FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

192 megs of ram?!

51 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By mystica555, Member on 12th February 2009, 11:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello,

I apologize if this has been covered... It seems that our forum is unable to search for 3 character terms, specifically "192" and "ram".

The G1 is listed as having 192 megs of memory. Yet, running "free" from my rooted RC33(JF1.41) shows:
Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#

So, where's my other 96 megs?! If -all- this extra ram is being used for 3d (god forbid) I'd gladly tweak a setting to reclaim more ram for RUNNING APPS, versus bling bling.

Anyone have any ideas here?
 
 
13th February 2009, 12:22 AM |#2  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555

Hello,

I apologize if this has been covered... It seems that our forum is unable to search for 3 character terms, specifically "192" and "ram".

The G1 is listed as having 192 megs of memory. Yet, running "free" from my rooted RC33(JF1.41) shows:

Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#

So, where's my other 96 megs?! If -all- this extra ram is being used for 3d (god forbid) I'd gladly tweak a setting to reclaim more ram for RUNNING APPS, versus bling bling.

Anyone have any ideas here?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=3262422
13th February 2009, 12:29 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555

Code:
$ su
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        96292         2748            0          316
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:        99040        96292         2748
#

And ofcourse I end up reading the reply to my post -after- i write this one. Edited as I'm an idiot.

It still seems to me that 192 megs is A; misleading and B; clearly NOT enough to run this OS, along with radio "firmware" (why cant the radio have its own bloody discrete chip!?)

I presume this huge gaping usage of ram is why the Sprint Touch Pro shows 288 megs of ram; its really 384 with the rest being used by the phone's radio and framebuffer. Gah.

I wonder, will new Android hardware overcome this paltry 96 meg limit?
Last edited by mystica555; 13th February 2009 at 12:33 AM.
13th February 2009, 12:35 AM |#4  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555

And ofcourse I end up reading the reply to my post -after- i write this one. Edited as I'm an idiot.

It still seems to me that 192 megs is A; misleading and B; clearly NOT enough to run this OS, along with radio "firmware" (why cant the radio have its own bloody discrete chip!?)

I presume this huge gaping usage of ram is why the Sprint Touch Pro shows 288 megs of ram; its really 384 with the rest being used by the phone's radio and framebuffer. Gah.

I wonder, will new Android hardware overcome this paltry 96 meg limit?

indeed .. but that would be why rooting the G1 is so nice .. move files over to a linux EXT2 partition on the SD card and viola!! ultimate space

i have 1.5G dedicated to the G1 .. keeps the phone free and clear
13th February 2009, 12:41 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Flash is not SDRAM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucidREM

indeed .. but that would be why rooting the G1 is so nice .. move files over to a linux EXT2 partition on the SD card and viola!! ultimate space

i have 1.5G dedicated to the G1 .. keeps the phone free and clear

I could care less about the total amount of installed apps; I've got plenty of free yaffs2 flash for what I end up running...I simply don't want my apps to get oom-killed.

I simply wish to run, ALL CONCURRENTLY, (cpu speed be damned!)
Connectbot
HelloAIM!
PicPush
StreamFurious or Last.fm
Gmail
AND the browser
without one or more (or the home screen) forcibly being killed due to out of memory errors.

Load Browser, 2 or 3 of those always end up dying.

A normal commute for me on the bus: I'm chatting on AIM. I've got a irssi session open on my VPS in Connectbot. Last.fm playing some futurepop. I tap the notification bar to read the new email I have, which contains an HTML link. Click the link...Boom, music stops playing. Close browser, homescreen reloads slowly. Go back to connectbot, well, im disconnected.

RAM = Godly.
13th February 2009, 01:37 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Let's try this...
Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#
13th February 2009, 02:28 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555

Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#

What does that do? Does it create a swap file on the sd card?
13th February 2009, 02:32 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andonnguyen

What does that do? Does it create a swap file on the sd card?

Yessir
13th February 2009, 03:46 AM |#9  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystica555

Code:
# cd /sdcard
# dd if=/dev/zero of=swap.fil bs=1M count=128
128+0 records in
128+0 records out
# mkswap ./swap.fil
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 134213632 bytes
# swapon ./swap.fil
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        99040        97112         1928            0          556
Swap:       131064            0       131064
Total:       230104        97112       132992
#

i'm slightly hesitant to try .. anyone? good / bad / indifferent???
13th February 2009, 04:02 AM |#10  
widto08's Avatar
Senior Member
Roseville, MI
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
What exactly will this do and will a reboot cancel this?
13th February 2009, 04:05 AM |#11  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by widto08

What exactly will this do and will a reboot cancel this?

even if a reboot didn't cancel it .. the next update.zip would .. unless something was built into it

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes