FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[TUT] How to change the Internet Globe Icon

1st February 2009, 10:05 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Barnsley
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Hi all,

I have had a couple of questions on how to change the globe on the internet tab from the globe to a pic of your choosing.

I have attached the files you need. All you need to do is Create 2 png pictures that are 512x256 and name them the same as in the files.
Once you have done this copy them onto your device,turn off touchflo and drop them along with the mainla file into your windows directory using total commander (or similar) and restart touchflo and hey presto your very own internet icon.

Have fun
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	display_3.jpg
Views:	4004
Size:	15.4 KB
ID:	152718  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Globe.zip - [Click for QR Code] (369.9 KB, 1088 views)
Last edited by David Balfour; 1st February 2009 at 10:07 PM.
 
 
mcowly
5th February 2009, 12:18 PM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
works great!!
I made a nice Opera logo, maybe someone likes to use it.
Can't find a good screen capture program, just try it.
You have to copy all three files to the windows directory using total commander or other.

EDIT: found screen capture program, so now included
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1.jpg
Views:	1154
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	153993  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Operalogo.zip - [Click for QR Code] (79.8 KB, 537 views)
Last edited by mcowly; 5th February 2009 at 12:25 PM. Reason: found screen capture
5th February 2009, 01:42 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Barnsley
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
very nice

Hope to see a few more of these on here. People have been looking but no one has replied.

People I WANT TO SEE YOUR ICONS
6th February 2009, 07:58 AM |#4  
Rainbow86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Balfour

Hi all,

I have had a couple of questions on how to change the globe on the internet tab from the globe to a pic of your choosing.

I have attached the files you need. All you need to do is Create 2 png pictures that are 512x256 and name them the same as in the files.
Once you have done this copy them onto your device,turn off touchflo and drop them along with the mainla file into your windows directory using total commander (or similar) and restart touchflo and hey presto your very own internet icon.

Have fun


Hi... I like your internet glob. Can you make it into a cab file? I am very bad at this so far so would be great.

Thanks in advance
6th February 2009, 08:11 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi , sorry to trouble you but could you or anyone please upload the stock 'Internet tab Globe' icon for me ? My operator decided to use its own logo for the Launch Browser icon and it looks quite terrible

Thanks in advance
6th February 2009, 08:32 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Balfour

Hi all,

I have had a couple of questions on how to change the globe on the internet tab from the globe to a pic of your choosing.

I have attached the files you need. All you need to do is Create 2 png pictures that are 512x256 and name them the same as in the files.
Once you have done this copy them onto your device,turn off touchflo and drop them along with the mainla file into your windows directory using total commander (or similar) and restart touchflo and hey presto your very own internet icon.

Have fun

Very beautiful globe! no need to quit/restart touchflo by the way... just unzip in /windows and it works!
Thanks
6th February 2009, 02:08 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0k0m0k0

Very beautiful globe! no need to quit/restart touchflo by the way... just unzip in /windows and it works!
Thanks

Unfortunately this does not work on my German O2 stock rom.
They probably use another manila file for selecting the image on the internet tab.
I have to investigate further...
6th February 2009, 06:37 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Barnsley
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Here try this Cab File.
Attached Files
File Type: cab Firefox.cab - [Click for QR Code] (212.9 KB, 366 views)
6th February 2009, 06:49 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I finally solved it, thanks to this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=2861249
I have to edit a file in \Application Data\Manila which holds the information about banner and operator links.
Thanks anyway for the information in this thread

BTW: You can add a property Text to the Banner node to display a heading under the banner icon
Last edited by K_Hismoom; 6th February 2009 at 06:52 PM. Reason: Added additional information
7th February 2009, 01:17 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Many thanks to David. I've customised my Internet globe.

I 'emptied' the Youtube text as well as picture reference fields in your attached XML. So nothing shows. Hmm, now I am wondering how I can incorporate another program icon to be exact ...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes