FORUMS

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

[App] VJSipSwitch II

Thanks Meter: 62
 
By vijay555, Retired Moderator on 25th February 2009, 05:27 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Guys,

The very first app I wrote for xda devs was SipSwitch, to allow one to change the SIP (software keyboard, transcriber etc) from a shortcut.

I was recently asked to support a particular feature in VJBrisk, which seemed to show a bug in SipSwitch. I couldn't find my old source code SipSwitch, so stupidly I re-wrote the whole thing from scratch. And it turned out that the bug wasn't in SipSwitch, but in the OS. Sigh.

Anyway, please take pleasure from my pain, and enjoy VJSipSwitch II.
This is entirely re-written, and probably buggy, so let me know.

VJSipSwitch II works like SipSwitch:
Make a shortcut to VJSipSwitchII, and specify command line parameters which match the name of the SIP you want to switch to.
Launch the shortcut and your phone will switch to that SIP.

This is useful if you want to, for example, always use SPB Keyboard as your default SIP.

eg:
PHP Code:
"\Program Files\Vijay555\VJSipSwitchII\VJSipSwitchII.exe" spb keyboard 
will switch to SPB Keyboard.

Bonus Feature:
If you launch VJSipSwitch II without a command line parameter it will now pop up a menu asking you which SIP to switch to. This is good for one handed use.



V

Download from here:
http://vijay555.com/vj/releases/vjsi...ipswitchii.cab

For help on making command lines
http://www.vijay555.com/?Help:Command_Lines
Last edited by vijay555; 27th February 2009 at 02:37 PM.
 
 
25th February 2009, 05:54 PM |#2  
shaileshashar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Talking
DOWNLOADING NOW ....

thanx ....
26th February 2009, 10:54 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
what is that at the bottom of the screen shot ( two squars and the d-pad in the middle) thanks
Last edited by vijay555; 26th February 2009 at 11:23 PM.
26th February 2009, 11:22 PM |#4  
vijay555's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
@irus:
It's an app I've developed for the Blackstone, VJVirtualMouseWinFX(code name only, for now!). A clearer screenshot is here.



It's a virtual mouse pad (left square), which acts like the optical mouse on the Samsung Omnia, an emulated dpad in the middle, and a zoomed in "preview" zone showing what's under the mouse pointer, on the right. This square also acts as the "left click" for the mouse.

V
26th February 2009, 11:34 PM |#5  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks vijay555

IŽll try it!
27th February 2009, 01:03 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thank you for sharing!
It works on my phone. But one question, it seems a bit slow to pop up the muen, can it be a little faster?
Thank you!
27th February 2009, 01:17 AM |#7  
vijay555's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
I don't think it can really - the slowest part, enumerating the SIPs, takes approx 350ms on my system, and that part can't really be made faster.

I'll have another look over the code to see if I can streamline it a bit further, but the slow bit can't be made much faster as it's OS dependent

V
27th February 2009, 02:33 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vijay555

I don't think it can really - the slowest part, enumerating the SIPs, takes approx 350ms on my system, and that part can't really be made faster.

I'll have another look over the code to see if I can streamline it a bit further, but the slow bit can't be made much faster as it's OS dependent

V

Sorry and thank you! Maybe it's the problem of my phone, it's always slow to switch the input keyboard. It takes more than 1s to show up the muen
nothin
27th February 2009, 04:28 AM |#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i like whatever you make.

semi-unrelated question:
could you write sipicon window( on softkeybar etc) hider?
some soft seem to have problem with sipicon space, goddamn rectangle - it pops up not exactly where and when it should(sipicon is seen as window in taskman 3.x which can hide that thing, but it's not exactly pleasant/automated way..).
sipicon is annoying with wad, today replacements, softkeybar removal(sometimes), other soft..
your tool may be sipicon hider helper.
Last edited by nothin; 27th February 2009 at 04:33 AM.
27th February 2009, 07:02 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Le Vesinet
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thanks a lot, included the bonus.
And I am waiting your dpad too.

May I ask for three bonus?
- instead to have only one sip in the command line, alow more than one, and switch between them.
- add in your command line the capability to activate, deactivate, or switch between both status.
- have an exclusion list in your enumaration screen (this one is less, less useful, but useful)


Concerning enumeration of sips, may I propose you that you to not do it each time but use a cache (in memory if the application is resident, or in a file if not). And a command line to update the cache.

thanks a lot VJ
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
switch sip, toggle sip
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes