Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,964 Members 51,657 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

changeScreen v2.78! -- (screen rotation app)

Tip us?
 
600GOL
Old
(Last edited by 600GOL; 17th June 2009 at 08:21 PM.) Reason: New version 2.78 available
#1  
600GOL's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 795
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nyc
Talking changeScreen v2.78! -- (screen rotation app)

***Version 2.78 - There is a new version for download as of June 17th '09. This version includes the following:

- Import/Export buttons functions fixed
- Exporting and Resetting defaults issue fixed
- No more duplicate exceptions allowed (caused crash in older versions)
- More stop points on the Sensitivity adjustment bar

- Fixes from previous version (v2.77):

- the error found in this post and the error found in this post AND the error found in this post!
- fix for the music issue
- a sensitivity adjustment bar
- ability to define your own default exceptions (for personal use or for ROM's)
- user can choose to add a toggle link added to the programs menu. You can then link this to hardware buttons via other programs.
- & many other fixes that were brought up during the past few months.


Download the latest version of changeScreen (v2.78) here!

I will update the screenshots when I get the change (hopfully soon)...

NOTE: fix for Topaz Dialer causing changeScreen to stop rotating:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpl69 View Post
Just to confirm this (in my case).
The issue about crashing gyrator, changescreen, flip-it and whatever sensor app after making a call with topaz dialer it's because this enabled option by default.

HKLM\Software\HTC\PHONE\FaceDownMuteRing
change to 0
My thanks to jpl69 for that post!

NOTE: fix for full screen apps showing title bar after rotation!
Read the post with the fix here
Thanks to Claus72 for the research and the post!
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ __


__________________________________________________ _______

Gyrator is a great app... with a load of functions but I found that I didn't really use any of them except the screen tilt/Gsensor function.

That said one of the problems I had with Gyrator is that it always stayed in my open apps which is not THAT big a deal, but would just annoy the crap out of my OCD brain!

Anyway I decided to make a different version for myself and anyone else who JUST wants the Screen tilt function.

This appliaction will:
- allow you to stop and start the screen switch as you please
- start up with your device if desired
- allow exceptions (Opera is an exception by default because it already uses the Gsensor)
* I recommend if you use Tomtom to add that in a well (to avoid the screen switching when you hit a bump!)
- NOT show up in the running programs list! (Most important thing to me!)
- You also do NOT need to install .NETCF 3.5 to use this. It should run fine on 2.0!

Version 2.5
Download changeScreen version v2.5 here!

Version 2.1 is still available if 2.5 doesn't work for some reason
Download changeScreen version v2.1 (2) here!

The BETA is still available if 2.1 doesn't work for some reason
Download changeScreen.cab v2.1 BETA here!

Version 1.54 is still available for those of you who like the older version better!
Download changeScreen.cab v1.54 here
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 600GOL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bouya_k
Old
#2  
bouya_k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 623
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Geneva
personnal I tried it

but it didn't work for me....

it does one rotation and after was stuck....

LG G2 802
Rom :RayGlob 2.6
S-OFF


HTC ONE M7 White
Rom :InsertCoin 3.0-6
S-OFF

Samsung Galasy Note N8010
Rom : Chrack´s ICS 4.0.4 XXALI3 DBT Rom v1
 
600GOL
Old
#3  
600GOL's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 795
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by bouya_k View Post
personnal I tried it

but it didn't work for me....

it does one rotation and after was stuck....

Damn, do you mean the screen got stuck like frozen or just wouldn't rotate back (like the app crashed)?
 
SBS_
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 506
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen
Works like a charm for me after I fixed the exclusion list. Rotates on everything that I want it to rotate on
 
JPW
Old
#5  
JPW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 144
Join Date: Dec 2006
works really well
and easier to config than gyrator.

great app

jon
------------------------------------------------


[CENTER]
 
600GOL
Old
#6  
600GOL's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 795
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SBS_ View Post
Works like a charm for me after I fixed the exclusion list. Rotates on everything that I want it to rotate on
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPW View Post
works really well
and easier to config than gyrator.

great app

jon
Great to hear it works on the HD! thanks for posing your findings!
 
aabye
Old
#7  
aabye's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Nov 2008
600GOL,

Would like to say thanks. Just the thing I needed. All is well with my HD (had to soft-reset first--was crashing, returning to "Home"). Although Gyrator has its merits, it was too technical for me (simpleton and all). Your son has been fed.

--Cheers
 
600GOL
Old
#8  
600GOL's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 795
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by aabye View Post
600GOL,

Would like to say thanks. Just the thing I needed. All is well with my HD (had to soft-reset first--was crashing, returning to "Home"). Although Gyrator has its merits, it was too technical for me (simpleton and all). Your son has been fed.

--Cheers
Dude, thats great to hear! And I can't tell you how much I appreciate the donation! Any problems let me know. I'm working on a new version that will (hopefully) fix the "issues" that a few people have with version 1.54. I'll update the thread once its done!

Thanks again...
 
mitut
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 187
Join Date: Dec 2008
It worked well at first but then for unknown result when i tried my phone in landscape mode it immediately went back to portrait mode . I used 1.17 and 1.18 rom of pzuchel all gave me the same result. I'm happy to donate only when the soft is stable but i try all of the rotating software with the same result like above
 
600GOL
Old
#10  
600GOL's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 795
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitut View Post
It worked well at first but then for unknown result when i tried my phone in landscape mode it immediately went back to portrait mode . I used 1.17 and 1.18 rom of pzuchel all gave me the same result. I'm happy to donate only when the soft is stable but i try all of the rotating software with the same result like above
If none of the apps work it MUST be something in the ROM... but what?! I really wish I had an HD so I could attepmt a solution! but unfortunately i don't...

I'm doing things a little differently in the new version i'm building. Maybe check back here in a few days for the new version and try that...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more