Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Second Boot Screen(Android Screen)

OP cannon1616

10th January 2009, 09:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Is there anyway to change the second boot screen?
unknown.soul
10th January 2009, 10:03 PM   |  #2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=91
10th January 2009, 11:24 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
prolly not talking about splash2, but the Android animation and logo after splash1 & splash2. But i could be wrong.
11th January 2009, 12:59 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Theres a folder in framework-res.apk/assets/images that seems to contain the images used in the second boot screen. I haven't had a chance to play with it to see if anything happened. I guess I'll try now and get back to you in 10 minutes. =]
11th January 2009, 01:18 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
ok so far, I was able to change the second boot screen image without using fastboot, and just modifying the android_320x480.png itself in framework-res/assets/images, but the animation goes out of whack when trying to replace boot_robot.png and boot_robot_glow.png with other images. I'm going to keep at it to see if i can get anywhere.
11th January 2009, 11:32 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Hi, i edited the boot_robot_glow.png in PS and it shows up fine when booting

EDIT: I've edited the android_320x480.png but when it boots it shows the original then flicks to the modified one

EDIT: needed to replace boot_robot.png in res/drawable aswell!

Attached images aren'y quite aligned, moves about when booting :S

EDIT: Everything's aligned now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	android_320x480.png
Views:	321
Size:	5.9 KB
ID:	145360  
Attached Images
  
Last edited by ximonx; 11th January 2009 at 01:54 PM. Reason: Fixed Images
11th January 2009, 02:36 PM   |  #7  
otto888's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 45
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ximonx

Hi, i edited the boot_robot_glow.png in PS and it shows up fine when booting

EDIT: I've edited the android_320x480.png but when it boots it shows the original then flicks to the modified one

EDIT: needed to replace boot_robot.png in res/drawable aswell!

Attached images aren'y quite aligned, moves about when booting :S

EDIT: Everything's aligned now

would you mind telling us how to replace the files?
11th January 2009, 04:52 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk to your computer,
rename it to framework-res.apk.zip
open framework-res.apk.zip
copy all 3 files into /assets/images
copy boot_robot.png into /res/drawable (in assets/images aswell)

(Uploaded my new boot_robot_glow to use with above files)
Attached Images
 
Last edited by ximonx; 11th January 2009 at 05:24 PM. Reason: Clarity
11th January 2009, 05:41 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag York, UK
Thanks Meter: 32
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ximonx

adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk to your computer,
rename it to framework-res.apk.zip
open framework-res.apk.zip
copy all 3 files into /assets/images
copy boot_robot.png into /res/drawable (in assets/images aswell)

(Uploaded my new boot_robot_glow to use with above files)


Cool... Thanks guys!

Used your images and created a burning Droid for the boot up image.

Adapted the code slightly to run the commands on the phone itself then copied the zip file off the SD card through usb.

Thanks
11th January 2009, 07:08 PM   |  #10  
bhang's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag megalopolis
Thanks Meter: 3
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
any pitfalls?
does the image have to be a certain size before 'push' ing it back to the phone?

I like your design so Ill start there, thanks for sharing the work, people have been speculation on how to change this and you did it.


bhang

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes