Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

better Video quality possible?

OP starbase64

21st January 2009, 05:36 PM   |  #1  
starbase64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lennestadt
Thanks Meter: 636
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

I have something in the registry and found as
the quality of video (MPEG4) can improve.

Under this key you can Reserved memory of the camera:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HTC\Taskmanager\Lite]
"DesiredMemory" = dword: 8192

I have experimented a bit and found that the value of 8192
(original 4096) is the best compromise between memory and quality.

Less would the quality would deteriorate, and more
the device is slow overall (the start of the camera).

example Videos

wfg

starbase64
Attached Files
File Type: cab S64 better Video quality.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.0 KB, 2417 views)
Last edited by starbase64; 22nd January 2009 at 04:56 AM.
21st January 2009, 07:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
France
Thanks Meter: 0
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbase64

Hi,

I have something in the registry and found as
the quality of video (MPEG4) can improve.

Under this key you can Reserved memory of the camera:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HTC\Taskmanager\Lite]
"DesiredMemory" = dword: 8192

I have experimented a bit and found that the value of 8192
(original 4096) is the best compromise between memory and quality.

Less would the quality would deteriorate, and more
the device is slow overall (the start of the camera).

The attached CAB 8192 represents the value that you can test it so times.

example Videos

wfg

starbase64

Good news, I will give a try
Thanks for your finding
21st January 2009, 07:36 PM   |  #3  
duttythroy's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 945
 
10,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Donate to Me
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbase64

Hi,

I have something in the registry and found as
the quality of video (MPEG4) can improve.

Under this key you can Reserved memory of the camera:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HTC\Taskmanager\Lite]
"DesiredMemory" = dword: 8192

I have experimented a bit and found that the value of 8192
(original 4096) is the best compromise between memory and quality.

Less would the quality would deteriorate, and more
the device is slow overall (the start of the camera).

The attached CAB 8192 represents the value that you can test it so times.

example Videos

wfg

starbase64

hi bro I wil also have a try with this when I get the chance
22nd January 2009, 12:26 AM   |  #4  
tunppi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I see one fault in those videos. All are different kind of usage, for example first one is clearly most moving and because of that it has to update more than second and third.
second video there is only one small moving part which makes it way easier for phone, same goes for third one.

Dont know how much youve been testing etc but not good video examples at all for testing that.

Hope it makes difference without slowing whole device down too much.
23rd January 2009, 11:25 AM   |  #5  
pinele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
i've tested (here: http://www.hdblog.it/mobile/htc/2009...riprese-video/ ) with default setting and 12288. It seems that there is no difference ... test with GSPOT (tha same kbps ... resolutions etc...)

I made some mistakes?
23rd January 2009, 11:50 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 8
 
740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Thanks for this. It would have been good if all the videos were the same as the last one so it would be easier to compare and also have the movement of the cars.
23rd January 2009, 11:54 AM   |  #7  
starbase64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lennestadt
Thanks Meter: 636
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
hi,

if the videos are only a little liquid is sometimes but a beginning.

wfg

starbase64
2nd July 2009, 10:31 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Hi!
I've found a bug in your "S64 better Video quality.cab". Value is set to 33170 (=8192h) instead of recommended 8192 (decimal).
zbh
3rd September 2009, 10:37 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
So? What's the improvement? Tried on my Diamond 2, and no difference, same 15fps, with same 1100kbps bitrate.
3rd September 2009, 11:55 PM   |  #10  
Fallen Spartan's Avatar
Moderator Committee - Irish Pride, Spartan Legacy
Flag Belfast, Ireland Likes: Whiskey & XDA Dislikes: No whiskey
Thanks Meter: 4,489
 
10
23,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
Cheers bro, good find, though I am moving thread to general discussion as its not related to rom development

Ta

Rick

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes