Post Reply

Overclocking App available in the market!

OP andonnguyen

8th April 2009, 11:40 PM   |  #31  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 13
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com

EDIT: hmm actually after trying this, it doesn't work... odd...

EDIT EDIT:After a little working at it I got it to almost work but get a permission denied when it tries to create /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk... odd considering I'm superuser...

works fine for me if i do that all manually...
you doing it as root?

lol, nm you edited it and answered that question as i posted
8th April 2009, 11:51 PM   |  #32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
1,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damnoregonian

works fine for me if i do that all manually...
you doing it as root?

lol, nm you edited it and answered that question as i posted

hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.
8th April 2009, 11:52 PM   |  #33  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com

hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.

Type in "su" first then enter.
Wait for it to ask if you want to allow access. Then try it all in one line like that one script.
8th April 2009, 11:53 PM   |  #34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
1,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmmj

Type in "su" first then enter.
Wait for it to ask if you want to allow access. Then try it all.

ya... I did that... that's why I said I ran it as superuser.
8th April 2009, 11:57 PM   |  #35  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 13
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com

hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.

# busybox sh
/ # mount -o rw,remount /system
/ # mkdir /system/debugfs
/ # mount -t debugfs debugfs /system/debugfs
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
245760000
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
384000000
/ # echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
528000000
/ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
8th April 2009, 11:57 PM   |  #36  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
5,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com

ya... I did that... that's why I said I ran it as superuser.

I didn't notice that.

Either way, typing the following worked just fine with me.

Code:
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
All in one line. Not sure why it gave you an error.
9th April 2009, 01:57 AM   |  #37  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 8
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmmj

I didn't notice that.

Either way, typing the following worked just fine with me.

Code:
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
All in one line. Not sure why it gave you an error.

That worked for me:
# mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
#
9th April 2009, 03:01 AM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manacit

That worked for me:
# mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
#


thx a lot and that work fine for me too !!!
OH ...but i reboot and i try it again, it won't work.

mount: mounting /system/debugfs on /system/debugfs failed: Device or resource busy

and

echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
cannot create /system: is a directory
Last edited by wilsonmui; 9th April 2009 at 03:05 AM.
9th April 2009, 04:52 AM   |  #39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wootroot

[UPDATE]
Incase you didnt see my sig, im not running on a ADP1 phone, so that might by why the fastest setting doesnt work for me, but so far 384MHz is making a noticeable difference with NEOCORE and SWEETER HOME

Hmm thats weird i have the same build as you and the 528 or w/e works for me. No lag at all on pokemon red now! A little on yellow =/.

Oh and how does this 'harm' your phone?
9th April 2009, 07:25 AM   |  #40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
I don't understand where the overclocking comes in...from the specs the default processor is Qualcomm MSM7201A, 528 MHz.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes