Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,210 Members 49,333 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] NoStylusWarning (some warning when stylus is probably lost) - 2nd release

Tip us?
 
kzd76
Old
(Last edited by kzd76; 25th February 2009 at 03:24 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Budapest
Default [APP] NoStylusWarning (some warning when stylus is probably lost) - 2nd release

Hi All,

Unfortunately I lost the original 2 stylus. Don't ask me how, but they were disappeared somehow. So based on an idea from someone on a Hungarian Touch HD forum I wrote a small and very simple application called NoStylusWarning. It is simply monitoring the stylus state and if you set up some warning then it can put a notification onto the task bar and vibrate when e.g. the device is moving.

Improvements:
- language file support (xml)
- sound notification
- autostart
- partial solution for full hiding (background processing)
- vibration on stylus state change
- last settings are saved to the registry, application will load them on startup
- cab for easier installation
- some minor redesign

Features:
- notification icon and balloon for switched on device
- vibration for suspended device
- monitoring g-sensor to detect moving
- monitoring light sensor to detect stylus loosing in pocket/pouch
- running in unattended mode to detect events in suspended mode
- smart minimize (X using your default setting, to minimize, use the menu)

Installation / requirements:
- .Net 3.5 is required as well as an HTC device with g, light and stylus sensor
- Install the CAB file. For language support find the EN_Language.xml in \Program Files\NoStylusWarning directory rename it to language.xml and edit it to your language or rename an existing xml file to language.xml (only Hungarian is available at the moment)

Known bug(s):
- light sensor changes are not detected in suspend mode.
- registry values are not deleted when uninstalling (it can be a feature also :))
- full hide mode is available only when taskbar notification is selected, there's no return point to the application when it is hidden except the button in the notification bubble. :(

Comments and requests are welcome. Thanks!



Sponsors:
the0ne - 10 USD

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nswarning00.jpg
Views:	1115
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	159263   Click image for larger version

Name:	nswarning01.jpg
Views:	862
Size:	82.2 KB
ID:	159264   Click image for larger version

Name:	nswarning02.jpg
Views:	9143
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	159265  
Attached Files
File Type: cab nswarning_0_1_3338.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (196.1 KB, 1820 views)
 
Ddriver
Old
(Last edited by Ddriver; 8th February 2009 at 06:20 PM.)
#2  
Ddriver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 382
Join Date: Mar 2005
Cool, function like a charm. :)

One jdea, if its possible to make a lang.ini, than I can make you also translate to GER. ;)

I know a few people that like this app to much after.

Good work!
Greets Ddriver.

Nokia Lumia 925 32GB GER ORG CH Amber
Nokia Lumia 820 - 8.0.10328.78 - WP8
HTC Titan 16GB 7.10.8858.136 Dynamics v2.0 - 7.8 TOP!!!
HTC Mozart 8GB "Mango" 7.10.8107.79 Chevron loose GER / Now with "Ansar-Tech-ROM"
HTC Mozart 16GB "Tango" 7.10.8773.98 Chevron 9$ and loose GER/RUS
HTC T5353 Diamond2 GER
HTC T8282 HD GER
HTC P3700 Diamond GER
 
kzd76
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddriver View Post
Cool, function like a charm. :)

One jdee, if its possible to make a lang.ini, than I can make you also translate to GER. ;)

I know a few people that like this app to much after.

Good work!
Thanks! Great idea, I will put it to the next release.
 
chrisnash
Old
#4  
chrisnash's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Will this work on a Diamond/Pro?
Orange SPV M500 M2000 M3100 M700
HTC TyTN II Diamond Rhodium Leo DHD
---------------- ONE X --------------
 
Ddriver
Old
#5  
Ddriver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 382
Join Date: Mar 2005
Testet on Diamond and function like a charm. :)
Greets Ddriver.

Nokia Lumia 925 32GB GER ORG CH Amber
Nokia Lumia 820 - 8.0.10328.78 - WP8
HTC Titan 16GB 7.10.8858.136 Dynamics v2.0 - 7.8 TOP!!!
HTC Mozart 8GB "Mango" 7.10.8107.79 Chevron loose GER / Now with "Ansar-Tech-ROM"
HTC Mozart 16GB "Tango" 7.10.8773.98 Chevron 9$ and loose GER/RUS
HTC T5353 Diamond2 GER
HTC T8282 HD GER
HTC P3700 Diamond GER
 
kzd76
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisnash View Post
Will this work on a Diamond/Pro?
I hope yes, because of the same sensors in Diamond, Pro and HD. I have a HD so I could test just on the HD. If one of the sensors is not reachable / available, the application will warn you and exit. But I think Diamond and Pro is supported.
 
lucarp78
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 132
Join Date: Aug 2007
It seems that not memorize the settings when I close it.
 
Ddriver
Old
(Last edited by Ddriver; 8th February 2009 at 09:08 PM.)
#8  
Ddriver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 382
Join Date: Mar 2005
The app is in the background on.
Is it possible to make, that is the app only in the Autostart active.
Look the pic.

Click image for larger version

Name:	NoStylusWarning.JPG
Views:	341
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	155328
Greets Ddriver.

Nokia Lumia 925 32GB GER ORG CH Amber
Nokia Lumia 820 - 8.0.10328.78 - WP8
HTC Titan 16GB 7.10.8858.136 Dynamics v2.0 - 7.8 TOP!!!
HTC Mozart 8GB "Mango" 7.10.8107.79 Chevron loose GER / Now with "Ansar-Tech-ROM"
HTC Mozart 16GB "Tango" 7.10.8773.98 Chevron 9$ and loose GER/RUS
HTC T5353 Diamond2 GER
HTC T8282 HD GER
HTC P3700 Diamond GER
 
kzd76
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddriver View Post
The app is in the background on.
Is it possible to make, that is the app only in the Autostart active.
Look the pic.
Do you mean that if you autostart the application, it will run minimized by default? This connects to the previous suggestion about saving/loading previous settings. If so, (I hope) I can put it to the application...
 
Ddriver
Old
#10  
Ddriver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 382
Join Date: Mar 2005
Jes.

hi is in the autostart and also like on my pic.

If I make minimize then is it so.
If I close, then is the app not active.
Greets Ddriver.

Nokia Lumia 925 32GB GER ORG CH Amber
Nokia Lumia 820 - 8.0.10328.78 - WP8
HTC Titan 16GB 7.10.8858.136 Dynamics v2.0 - 7.8 TOP!!!
HTC Mozart 8GB "Mango" 7.10.8107.79 Chevron loose GER / Now with "Ansar-Tech-ROM"
HTC Mozart 16GB "Tango" 7.10.8773.98 Chevron 9$ and loose GER/RUS
HTC T5353 Diamond2 GER
HTC T8282 HD GER
HTC P3700 Diamond GER

Tags
lost, stylus, warning
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more