Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,296 Members 53,590 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New CID, new version?

Tip us?
 
Sketchup
Old
(Last edited by Sketchup; 29th January 2009 at 09:27 PM.) Reason: more info
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default New CID, new version?

Hey people,

I just got my new TMobile G1 (in the Netherlands) and of course want to root it. The only problem is that while trying to load the old (rootable) images, I get the "not allow" error which should indicate CID problems.
I've doublechecked MD5 hashes on the images after writing them to SDcard.

This is (part of) my getprop output, which shows weird version numbering?

Code:
Select Code
[ro.secure]: [1]
[ro.debuggable]: [0]
[persist.service.adb.enable]: [0]
[ro.factorytest]: [0]
[ro.serialno]: [HT91AKV00706]
[ro.bootmode]: [charge]
[ro.baseband]: [1.22.12.29]
[ro.carrier]: [TMNL]
[ro.bootloader]: [0.95.0000]
[ro.hardware]: [trout]
[ro.revision]: [128]
[ro.build.id]: [TMI-RC4]
[ro.build.version.incremental]: [123099]
[ro.build.version.sdk]: [2]
[ro.build.version.release]: [1.1]
[ro.build.date]: [Tue Dec  9 19:57:19 PST 2008]
[ro.build.date.utc]: [1228881439]
[ro.build.type]: [user]
[ro.build.user]: [android-build]
[ro.build.host]: [apa24.mtv.corp.google.com]
[ro.build.tags]: [ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[ro.product.model]: [T-Mobile G1]
[ro.product.brand]: [tmeu]
[ro.product.name]: [kila_eu]
[ro.product.device]: [dream]
[ro.product.board]: [trout]
[ro.product.manufacturer]: [HTC]
[ro.product.locale.language]: [en]
[ro.product.locale.region]: [GB]
[ro.build.product]: [dream]
[ro.build.description]: [kila_eu-user 1.1 TMI-RC4 123099 ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[ro.build.fingerprint]: [tmeu/kila_eu/dream/trout:1.1/TMI-RC4/123099:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys]
[rild.libpath]: [/system/lib/libhtc_ril.so]
[wifi.interface]: [tiwlan0]
[ro.ril.oem.ecclist]: [999,000,08,118,112,120,122,110,119]
[ro.com.google.clientid]: [tmobile-eu]

EDIT:

After the image is rejected with the "not allow" error, the boot screen shows:
DREA110 PVT 32B
HBOOT-0.95.0000
CPLD-4
RADIO-1.22.12.29

Sep 2 2008


Any clues on what to try next?

Thanks
 
neoobs
Old
#2  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 1,271
Join Date: Mar 2008
get it be that TMI-RC4 is T-Mobile Internation - Release Candidate 4?
 
Sketchup
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoobs View Post
get it be that TMI-RC4 is T-Mobile Internation - Release Candidate 4?
Could be. I purchased my G1 through a normal retailer combined with a TM subscription....

What might cause the wrong CID? This?
[ro.carrier]: [TMNL]

Thanks
 
Dharkaron
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 154
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ames
Are you sure the DREAIMG.nbh file you are using is for RC7? Thats the only thing i can think of other than you have a different version of the phone, or one where they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file.
 
Sketchup
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dharkaron View Post
Are you sure the DREAIMG.nbh file you are using is for RC7? Thats the only thing i can think of other than you have a different version of the phone, or one where they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file.
Yes, I'm pretty sure of that. I even checked the md5sums after copying to SDcard. As my phone also has "DREA110" in the bootloader, it should be fine using the UK version, right?

Thanks
korndub Old
#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
they have "fixed" the hole that allowed us to use the DREAIMG file
this is not a hole and will not be removed, this is a tool for the manufacturer, or authorized service / repair center to use when flashing phones, it has been in every htc device and will continue to be.
korndub Old
#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketchup View Post
Yes, I'm pretty sure of that. I even checked the md5sums after copying to SDcard. As my phone also has "DREA110" in the bootloader, it should be fine using the UK version, right?

Thanks
the US G1 is Drea100 you may not be able to use the Rc7 or RC29 images....
 
Gary13579
Old
#8  
Gary13579's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 520
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by korndub View Post
this is not a hole and will not be removed, this is a tool for the manufacturer, or authorized service / repair center to use when flashing phones, it has been in every htc device and will continue to be.
Yes, it can be. They can EASILY change the keys in the bootloader they ship phones out with to stop us from flashing the old NBH's.

Whether they've done this or not, who knows. But it's starting to look like they have.
 
haitiankid4lyf
Old
(Last edited by haitiankid4lyf; 30th January 2009 at 02:24 AM.) Reason: one more thing
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 269
Join Date: May 2008
i hope they havent changed the keys,
make sure that the phone isnt connected to usb

- format card fat32
- if you downloaded from internet make sure you download one thats zipped. (i had an error when flashing my phone with an image that was unzipped before i downloaded it)
- make sure that it is for you version
- make sure that its named correctly
i know you probably did most of these buts its worth a shot.
also, if it still doesnt work, if you have insurance call tmo and say that its the phone is constantly reseting/freezing and tell them you already tried wiping and factory reseting the phone. the should send you another one most likely refurbished and might have evaded what ever htc/tmo did to the new ones

how did we get the keys or whatever in the 1st place? was it exracted from a dump? if so, can he perform a dump and some1 here extract the keys so that we can be ready for the future??
 
jashsu
Old
#10  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Nov 2008
Interesting build-id. While the props aren't checked by the SPL, I can certainly believe (but can't say for sure) they indicate some new CIDs to prevent using the publicly leaked NBHs. Frankly speaking, i'm sure we all saw this coming.

Tags
europe, netherlands, root, tmobile
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more