FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

[KITCHEN][WWE][20.03.2010]Windows Mobile 6.1 21056/20779 Kitchen for Raphael GSM

2,945 posts
Thanks Meter: 222
 
By hilaireg, Moderator Emeritus on 15th January 2009, 07:10 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th January 2009, 10:51 PM |#51  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
Hmm, well i just checked my phone, and it has both Thumb_ON and Thumb_OFF, and they are both in the icr package, i just extracted monx zip and added option.xml.. maybe there's something different in the .cab?
 
 
21st January 2009, 12:44 AM |#52  
gravesy56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Wink
[QUOTE=Da_G;3198609]gravesy56: the problem comes from trying to use my packages with another OEM/ROM/SYS, my OEM/ROM/SYS has been stripped down and the components split into packages, whereas any other donor OEM/ROM/SYS will not be split into packages. This will cause conflicts because my packages will have the same guid as packages already in the ROM, etc, etc, causing that problem.[QUOTE]

Sounds from this I should use my own ROM with this Kitchen version and not yours is that correct? I was using your Beta 2.05 when I was catching this error. That package is legit though in your kitchen just what I was looking for will see about using it with other ROMs... I like the wireless home screen you use in yours... I think NATF uses it too
Last edited by gravesy56; 21st January 2009 at 02:39 AM.
21st January 2009, 03:40 AM |#53  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 1,018
 
Donate to Me
More
You mean the Wireless Connection Manager? It's the default Windows manager... not the HTC version. I like it because it is simpler and only has what I really need.

Also... Da_G - I know there is now a WiKi which is GREAT but it would be nice to keep an updated link to the latest Rom Kitchen and to the Wiki in the first post.

I see that each version is a full download. Isn't the purpose of having a Rom kitchen to reduce the downloads? Do you think it would be easier to provide "updates" that over write faulty or old files and install new ones? Sorta like a patch if you will?

I think a good idea would be to have a "Core Kitchen" then link the Packages individually so people can download what they need. Of course we could create "Packs" which could vary; such as "Complete Full Pack" or "Stock HTC Pack".

This would make it a lot easier to keep the packages updated especially if someone else updates a package. Then they can upload and update the Wiki without the need for you to repackage the entire build. Also providing a link to the needed tools required to convert cabs into packages would help too.

This will give you time to solely focus on the updates of the kitchen to include more functionality, leaving us to convert our favorite games and apps to packages for all to share.
21st January 2009, 03:53 AM |#54  
norkoastal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by player911

You mean the Wireless Connection Manager? It's the default Windows manager... not the HTC version. I like it because it is simpler and only has what I really need.

Also... Da_G - I know there is now a WiKi which is GREAT but it would be nice to keep an updated link to the latest Rom Kitchen and to the Wiki in the first post.

I see that each version is a full download. Isn't the purpose of having a Rom kitchen to reduce the downloads? Do you think it would be easier to provide "updates" that over write faulty or old files and install new ones? Sorta like a patch if you will?

I think a good idea would be to have a "Core Kitchen" then link the Packages individually so people can download what they need. Of course we could create "Packs" which could vary; such as "Complete Full Pack" or "Stock HTC Pack".

This would make it a lot easier to keep the packages updated especially if someone else updates a package. Then they can upload and update the Wiki without the need for you to repackage the entire build. Also providing a link to the needed tools required to convert cabs into packages would help too.

This will give you time to solely focus on the updates of the kitchen to include more functionality, leaving us to convert our favorite games and apps to packages for all to share.

I second this idea or would think placing the version of the kitchen into the title of your thread would work good as well...
21st January 2009, 05:21 AM |#55  
gravesy56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Hey Guys,

A couple of quick things for a newb from this newb... I'm noticing that I can't use the ATT Fuze stock ROM extracted and split with Raph Kitchen in this latest update to Da_G's kitchen can anyone else verify this? It doesn't throw the /ROM error and cook's fine but when you attempt to flash it, it hangs at the boot screen. Any thoughts?

Also I'm unable to use Da-G's ROM pack too although he explained the reasoning but any ideas of alternatives since his was so clean it was perfect I have a few other ROMs but they are pretty custom and I wanted a bit more of a shell from something although in retro I could always remove stuff from the OEM however didn't really want to toy with much of that because I'm still learning.

Stock ATT build I'm using is version 1.95.502.5 from our site I extracted from the exe file changing the file to a rar. find it here

Thanks!
-Gravesy
21st January 2009, 05:26 AM |#56  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 1,018
 
Donate to Me
More
Whatever is easier Da_G. After thinking about it, separating the packages from the actual Kitchen probably wouldn't really differ much in regards to size. I think the fact it actually comes with the various builds is what causes it to be so large.

I'm just thinking of ways to simplify the process of updating packages without having to rebuild and redownload EVERYTHING. I dunno, it's late. I'm just trying to help. Let me know if you need anything Da_G.

The Cab-OEM conversion looks complicated (more than it should). The actual instructions are buried in the middle of the OEM Package Tuturial Wiki page.
21st January 2009, 05:46 AM |#57  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G

Hmm, well i just checked my phone, and it has both Thumb_ON and Thumb_OFF, and they are both in the icr package, i just extracted monx zip and added option.xml.. maybe there's something different in the .cab?

Yeah, my apologies ... The 'thumb' bmps don't seem to be the issue. I'll look into it tomorrow and let you know if I find anything.
21st January 2009, 05:20 PM |#58  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 1,018
 
Donate to Me
More
I saw there is a Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional build out there for the BlueAngel. Any way we could extract the new rom and use with your Kitchen?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=428030

I can't make heads or tails from it what the guy posted.
21st January 2009, 07:24 PM |#59  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
Sure, as soon as someone posts up a link I can get it from, i'll wrap a kitchen around it and post it.

Let's keep that to another thread though, let's call this thread the 'stable' build, i'll make another one for the kitchen wrapped around the 'bleeding edge pre-6.5 dogfood build'
21st January 2009, 09:07 PM |#60  
gravesy56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
[QUOTE=gravesy56;3199102]gravesy56: the problem comes from trying to use my packages with another OEM/ROM/SYS, my OEM/ROM/SYS has been stripped down and the components split into packages, whereas any other donor OEM/ROM/SYS will not be split into packages. This will cause conflicts because my packages will have the same guid as packages already in the ROM, etc, etc, causing that problem.
Quote:


Sounds from this I should use my own ROM with this Kitchen version and not yours is that correct? I was using your Beta 2.05 when I was catching this error. That package is legit though in your kitchen just what I was looking for will see about using it with other ROMs... I like the wireless home screen you use in yours... I think NATF uses it too

Da_G... is this right I shouldn't use your ROM parts with your kitchen correct? Also I had a question about the stock ATT build tried that and it locks at boot screen post-flash plus I didn't get the /ROM folder error opening buildos like I would with custom roms like your's, NATFs and Arrup's
21st January 2009, 09:18 PM |#61  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
Error about /ROM folder comes because kitchen looks for os.nb, which is extracted by raphaelkitchen. However, my kitchen is modded to use os.nb.payload, which saves some steps in compilation.

Basically, if you want to use another OEM/ROM/SYS, you have to get rid of my OEM/ROM/SYS and most of my /Packages, split the os.nb into os.nb.payload (this is manual) and then begin modding from there.

As it stands right now any OEM/ROM/SYS would need to be specifically prepared for use in this kitchen due to the way things have been split up. There will be conflicts if you use any other OEM/ROM/SYS.

You *MIGHT* be able to get a couple packages working if you keep my /ROM and only bring in the OEM and SYS from other ROM, but you will get errors of conflicting packages from /Packages folder..

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes