FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Move All yourCaches to SD card at once.

67 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By necromancerr, Member on 16th January 2009, 08:06 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I wrote a small script with help of stericson that will move all your caches to sd card. Right now, it will move caches for following apps;
1)Market
2)browser
3)street view
4)imeem music
5)tune wiki player

all these tutorials used from www.modmygphone.com, i just used all and wrote a script to make my job easier.

This script will make a folder called cache in your sd card, and 5 sub folder, for each apps.

Instructions:
copy the file to your sd card in home directory. make sure you have root.
go to terminal, and type in following commands
#mkdir /data/local/bin
#cp /sdcard/transfer.sh /data/local/bin
#chmod 0755 /data/local/bin/transfer.sh
#transfer.sh

it'll execute itself, if you get any error messages saying "bla bla bla" dir doesnt exist, that is because either you don't have that app installed or you have never used that app before and it doesnt have any cache to transfer.

Leave comments or suggestions. i will make maps work this weekend. i dnt have time right now.

http://rapidshare.com/files/184145725/transfer.sh

i am not responsible if it bricks your phone. I am pretty sure it wont though
Last edited by necromancerr; 16th January 2009 at 08:09 AM.
 
 
16th January 2009, 08:12 AM |#2  
robpet2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
thanks for this... btw can you add the steel cache also... will try this scrip as soon as i finish updating my pc.
16th January 2009, 08:20 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robpet2

thanks for this... btw can you add the steel cache also... will try this scrip as soon as i finish updating my pc.

yes will add more, but those are all for the weekend.
16th January 2009, 08:23 AM |#4  
robpet2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
take your time bro...
I probably wont use it my self till after chrome is added.... but the noobs need this bad... lol
16th January 2009, 08:44 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 6
 
Donate to Me
More
Worked. thank you.
16th January 2009, 08:46 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Can you upload it somwhere else? I cannot access rapidshare at the moment.

Thanks
16th January 2009, 02:18 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey Birba, copy and paste the below into notepad, save as transfer.sh

chmod 0777 /data/local/bin/transfer.sh

mkdir /sdcard/cache

rm -R /data/data/com.android.vending/cache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/marketCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/marketCache /data/data/com.android.vending/cache

rm -R /data/data/com.android.browser/cache/webviewCache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/webviewCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/webviewCache /data/data/com.android.browser/cache/webviewCache


rm -R /data/data/com.google.android.street/cache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/streetCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/streetCache /data/data/com.google.android.street/cache


rm -R /data/data/com.imeem.gynoid/cache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/imeemCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/imeemCache /data/data/com.imeem.gynoid/cache


rm -R /data/data/com.tunewiki.lyricplayer.android/cache/webviewCache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/tunewikiCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/tunewikiCache /data/data/com.tunewiki.lyricplayer.android/cache/webviewCache


Oh and thank you for this necro, much appreciated for those of us who get hand cramps typing out all these commands on the G1 keyboard
Last edited by betawind; 16th January 2009 at 02:19 PM. Reason: Thanking necro :)
16th January 2009, 03:55 PM |#8  
pixel-painter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sammamish
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Doesn't it seem like it would be a good idea to copy the cache over before you delete it

I'm a bit of linux noob.. but perhaps instead of deleting you could change it to mv and then you would not need to make the directory on the SD card either

so


rm -R /data/data/com.android.vending/cache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/marketCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/marketCache /data/data/com.android.vending/cache

would become

mv /data/data/com.android.vending/cache /sdcard/cache/marketCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/marketCache /data/data/com.android.vending/cache
Last edited by pixel-painter; 16th January 2009 at 04:05 PM.
16th January 2009, 06:11 PM |#9  
Preech2003's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland/Washington , D.C.
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Sd card myheim!!!
OK please help i have searched all over. I have 2 Questions & Requests:

1. How do I install a script file? I know it automaticlly changes the Registry of the android OS or the Internal/FileSystem whateva its called but how to i install it??? Please help & Be detailed.



2. This is the big one. If a script file does automaticlly change the Internal file system (Android Registry) without using the Abd Shell. Can u please make the upload the script files to "INSTALL & RUN APPS FROM THE SD CARD" its been very difficult using the "adb shell" on my desktop.

Ive tried everything. I even tried to use the "ASTRO" file browser to modify the correct files but evenwith root it wont allow you to modify or switch files.

PLease Help. My SD Card is already perfectly partioned and ready to go.
16th January 2009, 09:09 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks, that was an excellent post.

For steel, you can probably add this in the script file:

rm -r /data/data/com.kolbysoft.steel/cache/webviewCache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/steelCache
ln -s /sdcard/cache/steelCache /data/data/com.kolbysoft.steel/cache/webviewCache


-Gus
17th January 2009, 12:54 AM |#11  
Beast84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 34
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by necromancerr

if you get any error messages saying "bla bla bla" dir doesnt exist, that is because either you don't have that app installed or you have never used that app before and it doesnt have any cache to transfer.

Would this error cause this to not work properly? In my case, I don't have imeem or tunewiki installed so I don't need these cache's moved. Would this cause a problem?

Also, how do you create a .sh file? I tried deleting these 2 commands myself but I couldn't find a .sh option in the save as drop down menu

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes