Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Thread Deleted

[HowTo] How to Flash through SD Card

OP ivanmmj

26th February 2009, 07:19 AM   |  #1  
ivanmmj's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Most of you have noticed that my ROMs require flashing through the SD card. I've given out the instructions many times, but they tend to be lost in the shuffle that is day to day posting so here is a whole thread dedicated to it:

1. Format your SD card to FAT32.
2. Place HERAIMG.nbh into your SD card.
3. Hold the camera button then press the soft reset button while holding the camera button.
4. Press the down volume when it asks you to press something.

If this doesn't work, it means either:
1. Your SD card isn't fast enough. You can try partitioning the SD card so that it only has a small amount of space formatted. This can be read faster by the bootloader.
2. You don't have a HERAIMG.nbh file in your SD card.
3. Your HERAIMG.nbh was made with a small number in the "version" number.
4. Your SD is a SDHC. The driver that allows SDHC compatibility is not loaded in the bootloader. Buy a cheap little 1GB card to flash with.
Last edited by ivanmmj; 24th September 2009 at 05:35 PM.
26th February 2009, 08:20 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:

3. Your HERAIMG.nbh was made with a small number in the "version" number.

That's mean IPL & SPL right?

I read about WM6.1 in this forum require IPL or SPL morethan 4.xxx
But my Herald (Dopod C800) IPL&SPL 1.09.0001
Can you give any advice How can I do for upgrade to WM6.1

Thank you
Newbie from Thailand
26th February 2009, 03:00 PM   |  #3  
ivanmmj's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pungcheer

That's mean IPL & SPL right?

I read about WM6.1 in this forum require IPL or SPL morethan 4.xxx
But my Herald (Dopod C800) IPL&SPL 1.09.0001
Can you give any advice How can I do for upgrade to WM6.1

Thank you
Newbie from Thailand

No, when making the NBH you have the option of setting a version number.
In order to flash any third party ROM you need an IPL and SPL of 4.xx and to HardSPL your phone (HardSPL requires an SPL of 4.xx)
To upgrade your SPL and IPL you can try upgrading your phone with it's most updated stock RUU (Some, like HTC bring the upgrade) or you can try the GoldCard method. (Search for the word "Goldcard".)
28th February 2009, 04:27 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
how can i do this i have a herald 4350 or well the t-wing and i doesn't want to connect to my computer well it connects but 3 seconds later it disconnects i don't know what going on and i been trying to update to another rom. thanks for any help.
28th February 2009, 05:55 AM   |  #5  
ivanmmj's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostnj

how can i do this i have a herald 4350 or well the t-wing and i doesn't want to connect to my computer well it connects but 3 seconds later it disconnects i don't know what going on and i been trying to update to another rom. thanks for any help.

Just follow the directions I just posted. They should work just fine.
Last edited by ivanmmj; 28th February 2009 at 05:59 AM.
28th February 2009, 02:09 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmmj

If this doesn't work, it means either:
1. Your SD card isn't fast enough. You can try partitioning the SD card so that it only has a small amount of space formatted. This can be read faster by the bootloader.
2. You don't have a HERAIMG.nbh file in your SD card.
3. Your HERAIMG.nbh was made with a small number in the "version" number.

Hi Ivan,

Just to let you know though, there must be some kind of problem. I followed the instructions and flashed through my SD the nbh (os+radio) numerous times but after the flash my Herlad always failed to boot. The flash was successful, I got a message "press any key to continue" from the bootloader and after a softreset the screen was always black with no signs of booting.

Also, just to let you know, the program that opens the htcrt.proj file fails to register and I always had to /right click/open with and then manually select the os and radio files to create the nbh.
28th February 2009, 04:14 PM   |  #7  
ivanmmj's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by papajohn

Hi Ivan,

Just to let you know though, there must be some kind of problem. I followed the instructions and flashed through my SD the nbh (os+radio) numerous times but after the flash my Herlad always failed to boot. The flash was successful, I got a message "press any key to continue" from the bootloader and after a softreset the screen was always black with no signs of booting.

Also, just to let you know, the program that opens the htcrt.proj file fails to register and I always had to /right click/open with and then manually select the os and radio files to create the nbh.

If it fails to boot, it means that the ROM you created has something wrong in it, not that the flashing process has something wrong in it.
As far as the proj file, if you have windows Vista, it may have not set the permissions properly.
28th February 2009, 08:33 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Hi.
I'm fairly new to this and I'm trying to flash a JustMe ROM. I have built both a XPR and a LZX but none of them worked. I just follow your intructions and I get to a screen with gradients of Red, Green, Blue and a white bar in the background and IPL 4.17.0001 and SPL 4.17.0000. From what I understood, something should happen now, right? Well, it doesn't.
What may be the problem?
28th February 2009, 08:51 PM   |  #9  
ivanmmj's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantunes

Hi.
I'm fairly new to this and I'm trying to flash a JustMe ROM. I have built both a XPR and a LZX but none of them worked. I just follow your intructions and I get to a screen with gradients of Red, Green, Blue and a white bar in the background and IPL 4.17.0001 and SPL 4.17.0000. From what I understood, something should happen now, right? Well, it doesn't.
What may be the problem?

You should not see the gradients right away.
If you followed the steps exactly, and your NBH has a version number of 5.2.xxxxx or higher: Then your SD card might not be fast enough or it might be a SDHC which won't work.

How big is your SD card?
28th February 2009, 09:12 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
It's a 2GB Silicon Power MicroSD. How do I check the version of my NBH?
Also, the NBH is not the only file I have in my card. Do I have to format it or if it is already in FAT32 (which it is) I don't need to?

btw, a message saying something like "Checking SD card" (something like that, couldn't see it right) appears before the gradients but only for 1/4 of second or something.

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes