Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,687 Members 40,300 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rooting G1 Help.

Tip us?
 
clefky10
Old
(Last edited by clefky10; 26th February 2009 at 05:07 AM.) Reason: Additional Info.
#1  
clefky10's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 127
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Rooting G1 Help.

Hi. I have tried the tutorial on this site (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=442480) and a different one (http://www.telesphoreo.org/pipermail...ry/000291.html), but I can't get it to work. I always complete the tutorial with no errors or such, but when I finish, it still says I have RC29. If there are any common mistakes people make, or a different tutorial I should try...I would appreciate any help basically.

Thank you very much!

Edit: I rethought this, and my problem actually is not with rooting. It is with the section "What to do know that you have root". I can't get it to update to RC33.

EDIT 2: I found the problem, when i do the thing where you hold home and power "e:can't open /cache/recovery/command" comes up at the top of the screen.
 
shivers316
Old
#2  
shivers316's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 91
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ridgefield Park
What exactly are you doing after you are rooted?
 
clefky10
Old
#3  
clefky10's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 127
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Answer

I do this step:
Quote:
Now that you have root, you will want to apply "Hard SPL" to your phone. HardSPL is what will allow you to apply flash images from other regions (like UK on US phones, and vice versa), create full backups of your phone, install the latest build from the Android source, and usually resurrect your phone if it is "bricked". You have already downloaded the file to your SD card, so now you can apply it.

1. Power off your phone.
2. Start up in recovery mode by holding home and pressing power.
3. You will now enter recovery mode. You should see an exclamation.
4. If you do not see a menu on screen, press Alt-L to show the menu.
5. Press Alt-S to apply the update from the SD card.
6. After the update is complete, hold Home and press Back to restart.


And now, the last step! You are still running an old version of Android, but you want to upgrade to the latest and greatest update! You can do this, and not lose root by downloading modified versions of the updates.

First, choose a modified image from the list below:

ADP1.1: (md5: bacc58302e0b239d66c7bcc8db6c434b)
http://jf.odiness.com/v1.41/JFv1.41_...ronment.tar.gz
http://android-dls.com/forum/index.p...rb_v=viewtopic
http://andblogs.net/2009/01/jesusfre...mages-are-out/

RC33: (md5: f24b6c237775147cb4bc42efc2393973)
http://jf.odiness.com/v1.41/JFv1.41_...ronment.tar.gz
http://android-dls.com/forum/index.p...rb_v=viewtopic
http://andblogs.net/2009/02/new-rc33...om-jesusfreke/

RC8: (md5: de2d0d34adbb4015ee3aa5e4e7ca3c07)
http://jf.odiness.com/v1.41/JFv1.41_...ronment.tar.gz
http://android-dls.com/forum/index.p...rb_v=viewtopic
http://andblogs.net/2009/01/jesusfre...mages-are-out/

1. Download the image.
2. Rename it to update.zip.
3. Copy it to your phone's SD card.
4. Turn your phone off.
5. Start up in recovery mode by holding Home and pressing Power.
6. Press alt-W to wipe your device. (You need to do this, or the device may hang at the flashing Android screen)
7. Press alt-S to apply the update.
There are no errors or anything that I experience during it...I just go to about phone after and it still says RC29.
 
akapoor
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 207
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Area 51
If you want to upgrade to the newest RC, you'll need to download one of the links from the last two "sections" (below)

ADP1.1: (md5: bacc58302e0b239d66c7bcc8db6c434b)
http://jf.odiness.com/v1.41/JFv1.41_...ronment.tar.gz
http://android-dls.com/forum/index.p...rb_v=viewtopic
http://andblogs.net/2009/01/jesusfre...mages-are-out/

RC33: (md5: f24b6c237775147cb4bc42efc2393973)
http://jf.odiness.com/v1.41/JFv1.41_...ronment.tar.gz
http://android-dls.com/forum/index.p...rb_v=viewtopic
http://andblogs.net/2009/02/new-rc33...om-jesusfreke/

These are the files that would upgrade you to RC 30/33 , ADP1.1.

Once you download the file, save it as update.zip.
Turn off the phone, and hold the Home key when you turn it back it.
When it boots to the bootloader, go ahead and update your firmware. It'll change to whatever RC you choose when you get back to the UI
 
clefky10
Old
#5  
clefky10's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 127
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Thanks...

Thanks...but the reason I posted it is that I do the steps you listed, and it still says I have RC29.

The only thing that might help is "e:can't open /cache/recovery/command" comes up on the screen (when you press home and power)
 
akapoor
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 207
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Area 51
Are you sure you followed the previous instructions (prior to upgrading to RC33/30)?

For example,
1) mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

then you need to make sure you correctly flashed the recovery image.
try putting in the recovery image again, and re-flashing (step 3: flash_image recovery recovery.img ) as root
 
clefky10
Old
(Last edited by clefky10; 26th February 2009 at 05:25 AM.) Reason: Bad Spelling
#7  
clefky10's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 127
Join Date: Feb 2009
Thanks, I think I'll try starting over. Is there any way to erase what I have done on my phone so far? Or if I start back on step 1, will that not matter even though I have already done all the steps?
 
akapoor
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 207
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Area 51
Just type off here what you see in:

Settings > About Phone

Firmware Version = ____
Kernal Version = ___
Build Number = ___

Just need to know, so I can tell you were to approximately start again from.

Regards,
 
clefky10
Old
#9  
clefky10's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 127
Join Date: Feb 2009
Firmware Version =
1.0
Kernal Version =
2.6.25-01843-gfea26b0
android-build@apa27 #6
Build Number =
kila-user 1.0 TC4-RC29 115247
ota-rel-keys,release-keys
 
akapoor
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 207
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Area 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by clefky10 View Post
Firmware Version =
1.0
Kernal Version =
2.6.25-01843-gfea26b0
android-build@apa27 #6
Build Number =
kila-user 1.0 TC4-RC29 115247
ota-rel-keys,release-keys
Ok thanks. Start from the bold:
Instructions:
1) Download recovery.img and copy it to your SD card (see the previous instructions on how to copy from your computer to your Phone's SD card).
2) Download the Hard SPL and copy the zip file to the SD card.
3) All files must be on the root of your SD card.
4) Restart your phone. Wait for your phone to start up fully and show the home screen.
5) After your phone starts up, type "telnetd" and press enter. (Yes, it will start up a contact search, don't worry. Just type it.)
6) Download an Android "Telnet" application from the Market and connect to localhost.
7) If you connect successfully, you will have a root prompt "#".
8) Type the following into Telnet (these commands will give you root access easier in the future):
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cd sdcard
flash_image recovery recovery.img
cat recovery.img > /system/recovery.img

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more