I'll get specific for you.

1. Sim unlocked
(the most common unlocked terminology) means you can put any sim in the device and use that carriers network.

As far as ROM flashing goes (don't get the two confused)

2. Security unlocked and Hard SPL.
Hard SPL is for flashing a ROM, However since you live outside the U.S. you might want to flash a Radio, This is were Security Unlocking comes into play.

If you want my recommendation, Use "Olipro's" unlocker in the Raphael Rom Development section. It is worth the money and very easy to use.
 
KD8DNS
Old
#5  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 937
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: On a cell tower
Quote:
Originally Posted by trancer_84 View Post
unlocking your phone will allow you to use your phone with another service provider (instead of just At&t).

You can change your ROM regardless of whether your phone is unlocked or not.
I really hope no one reads this post and just decides to take a Stock Fuze and flash it without HARD SPL.
 
fahadriaz49
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2009
thanks for your comments..
really informative ..
but can anyone please suggest some thread for explanation of terms like hard spl and radio etc ...
 
KD8DNS
Old
#7  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 937
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: On a cell tower
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahadriaz49 View Post
thanks for your comments..
really informative ..
but can anyone please suggest some thread for explanation of terms like hard spl and radio etc ...
I already did, read post 4
 
D3TH METAL
Old
#8  
D3TH METAL's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,028
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange County,CA
Everything you ever wanted to know is in the WIKI.

http://wiki.xda-developers.com/index...me=HTC_Raphael

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more