FORUMS

Google #StepInsideAdWords Event Livestream

Ahead of the annual I/O conference scheduled to take place later this month, the Google … more

How Much Do You Pay for Your Wireless Bill?

With so many different carriers and options to choose from, it can sometimes be quite a task … more

Microsoft Forgets Glasses and Mirror, Trashes Google

Microsoft is preparing a monumental release with Windows 10, and it could easily be … more

Android System WebView Update – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Android Webview is a system component powered by Chrome that allows Android … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to unlock your G1.. for free

22nd January 2009, 11:04 PM |#21  
brandenk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
This is great if you are a T-mobile customer................

...........for the rest of you, follow my guide here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=walkthrough
 
 
22nd January 2009, 11:15 PM |#22  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
You don't have to be a T-mobile customer. I just explained this.

Please stop spreading around that people have to pay, they don't have to.

DON'T PAY TO HAVE IT UNLOCKED, T-MOBILE WILL DO IT FREE!
23rd January 2009, 12:09 AM |#23  
brandenk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Well I tried for a week with no success so hopefully you guys have more luck than I did. T-mobile told me you need to be a customer for 3 months in good standing with plans to travel internationally. This was also the same problem I ran into 2 years ago with my Hermes with at&t.
23rd January 2009, 12:52 AM |#24  
Senior Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
do you HAVE to have the last 4 #s of the main account holder's ssn? As im not the main account holder,and he wont unlock it.
23rd January 2009, 12:57 AM |#25  
ApexPredatorBoids's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lancaster, Pa
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
If you're in any kind of hurry it might just be worth dropping $16.99 to buy a code. My unlock request was submitted to HTC from T-Mo about 6 days ago and I'm still waiting. Gotta love a well-oiled machine..
23rd January 2009, 01:07 AM |#26  
Senior Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Just called 611,you do need to be an authorised user,which i am not.
23rd January 2009, 02:44 AM |#27  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sunrise
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
FAQ:
Q: Do you have to be a T-Mobile customer to do this unlock?
A: Yes. T-Mobile's contract states that it will only do the unlock for you if you are a member with them for 3 months, and are in good standing. This is to prevent losing customers.

Q: Do you need to be the account holder?
A: No. You need the last 4 digits to the account holders social security number (a standard T-Mobile customer support feature), and then you have provision to unlock the phone yourself. This is, mainly, to prevent theft.

Q: This is taking to long!
A: T-Mobile will normally take a MAXIMUM of up to 2 weeks to return the unlock code. I've heard reports of instant over-the-phone unlocks, and have heard the worse scenario being 2 weeks (as mentioned).

Q: Why not just buy one online?
A: Why would you buy something, when you can easily do it for free? Stop being lazy!

Q: I am not a T-Mobile customer!
A: You can either find a friend who uses T-Mobile, or call up HTC and have them unlock it for you. I've read around and calling the factory is a bit more of a hassle, but it is legally possible. I have not tried this yet, but I can assure you, from prior experience, this works fine with Samsung devices
23rd January 2009, 02:51 AM |#28  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sunrise
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandenk

This is great if you are a T-mobile customer................

...........for the rest of you, follow my guide here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=walkthrough

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandenk

Well I tried for a week with no success so hopefully you guys have more luck than I did. T-mobile told me you need to be a customer for 3 months in good standing with plans to travel internationally. This was also the same problem I ran into 2 years ago with my Hermes with at&t.

This thread acknowledges this website you are offering already, we mention that it is NOT a solution ANYONE wants.

Knowledge is free, and this is a concept that you should understand.

You are on a community, using a modded/hacked device. What if we made you pay for those mods? What if we weren't open and didn't feel like just giving you information? Maybe we should have charged you a small fee of $10.
The Following User Says Thank You to haykuro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2009, 08:09 PM |#29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoobs

You don't have to be a T-mobile customer. I just explained this.

Please stop spreading around that people have to pay, they don't have to.

DON'T PAY TO HAVE IT UNLOCKED, T-MOBILE WILL DO IT FREE!

Could you help me then, I live in Russia I got my G1 shipped by other guy, who ask his fella to send the phone. I don't know the way it finally get here. But it's locked and in the box I even have T-mobile sim card. What's the instruction for me to unlock it thru t-mobile? I suppose I am a customer since I have sim-card =) But i have no indetifies and sim card itself not working in roaming which i am in, so i even don't know my own number. So what's the steps for me? Which e-mail to mail to? Which info provide? IMEI?
26th January 2009, 12:19 AM |#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsandros

i rang up t-mobile (UK) and they said they charge 15 to have it unlocked!

Interesting, as I have only paid them 10 for the same procedure. What do they base the charge on?

Alos the advantage of using paid service to unlock the phone is that you get it done instantly where as with T-Mobile you have to wait up to 28 days for them to mail the code. At least in the UK.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes