Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,553 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Overclocking App available in the market!

Tip us?
 
damnoregonian
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com View Post
EDIT: hmm actually after trying this, it doesn't work... odd...

EDIT EDIT:After a little working at it I got it to almost work but get a permission denied when it tries to create /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk... odd considering I'm superuser...
works fine for me if i do that all manually...
you doing it as root?

lol, nm you edited it and answered that question as i posted
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by damnoregonian View Post
works fine for me if i do that all manually...
you doing it as root?

lol, nm you edited it and answered that question as i posted
hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.
 
ivanmmj
Old
#33  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 5,164
Join Date: Jan 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com View Post
hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.
Type in "su" first then enter.
Wait for it to ask if you want to allow access. Then try it all in one line like that one script.
God bless you!!!
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmmj View Post
Type in "su" first then enter.
Wait for it to ask if you want to allow access. Then try it all.
ya... I did that... that's why I said I ran it as superuser.
 
damnoregonian
Old
#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com View Post
hmm you got it to work manually? mind posting your steps? Also what tool(s) did you use for it? I'm using terminal emulator and have to run everything through busybox which is why it didn't work at all initially. What I tried is:

busybox mount -o remount,rw yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mkdir /system/debugfs
busybox mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs
echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk

and it gives a no permission error in the last step when run as superuser from terminal emulator.
# busybox sh
/ # mount -o rw,remount /system
/ # mkdir /system/debugfs
/ # mount -t debugfs debugfs /system/debugfs
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
245760000
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
384000000
/ # echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
/ # cat /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
528000000
/ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
 
ivanmmj
Old
#36  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 5,164
Join Date: Jan 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com View Post
ya... I did that... that's why I said I ran it as superuser.
I didn't notice that.

Either way, typing the following worked just fine with me.

Code:
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
All in one line. Not sure why it gave you an error.
God bless you!!!
 
Manacit
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmmj View Post
I didn't notice that.

Either way, typing the following worked just fine with me.

Code:
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system/debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
All in one line. Not sure why it gave you an error.
That worked for me:
# mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
#
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S - Returned
Nexus One - Sold
T-Mobile G1 - Sold
 
wilsonmui
Old
(Last edited by wilsonmui; 9th April 2009 at 03:05 AM.)
#38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manacit View Post
That worked for me:
# mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system ; mkdir /system/debugfs ; mount /system/debugfs /system/debugfs -t debugfs ; echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 2 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 527.15
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 6TEJ
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xb36
CPU revision : 2
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format C
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 32768
I assoc : 4
I line length : 32
I sets : 256
D size : 32768
D assoc : 4
D line length : 32
D sets : 256

Hardware : trout
Revision : 0080
Serial : 0000000000000000
#

thx a lot and that work fine for me too !!!
OH ...but i reboot and i try it again, it won't work.

mount: mounting /system/debugfs on /system/debugfs failed: Device or resource busy

and

echo '528000000' > /system /debugfs/clk_rate/acpu_clk
cannot create /system: is a directory
 
mrfrenchfry
Old
#39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wootroot View Post
[UPDATE]
Incase you didnt see my sig, im not running on a ADP1 phone, so that might by why the fastest setting doesnt work for me, but so far 384MHz is making a noticeable difference with NEOCORE and SWEETER HOME
Hmm thats weird i have the same build as you and the 528 or w/e works for me. No lag at all on pokemon red now! A little on yellow =/.

Oh and how does this 'harm' your phone?
 
n19htmare
Old
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 442
Join Date: Sep 2007
I don't understand where the overclocking comes in...from the specs the default processor is Qualcomm MSM7201A, 528 MHz.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more