Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,935 Members 53,551 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

192 megs of ram?!

Tip us?
 
mystica555
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2009
Angry 192 megs of ram?!

Hello,

I apologize if this has been covered... It seems that our forum is unable to search for 3 character terms, specifically "192" and "ram".

The G1 is listed as having 192 megs of memory. Yet, running "free" from my rooted RC33(JF1.41) shows:
Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#

So, where's my other 96 megs?! If -all- this extra ram is being used for 3d (god forbid) I'd gladly tweak a setting to reclaim more ram for RUNNING APPS, versus bling bling.

Anyone have any ideas here?
 
LucidREM
Old
#2  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555 View Post
Hello,

I apologize if this has been covered... It seems that our forum is unable to search for 3 character terms, specifically "192" and "ram".

The G1 is listed as having 192 megs of memory. Yet, running "free" from my rooted RC33(JF1.41) shows:
Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#

So, where's my other 96 megs?! If -all- this extra ram is being used for 3d (god forbid) I'd gladly tweak a setting to reclaim more ram for RUNNING APPS, versus bling bling.

Anyone have any ideas here?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=3262422
"I fear explanations explanatory of things explained."
There are 10 types of people in this world: one who understands binary and one who does not.
__________________
HTC Dream (T-Mobile) / HTC Sapphire (T-Mobile) | TheOfficial DONUT TMO US/EU & AOSP - v2.6.3
CaNNoN202v2.1_EPE54 | Recovery: RAv1.7.0 | Radio: 2.22.23.02 | 8GB MicroSD
Get ROOT'ed - CR*/DR* | Lucid's "swiss army knife"
 
mystica555
Old
(Last edited by mystica555; 13th February 2009 at 12:33 AM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555 View Post
Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#
And ofcourse I end up reading the reply to my post -after- i write this one. Edited as I'm an idiot.

It still seems to me that 192 megs is A; misleading and B; clearly NOT enough to run this OS, along with radio "firmware" (why cant the radio have its own bloody discrete chip!?)

I presume this huge gaping usage of ram is why the Sprint Touch Pro shows 288 megs of ram; its really 384 with the rest being used by the phone's radio and framebuffer. Gah.

I wonder, will new Android hardware overcome this paltry 96 meg limit?
 
LucidREM
Old
#4  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555 View Post
And ofcourse I end up reading the reply to my post -after- i write this one. Edited as I'm an idiot.

It still seems to me that 192 megs is A; misleading and B; clearly NOT enough to run this OS, along with radio "firmware" (why cant the radio have its own bloody discrete chip!?)

I presume this huge gaping usage of ram is why the Sprint Touch Pro shows 288 megs of ram; its really 384 with the rest being used by the phone's radio and framebuffer. Gah.

I wonder, will new Android hardware overcome this paltry 96 meg limit?
indeed .. but that would be why rooting the G1 is so nice .. move files over to a linux EXT2 partition on the SD card and viola!! ultimate space

i have 1.5G dedicated to the G1 .. keeps the phone free and clear
"I fear explanations explanatory of things explained."
There are 10 types of people in this world: one who understands binary and one who does not.
__________________
HTC Dream (T-Mobile) / HTC Sapphire (T-Mobile) | TheOfficial DONUT TMO US/EU & AOSP - v2.6.3
CaNNoN202v2.1_EPE54 | Recovery: RAv1.7.0 | Radio: 2.22.23.02 | 8GB MicroSD
Get ROOT'ed - CR*/DR* | Lucid's "swiss army knife"
 
mystica555
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Flash is not SDRAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucidREM View Post
indeed .. but that would be why rooting the G1 is so nice .. move files over to a linux EXT2 partition on the SD card and viola!! ultimate space

i have 1.5G dedicated to the G1 .. keeps the phone free and clear
I could care less about the total amount of installed apps; I've got plenty of free yaffs2 flash for what I end up running...I simply don't want my apps to get oom-killed.

I simply wish to run, ALL CONCURRENTLY, (cpu speed be damned!)
Connectbot
HelloAIM!
PicPush
StreamFurious or Last.fm
Gmail
AND the browser
without one or more (or the home screen) forcibly being killed due to out of memory errors.

Load Browser, 2 or 3 of those always end up dying.

A normal commute for me on the bus: I'm chatting on AIM. I've got a irssi session open on my VPS in Connectbot. Last.fm playing some futurepop. I tap the notification bar to read the new email I have, which contains an HTML link. Click the link...Boom, music stops playing. Close browser, homescreen reloads slowly. Go back to connectbot, well, im disconnected.

RAM = Godly.
 
mystica555
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Let's try this...

Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#
 
andonnguyen
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 835
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555 View Post
Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#
What does that do? Does it create a swap file on the sd card?

T-mobile G2X
Gingerbread
 
bakgwailo
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andonnguyen View Post
What does that do? Does it create a swap file on the sd card?
Yessir
 
LucidREM
Old
#9  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555 View Post
Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#
i'm slightly hesitant to try .. anyone? good / bad / indifferent???
"I fear explanations explanatory of things explained."
There are 10 types of people in this world: one who understands binary and one who does not.
__________________
HTC Dream (T-Mobile) / HTC Sapphire (T-Mobile) | TheOfficial DONUT TMO US/EU & AOSP - v2.6.3
CaNNoN202v2.1_EPE54 | Recovery: RAv1.7.0 | Radio: 2.22.23.02 | 8GB MicroSD
Get ROOT'ed - CR*/DR* | Lucid's "swiss army knife"
 
widto08
Old
#10  
widto08's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 188
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Roseville, MI
What exactly will this do and will a reboot cancel this?
Gn3, rooted stock, knox 0x0
Galaxy S 4, Stock, rooted, hybrid bootloader/modem, no knox
Samsung Note 10.1 rooted, stock
Galaxy S 3, Stock, rooted!!! passed down to my son
Retired;
HTC One S rooted, for sale
Galaxy S Vibrant, rooted, Slim ICS 4.04
Rooted G1

Thanks to all the DEV's that made my G1 a DREAM, my Galaxy S so VIBRANT, my GS3 nearly perfect @ SGH-T999, and my Note 3&10.1 Noteworthy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z҉A҉L҉G҉O̚̕̚ View Post
Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more