FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

New CID, new version?

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Sketchup, Junior Member on 29th January 2009, 09:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey people,

I just got my new TMobile G1 (in the Netherlands) and of course want to root it. The only problem is that while trying to load the old (rootable) images, I get the "not allow" error which should indicate CID problems.
I've doublechecked MD5 hashes on the images after writing them to SDcard.

This is (part of) my getprop output, which shows weird version numbering?

Code:
[ro.secure]: [1]
[ro.debuggable]: [0]
[persist.service.adb.enable]: [0]
[ro.factorytest]: [0]
[ro.serialno]: [HT91AKV00706]
[ro.bootmode]: [charge]
[ro.baseband]: [1.22.12.29]
[ro.carrier]: [TMNL]
[ro.bootloader]: [0.95.0000]
[ro.hardware]: [trout]
[ro.revision]: [128]
[ro.build.id]: [TMI-RC4]
[ro.build.version.incremental]: [123099]
[ro.build.version.sdk]: [2]
[ro.build.version.release]: [1.1]
[ro.build.date]: [Tue Dec  9 19:57:19 PST 2008]
[ro.build.date.utc]: [1228881439]
[ro.build.type]: [user]
[ro.build.user]: [android-build]
[ro.build.host]: [apa24.mtv.corp.google.com]
[ro.build.tags]: [ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[ro.product.model]: [T-Mobile G1]
[ro.product.brand]: [tmeu]
[ro.product.name]: [kila_eu]
[ro.product.device]: [dream]
[ro.product.board]: [trout]
[ro.product.manufacturer]: [HTC]
[ro.product.locale.language]: [en]
[ro.product.locale.region]: [GB]
[ro.build.product]: [dream]
[ro.build.description]: [kila_eu-user 1.1 TMI-RC4 123099 ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[ro.build.fingerprint]: [tmeu/kila_eu/dream/trout:1.1/TMI-RC4/123099:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[rild.libpath]: [/system/lib/libhtc_ril.so]
[wifi.interface]: [tiwlan0]
[ro.ril.oem.ecclist]: [999,000,08,118,112,120,122,110,119]
[ro.com.google.clientid]: [tmobile-eu]

EDIT:

After the image is rejected with the "not allow" error, the boot screen shows:
DREA110 PVT 32B
HBOOT-0.95.0000
CPLD-4
RADIO-1.22.12.29

Sep 2 2008


Any clues on what to try next?

Thanks
Last edited by Sketchup; 29th January 2009 at 09:27 PM. Reason: more info
 
 
29th January 2009, 09:28 PM |#2  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
get it be that TMI-RC4 is T-Mobile Internation - Release Candidate 4?
29th January 2009, 09:31 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoobs

get it be that TMI-RC4 is T-Mobile Internation - Release Candidate 4?

Could be. I purchased my G1 through a normal retailer combined with a TM subscription....

What might cause the wrong CID? This?
[ro.carrier]: [TMNL]

Thanks
29th January 2009, 11:21 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Ames
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Are you sure the DREAIMG.nbh file you are using is for RC7? Thats the only thing i can think of other than you have a different version of the phone, or one where they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file.
29th January 2009, 11:37 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dharkaron

Are you sure the DREAIMG.nbh file you are using is for RC7? Thats the only thing i can think of other than you have a different version of the phone, or one where they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file.

Yes, I'm pretty sure of that. I even checked the md5sums after copying to SDcard. As my phone also has "DREA110" in the bootloader, it should be fine using the UK version, right?

Thanks
korndub
30th January 2009, 01:39 AM |#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:

they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file

this is not a hole and will not be removed, this is a tool for the manufacturer, or authorized service / repair center to use when flashing phones, it has been in every htc device and will continue to be.
korndub
30th January 2009, 01:40 AM |#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketchup

Yes, I'm pretty sure of that. I even checked the md5sums after copying to SDcard. As my phone also has "DREA110" in the bootloader, it should be fine using the UK version, right?

Thanks

the US G1 is Drea100 you may not be able to use the Rc7 or RC29 images....
30th January 2009, 01:52 AM |#8  
Gary13579's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korndub

this is not a hole and will not be removed, this is a tool for the manufacturer, or authorized service / repair center to use when flashing phones, it has been in every htc device and will continue to be.

Yes, it can be. They can EASILY change the keys in the bootloader they ship phones out with to stop us from flashing the old NBH's.

Whether they've done this or not, who knows. But it's starting to look like they have.
30th January 2009, 02:19 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i hope they havent changed the keys,
make sure that the phone isnt connected to usb

- format card fat32
- if you downloaded from internet make sure you download one thats zipped. (i had an error when flashing my phone with an image that was unzipped before i downloaded it)
- make sure that it is for you version
- make sure that its named correctly
i know you probably did most of these buts its worth a shot.
also, if it still doesnt work, if you have insurance call tmo and say that its the phone is constantly reseting/freezing and tell them you already tried wiping and factory reseting the phone. the should send you another one most likely refurbished and might have evaded what ever htc/tmo did to the new ones

how did we get the keys or whatever in the 1st place? was it exracted from a dump? if so, can he perform a dump and some1 here extract the keys so that we can be ready for the future??
Last edited by haitiankid4lyf; 30th January 2009 at 02:24 AM. Reason: one more thing
30th January 2009, 03:25 AM |#10  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Interesting build-id. While the props aren't checked by the SPL, I can certainly believe (but can't say for sure) they indicate some new CIDs to prevent using the publicly leaked NBHs. Frankly speaking, i'm sure we all saw this coming.
30th January 2009, 05:19 AM |#11  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
If I read this correctly, he is in the netherlands, and this might just be another build number kinda like how US and UK are different, I have a feeling this is a third for yet another country.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
europe, netherlands, root, tmobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes