Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

orange touch 3G help

OP paperclip69

27th March 2009, 07:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Crosshill, Fife
Thanks Meter: 3
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Hi

Just got this phone through today and I quite like it but i hate what orange have done to it. this whole unique manager etc is a big pile of the steaming smelly stuff you have no idea if it's using wifi or your data mins!

so really what i won't to know is does any one know how to get rid of this and if you can't can someone point me in the direction of a decent Rom for it and a guide to flashing it, I wan't a rom thats reasonably close to the htc original, but also if all goes wrong and i have to send it back to orange for a fault can it be put back to the original orange rom.

I have tried searching but i am a little overwhelmed by all the posts and roms, I don't want to get it wrong on my first one and totaly ruin my nice shiny phone.

oh why did orange have to mess with it?

cheers

Tom
28th March 2009, 12:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Crosshill, Fife
Thanks Meter: 3
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
hi

thanks for the info it was really helpful in explaining, but i can't see any links to touch 3g roms. i assume it's not the same rom as the diamond.

cheers

Tom
30th March 2009, 12:53 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Orange Issue
I am also having problems as I can not connect to any WIFi and can not find a way of changing the Wifi Power management.
31st March 2009, 01:05 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Orange
I have had a call from Orange and the suggestion was to have a look at the HTC Web site and see if there was anything to help there.
31st March 2009, 02:51 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Crosshill, Fife
Thanks Meter: 3
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I have just spent the last 3 days reading this site (don't tell the boss) and i have just this moment burned a fairly original htc rom on to it so that i can get rid of all the orange stuff.

so far it's much better and i get the msn messenger back as well, have a look at the jade part of this forum, you need to install hardspl which will enable you to dump the rom and install the new one on the phone, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=483465

then dump the current rom for backup http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=448776

now download and use this Kitchen http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=441872 in this package you have all the files to make the original htc rom and also restore your backup rom.

just have a read of some of these threads and you will be able to go back to htc original rom. you will need to do some leaps of faith with some of it, but i have just done it and it's worked fine, I made sure i had the backup though!

cheers

Tom
11th April 2009, 04:22 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Ipswich
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Hi Tom, just wanted to say thanks for the links and info - I've now successfully flashed one of ironeagle's lean-cut ROMs and the awful Unique Manager is gone!

I have a stock Touch Diamond as well and the performance of the 3g with the Orange ROM in comparison was dreadful. This new one is nice and zippy.
3rd May 2009, 09:24 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Ironeagle’s ROMs
Hi BexxBexx

Did you simply run JadeHard-SPL_V41 and then install one of Ironeagle’s ROMs
I presume that this will remove all the Orange rubbish and become SIM free?
I also presume that GPS and WIFI are all working ok?

Thanks
Dave
25th May 2009, 10:34 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Does UMA/Unique Still work with HTC Rom
Hi, I also have Orange HTC Touch and do find the Unique/WiFi control unclear as to what service it is using, I have no signal at home so I know it has to be using the wifi despite the phone saying 3G. I wondered if those who have tried different ROM's have still got the use of Orange Unique/UMA i.e. can make calls & SMS's via the wifi network. I have to have this facility as no signal at home. I had blackberry's before & they were great for using the WiFi but I read that if you removed the orange branding (e.g. had an unlocked phone) you lost this however I did use BB OEM updated ROM & was still OK but underneath I still got the orange startup so assume still branded. Also very easy to restore previous firmware if problems. BB (RIM) released about 5 or 6 updated firmwares over about a year, Orange Never released any specific so I am not holding breath for HTC/Orange ROM. HTC do have an updated one on their WWW but if I put my serial number in says not suitable. V. Strangely at home 90% time I get the green house OK saying wifi conencted & can phone/sms fine using this but if I try to connect to the internet it say no connection, try again a few minutes later after some swithing on/off and it might work. No set pattern to make it work.
4th June 2009, 01:32 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
i would be very keen to know if this works as well with regards to retaining UMA ability once orange software has been removed

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes