Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,064 Members 41,649 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Motorbike weatherproof box?

Tip us?
 
XOMYT
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Default Motorbike weatherproof box?

Hi all!

I'm searching for some kind of weatherproof box to use on my Dragstar.
Something not too bulky and with recharge connection possibility.
So, if anyone has ever made or bought this kind of fixation, please, share your experience!

For now I'm using Krusell BikeHolder with PDair Aluminium Case and thinking about Krusell ORBIT FLEX. Both are not weatherproof, so just for café rides...

Thanks!
 
matt_not_andrew
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Dec 2004
The product you are looking for is the Otterbox 3600 - my mates use them on their trail bikes and they are the dogs danglies. It is big and bulky byt it is crush proof and waterproof. you need to buy the box (about £60) and a handlebar mount. they also have an access hatch top and bottom to run leads through for charging and headphones.

Good luck and post pics
 
XOMYT
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Thanks, matt_not_andrew. I know them well, even thought about Armor 2600, but it is still a little bulky. I don't make trial rides, just highways' journeys, so a good rain protection can be enough.

Thanks anyway for an advice!
 
fjellborg
Old
#4  
fjellborg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_not_andrew View Post
The product you are looking for is the Otterbox 3600 - my mates use them on their trail bikes and they are the dogs danglies. It is big and bulky byt it is crush proof and waterproof. you need to buy the box (about £60) and a handlebar mount. they also have an access hatch top and bottom to run leads through for charging and headphones.

Good luck and post pics
Hello. I have ordered the Otterbox 1900 and it will be interesting to how to fit my Blackbird ..
 
custardo01
Old
#5  
custardo01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London
My DIY approach:-

I bought a transparent pencil case for 30 pence and cut it to size around the Blackstone. Sewed up the edges with linen thread and glue and kept the zip on one side for inserting the phone. I had a handlebar mount from an old TomTom Rider unit and I attach my case with the phone on to this mount using heavy duty velcro. I made a little whole at the bottom of the case to accept the usb lead for charging from the cigarette lighter socket. It never comes off but I attached a piece of string/cord on the zip which clips around the handlebars in case it ever did fall off.

It's probably not completely waterproof at the seams but I have used it in all weathers and not had any problems so far.

I recently glued an old bicycle inner tube around the seam edges cut to size to give it extra protection. Not the prettiest but very light and functional. Use it a lot on my motorbike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0782.jpg
Views:	474
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	158653  
 
Riceburner
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 327
Join Date: Mar 2005
Aquapak and velcro.
Non quod, sed quomodo
Sony Xperia Z (C6603) (build 10.3.1.A.2.67) (n-r): Holo Launcher HD.
 
fishes234
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 61
Join Date: Sep 2005
I've had a RAM mount for a while now and use it on my Thundercat. Cost about fifty quid including the aquabox, arm and mount for handlebars and it works a treat. I've only had my HD for a couple of days and haven't tried it in the box to see if it fits yet (I used to use it with orbit 2 and it fit with room to spare). I'll try it this weekend though.
 
fishes234
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 61
Join Date: Sep 2005
Just checked and the Touch HD fits in the RAM mount aquabox
 
XOMYT
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Super! Can you tell me which one exactly?
 
funk1980
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 220
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Groningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishes234 View Post
Just checked and the Touch HD fits in the RAM mount aquabox
Cool! I'm at the verge of ordering the Ram mount Aqua box with handlebar fixture. But would like to know in what size box the HD fits (I suspect the medium...) and if it fits well in there (no sliding around or anything). So any info will be much appreciated.
http://www.fittingmedia.nl/divers/phonelist.jpg
ROM Dutty's 3.9 Turbo- Radio 1.14.25.24

Tags
motorbike weatherproof
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more

Forums Added for the HTC Desire 610 and LG G3 US Carrier Variants

We recently added two new sets of forums here on XDA. The first … more