Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,242 Members 51,082 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KITCHEN][WWE][20.03.2010]Windows Mobile 6.1 21056/20779 Kitchen for Raphael GSM

Tip us?
 
skyfox99
Old
#101  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 408
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: I'm a Yank in Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
With a cab, you have the space taken up by the .cab in ROM (so you have less storage memory free in the first place) and then the space taken up in storage from the cab's installed files. With a package it would just take up space in ROM, but not also in storage.

Any of the commands that apply to sdconfig should also apply to config*.txt.

And no, I didn't catch your update

The background is \SYS\Redist_dpi_192_resh_480_resv_640\welcomehead. 192.png

And the 'midgets' part is \OEM\OperatorPkg\LogoMsg.bmp

I caught the welcome head after I posted... and lol went right over the logomsg even opened up the .bmp and never thought anything of it, since the font was almost white I thought it was just a blank .bmp and never thought twice!! LOL

Thanks!

anyway to change the version number, get rid of the WWE under version name?

and also. I edited the icon for volume control on the today screen top task bar. but for some reason when I cook in volume control it overides that. I do not see a icon in the package for the volume control cause I was just gonna edit that one too, so I am curious as to how to fix this... by the way another cup of joe on the way!
 
Da_G
Old
#102  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1515
Posts: 3,275
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
WWE stands for WorldWideEnglish, i think the only way to change that is to change the language of the ROM, which you probably don't want to do

Version number is here:
\OEM\OEMVersion\mxipupdate_OEMVERSION_100.provxml

HTC VolumeControl contains internal icon resources in HTCVolumeControl.dll - one for "normal speaker", one for "muted speaker" and one for "vibrating phone"

You'd have to use a resource editor to either remove these icons (might not work with them removed) or put your changed icons in the .dll (much more likely to work)

Thanks, I love you! In a very manly way! (haha just kiddin' :P)
Support my work! The more phones I can get my hands on the more ROM goodness I can churn out. Like BUTTAH

 
skyfox99
Old
(Last edited by skyfox99; 29th January 2009 at 09:57 PM.)
#103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 408
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: I'm a Yank in Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
WWE stands for WorldWideEnglish, i think the only way to change that is to change the language of the ROM, which you probably don't want to do

Version number is here:
\OEM\OEMVersion\mxipupdate_OEMVERSION_100.provxml

Ah, definitely don't want to change the language!! I saw that post in this forum about changing the name and I am sorry, I am retarded and so addicted to the cooking thing that I have so many different things floating around my head (dll, lnk, cab, proxml, WTF is a dsm, etc.) that I mistyped what I was looking for. I am looking to change the DATE, not the version number...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
HTC VolumeControl contains internal icon resources in HTCVolumeControl.dll - one for "normal speaker", one for "muted speaker" and one for "vibrating phone"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
You'd have to use a resource editor to either remove these icons (might not work with them removed) or put your changed icons in the .dll (much more likely to work)
what resource editor is easy and would you recommend? Never even cracked open a .dll yet, been able to get away with using others so far.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
Thanks, I love you! In a very manly way! (haha just kiddin' :P)
just kiddin' about the loving me? Or the loving me in a manly way? HAHA either way, I was skeptical when you went the ROM kitchen route and was dissapointed and even thought about going about different ROMs... then I tried to cook my own and I must say I hate it... I am so addicted that all I do is think if what I can do to customize this phone to my liking... I don't know if I should thank you... or wish you dead for making it easier to customize our roms!! LOL thanks and no prob!
 
Da_G
Old
#104  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1515
Posts: 3,275
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
LOL! It is addicting, isn't it..

Don't forget, if you make any awesome packages, don't be afraid to share them.. i'm sure there are plenty of other people who would try them too

http://www.heaventools.net/ <-- these guys make 2 commercial programs with trials to work with PE files (.dll/.exe), they work great.. the pe explorer does alot more functions on top of just replacing resources. worth a try for sure.

Then there's the free side of things:

http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/

If you'd like more options, there are more out there Try googling for "Resource Editor".. there's at least one more I know of that's free too

To change the date I believe you'd need to hex edit nk.exe, it contains the date.. it might be in another place though, i've actually never tried.. but I know it does appear in there (the 10/20/08 date)
Support my work! The more phones I can get my hands on the more ROM goodness I can churn out. Like BUTTAH

 
aruppenthal
Old
#105  
aruppenthal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 3,677
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Parkersburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
LOL! It is addicting, isn't it..

Don't forget, if you make any awesome packages, don't be afraid to share them.. i'm sure there are plenty of other people who would try them too
Da_G

If theres any specific packages that are wanted let me know. I have about 5gb of stuff. Ive been collecting since the wizard days. Ill upload anything you want to add to the kitchen.
 
aruppenthal
Old
#106  
aruppenthal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 3,677
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Parkersburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
Maybe we should set up a wiki.. for VGA-Compatible packages..
Im game. We just need a posting format

such as

Author:
Version:
Description:
Additional Requirements:
Donor Device if applicable:
Date if applicable:

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfox99 View Post
YES!!!!!!!!

And DA_G... when I receive a text message... the LED indicator around the button does not indicate anything. I was wondering what would affect this and if this is something in the base ROM, or something that can be changed to show it. It shows for other messages, just not txt
I am pretty sure this is a base issue. Ive tried really hard to fix it. Ive yet to find a solution
 
Da_G
Old
#107  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1515
Posts: 3,275
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
You know, I receive so few sms that I didn't even know that was a problem o.O I'll check it out when I get some time..

I like your format arup
Support my work! The more phones I can get my hands on the more ROM goodness I can churn out. Like BUTTAH

 
skyfox99
Old
#108  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 408
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: I'm a Yank in Texas
Where in the ROM would the setting for this be? I wonder if it has something to do with the fact we are using so much from the blackstone? Does the blackstone have the same LED indicator? Or is it different, could that be something to it there?

I agree with the format. I would also put any know issues in there, and tested on/confirmed on so we know what VGA device the author used it for (or would that be considered donor device?).
 
Da_G
Old
#109  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1515
Posts: 3,275
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Probably related to AllLEDMgr.dll or HTCNavi.dll, in \OEM\OEMDrivers. Both of which are native from the Stock Fuze ROM (didn't replace them with bstone drivers)
Support my work! The more phones I can get my hands on the more ROM goodness I can churn out. Like BUTTAH

 
aruppenthal
Old
#110  
aruppenthal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 3,677
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Parkersburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfox99 View Post
Where in the ROM would the setting for this be? I wonder if it has something to do with the fact we are using so much from the blackstone? Does the blackstone have the same LED indicator? Or is it different, could that be something to it there?

I agree with the format. I would also put any know issues in there, and tested on/confirmed on so we know what VGA device the author used it for (or would that be considered donor device?).
Known issues is a good idea
Compatible devices might also apply in some cases.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G View Post
Probably related to AllLEDMgr.dll or HTCNavi.dll, in \OEM\OEMDrivers. Both of which are native from the Stock Fuze ROM (didn't replace them with bstone drivers)
Yeah those were two of the ones i played with. Swapped out 3 different ones with no effect. Question now is do either one of them call any others that we did alter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes