5,596,637 Members 41,794 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] UNROOT, get phone to STOCK firmware

Tip us?
 
tubaking182
Old
(Last edited by Mikey; 9th January 2010 at 12:00 AM.) Reason: Updated
#1  
tubaking182's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,088
Join Date: Mar 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation [HOW TO] UNROOT, get phone to STOCK firmware

ok since there are 5 threads right now on the first page about how to do it and there shouldn't be, this is what you do, i will not link anything to anything because you should be able to find everything pretty easily(they are all stickies)

so all of you that messed something up on your phone and need to get it back into warranty this is how, FOLLOW THESE STEPS:

NOTE: if you have flashed a custom splash screen to splash2 then you will need to erase that before step one with this code
plug phone into usb in fastboot mode
Code:
fastboot erase splash2
After that you will have only one splash screen and when you flash the .nbh you will be fine


1. Get the original SPL for your phone, get it here
2. Rename it to update.zip and copy it to your sd card. /sdcard
3. Download the DREAIMG.nbh from here.
4. Place DREAIMG.nbh on the root of your SD card. /sdcard
5. Go into your phones recovery. [Hold the home & power button]
6. Push Alt+S on your G1 to flash it with update.zip
7. After it does its thing, gettig back to your home screen.
4. Start phone in bootloader. [Hold camera+power button]
5. Hit power to start the update DO NOT INTERRUPT!! i can not stress this enough.
6. Click on the action button(track ball) and your phone will reboot.
7. YOU NOW HAVE STOCK FIRMWARE, it will update on it's own in a little bit, or *Settings>About phone>System Updates*
XDA has become a playground for morons and script kiddies
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tubaking182 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
haitiankid4lyf
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 269
Join Date: May 2008
MODS PLEASE I'M BEGGING YOU TO STICKY THIS POST OR AT LEAST THIS ONE:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=485364

so that people can stop posting: how can i unroot my phone or can i revert back to stock firmware like theres not 10 different posts about it.
 
vinnynanni
Old
(Last edited by vinnynanni; 19th April 2009 at 10:31 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York City
Default Mods sticky

Hey man you got my vote it was drivin me insane tryin to find this and thank you!!! Also, just to amke sure that it worked, what is it supposed to say on "About Phone". Thank you man
 
giantcrazy
Old
#4  
giantcrazy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 216
Join Date: Sep 2007
Just wanted to add one point - I followed this guide, but there's one bit that might not be obvious.

DREAIMG.nbh will restore your phone *mostly* to stock. There's one thing it won't change - the second splash image. If you've changed your splash images, you might want to restore them to stock separately before following these instructions.

Wouldn't be an issue for most users, but in my case the keyboard bit the dust and I had to do a return, and once I set it back to stock I couldn't re-root (and was left returning the phone with a custom second splash image).
 
rhwd2003
Old
(Last edited by rhwd2003; 30th April 2009 at 03:30 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2009
i followed all of these steps and as it was applying the dreamimg rc29 for me it said failure... what do i try now? it seems that now my phone will only boot to the multi-colored screen and everytime i try to apply the update it fails about 3/4th of the way through... my phone doesnt work... any thoughts on how to fix this?
 
rhwd2003
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2009
found the problem, sorry for my ignorance i didnt format the card completely so there were other files in the root and all i did was reformat and just copy the nbh file back over and it worked just fine sorry guys
 
kenny9438
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Mar 2009
one question...do i have to find the stock rc30 and rc33 to update also?? aren's there somethings required to update to cupcake? (like radio??)
 
tubaking182
Old
#8  
tubaking182's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,088
Join Date: Mar 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny9438 View Post
one question...do i have to find the stock rc30 and rc33 to update also?? aren's there somethings required to update to cupcake? (like radio??)
you don't need to find the RC30 or RC33 files because when you have the stock RC29 your phone will update on it's own after a few hours. the only thing needed to upgrade to cupcake is the cupcake image. the radio is a choice and you ocan choose not to flash it. i still use the original radio that came on the phone with RC30 simply because i have been too lazy to get the latest radios
XDA has become a playground for morons and script kiddies
 
creid2352
Old
#9  
creid2352's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 144
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
bump. good info
UNITED STATES NAVY HOOYAH!

Look me up on G+
 
DreamingTTE
Old
(Last edited by DreamingTTE; 4th May 2009 at 02:44 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kent
I just unrooted myself, just for a while.

Now I am on RC8, am I going to have to play the waiting game for RC9 uk or can I grab RC9 elsewhere? I have searched on this site for RC9 and it just returns 0 results.

Excuse my fatal error newbish ways, there is lots of us out there. ;o)

Thanks.

***EDIT***
It just automatically did it! Ignore my post.

ERRRR.....its 1.5 now, and im in the uk. it says firmware 1.5!!!!! build number CRB17 KERNEL 2.6.27.-00392-G8312BAF ANDROID BUILD@apa27 #72

lol Am I the first in the uk to recieve this ?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...