Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

Mocha FTP (Copy files from Tilt to PC via IE or FTP Client)

OP drkfngthdragnlrd

28th February 2009, 12:28 AM   |  #1  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Found this nice little freeware freeware tool for copying file off a Windows Mobile Device @ http://www.freewarepocketpc.net/ppc-...mocha-ftp.html. Here is a free Windows based FTP Client; http://www.download.com/Core-FTP-LE/...-10195752.html.

"Mocha FTP Server gives an easy way to copy files to/from a PDA running Windows Mobile or Pocket PC 200x. It supports the standard File Transfer Protocol (FTP) features found in most web browsers and FTP client applications.

If the PDA has IP address 192.168.2.60, use following URL in Internet Explorer
FTP://192.168.2.232
and Internet Explorer will give access to all the files on the PDA.

Functionality
Supports all standard FTP commands
PASV command. The client will make the data connection (needed with firewalls)
Portrait/landscape mode
Anonymous login
Real-time monitoring of users and commands
9 different users with password protection
25 active sessions
Different access rights for users (read only mode)
Security timer, which will close inactive sessions


Freeware license key for mocha FTP Server for Windows Mobile:
License name: freeware
License key: 111425"

Attached Files
File Type: cab wmftp.cab - [Click for QR Code] (328.6 KB, 484 views)
1st March 2009, 10:11 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 183
 
3,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2005
Great piece of software. Tested it and works pretty well. The only thing I find it problematic is the connection through bluetooth and wifi.

I tried to do a connection between my TyTN II and notebook by bluetooth. The connection work once but after that, could not work again. Yes, it was paired. Even after deleting the profile and doing a repair, it didn't work any more.

If I create a adhoc wireless network on my notebook and use my TyTN II to connect to it. Although it showed on both TyTN II and notebook showed that I was connected, the Mocha FTP prompted that network was not connected.

The only for the connection to be working correctly is when both TyTN II and notebook are connected through my home wireless network.

Any help on setting up the connection through bluetooth or adhoc wireless connection would be appreciated.

Thank you.
1st March 2009, 10:21 AM   |  #3  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zard

Great piece of software. Tested it and works pretty well. The only thing I find it problematic is the connection through bluetooth and wifi.

I tried to do a connection between my TyTN II and notebook by bluetooth. The connection work once but after that, could not work again. Yes, it was paired. Even after deleting the profile and doing a repair, it didn't work any more.

If I create a adhoc wireless network on my notebook and use my TyTN II to connect to it. Although it showed on both TyTN II and notebook showed that I was connected, the Mocha FTP prompted that network was not connected.

The only for the connection to be working correctly is when both TyTN II and notebook are connected through my home wireless network.

Any help on setting up the connection through bluetooth or adhoc wireless connection would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Sadly I can't help with that. My pc doesn't have a wifi adaptor. I've only used it via usb cable sync. Maybe there's someone else out there who's had luck with what you're trying.
3rd March 2009, 09:48 PM   |  #4  
kilrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
For Bluetooth:
Search for WM6BTPAN. It's a little program for the PPC that will enable the BT network access service. Run it (needs to be run once only, however if you soft-reset you need to run it again).
From the PC, connect to the network access point service on the PPC. The connection should now succeed. If yes, you're now at the same point than with Wifi.

Now in both cases the FTP connection fails because there is no DHCP server running on either machine in your small network. So there's nothing to hand IP addresses to the machines and make sure they are both in the same logical network.
The best thing to do is to configure IP addresses manually on them.

Let's go with bluetooth first as I recommend you to use that.
On the PPC, go to Settings -> Connections -> Wi-Fi -> Network Adapters Tab.
Click On Bluetooth PAN driver. Use Specific IP address, set IP 192.168.2.1 and subnet mask 255.255.255.0.
On the PC, go to control panel, network connection, and find the bluetooth one. Right-click, properties, double click on TCP/IP. Use specific IP address, 192.168.2.2, same mask as before.
Dismiss all, connect BT network and it should be all good.

With WLAN you can do just the same but selecting Wifi adapter instead of BT PAN driver on the PPC, and the wireless connection instead of the BT one on the PC. But, as you will need to set those back to auto when you connect to your home network so that the router's DHCP server can give access to your devices (and set everything again the next time you want to make your little network again), I recommend using BT because you'll most likely never use BT networking for anything else.

Side note, don't bother with IPs in the FTP client program, you can just enter the PPC's device name (set in settings -> System -> About) and it should reach it well.
4th March 2009, 06:33 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Celaya - Gto.
Thanks Meter: 9
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
It can be used on Linux?, still can't sync with Synce.

Thanks in advance.
4th March 2009, 09:37 AM   |  #6  
kilrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
Of course, all you need on the PC side is an FTP client, like Filezilla for example. This won't sync anything though, just allow you to transfer files between the 2 devices like with a file explorer.
3rd October 2009, 08:38 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Can everyone tell me a vaild serial key?
The freeware serial key is not work.
9th November 2009, 02:18 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
is there a way to use this so i can send from pc to phone? at the moment i can only send from phone to pc using internet explorer.
9th November 2009, 06:50 PM   |  #9  
Blauvster's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zannyboy

is there a way to use this so i can send from pc to phone? at the moment i can only send from phone to pc using internet explorer.

Yes, either use window's integrated FTP client or use a third party one such as Filezilla.

To use the windows integrated one, open "My Computer" or any file browser window, and in the address bar enter the address "ftp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: pppp" where the x's denote the IP address of your phone, and p's denote the port you selected with mocha. You also have to setup a user in mocha to have write privileges.
30th June 2010, 12:22 PM   |  #10  
noixdarec's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilrah

Side note, don't bother with IPs in the FTP client program, you can just enter the PPC's device name (set in settings -> System -> About) and it should reach it well.

Thank you for the instruction, that's very useful, even the little side note solved my problem!! When the phone is connected both to ActiveSync and to my home network (wifi), the device will have two IPs and Mocha FTP will not use the "192.168.x.x" one. Now there is no more problem !!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes