Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Meaning of AT&T Fuze Unlocked .....

OP fahadriaz49

2nd January 2009, 08:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Hi there,
I am pretty new to the forum and I havent had much experience with locked / unlocked devices so my question might be a bit naive.
I wanted to buy the AT&T Fuze from ebay and the offer says its unlocked.
Does that mean I can use it in Pakistan and Middle East. And secondly, can I change its ROM to the standard middle east rom version.
I ll be thankful if someone could guide me regarding the problem.
Thanks
2nd January 2009, 08:41 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
2,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
yes you can
2nd January 2009, 09:26 AM   |  #3  
trancer_84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
unlocking your phone will allow you to use your phone with another service provider (instead of just At&t).

You can change your ROM regardless of whether your phone is unlocked or not.
2nd January 2009, 03:20 PM   |  #4  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On a cell tower
Thanks Meter: 3
 
937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I'll get specific for you.

1. Sim unlocked
(the most common unlocked terminology) means you can put any sim in the device and use that carriers network.

As far as ROM flashing goes (don't get the two confused)

2. Security unlocked and Hard SPL.
Hard SPL is for flashing a ROM, However since you live outside the U.S. you might want to flash a Radio, This is were Security Unlocking comes into play.

If you want my recommendation, Use "Olipro's" unlocker in the Raphael Rom Development section. It is worth the money and very easy to use.
2nd January 2009, 03:22 PM   |  #5  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On a cell tower
Thanks Meter: 3
 
937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trancer_84

unlocking your phone will allow you to use your phone with another service provider (instead of just At&t).

You can change your ROM regardless of whether your phone is unlocked or not.

I really hope no one reads this post and just decides to take a Stock Fuze and flash it without HARD SPL.
2nd January 2009, 04:51 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
thanks for your comments..
really informative ..
but can anyone please suggest some thread for explanation of terms like hard spl and radio etc ...
2nd January 2009, 05:55 PM   |  #7  
KD8DNS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On a cell tower
Thanks Meter: 3
 
937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahadriaz49

thanks for your comments..
really informative ..
but can anyone please suggest some thread for explanation of terms like hard spl and radio etc ...

I already did, read post 4
2nd January 2009, 06:05 PM   |  #8  
D3TH METAL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County,CA
Thanks Meter: 56
 
1,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Everything you ever wanted to know is in the WIKI.

http://wiki.xda-developers.com/index...me=HTC_Raphael

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes