FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[HOW-TO] ADB for Dummies(How-To Learner's Guide)

282 posts
Thanks Meter: 678
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

My name is Joe aka AndroidSamurai.. I will be releasing more guides and media content in the weeks to come.

I'm currently very busy with "life events(new baby)" and apologize for my absence.

I will be updating this post since it was my original with a new guide updated to new SDK and Android methods.

Thanks again,

AndroidSamurai
Android4D Inc
Last edited by AndroidSamurai; 17th October 2014 at 07:50 AM. Reason: Life updates and more good stuff coming.
The Following 515 Users Say Thank You to AndroidSamurai For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th April 2009, 06:46 PM |#2  
xyrcncp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag D.C. Metro
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
<golf clap>
Well done.
</golf clap>
The Following User Says Thank You to xyrcncp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2009, 08:38 PM |#3  
King_tee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
What do i do if the new hardware device notification doesnt pop-up ? NM i got it. Thanks for the writeup
Last edited by King_tee; 8th April 2009 at 09:30 PM.
8th April 2009, 09:31 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@King_tee: Assuming windows, you follow the following steps.
1. Start > Control Panel > System.
2. Hardware > Device Manager
3. Click on the last icon below the File menu. It should correspond to "Scan for Hardware Changes."

If that doesn't work, try unplugging / replugging USB cable, different USB cable, restarting phone, restarting computer, etc.
8th April 2009, 09:33 PM |#5  
AndroidSamurai's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Greenville, SC
Thanks Meter: 678
 
Donate to Me
More
If you never see the notification, navigate to the Device Manager(inside "System" in the control panel in XP and inside Device Manager on Vista).

You will see ADB Android Device at the top of the list with a Yellow Icon beside it meaning the device is not working. Right-click on the device and select "Update Driver".

Follow the dialogs that pop-up and navigate to where the unzipped drivers are at...

You should be good to go from there...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AndroidSamurai For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2009, 06:55 PM |#6  
Member
Cleveland, tx
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
ok, i need some help please... I downloaded the SDK and followed the instruction in this thread, but when i try to update my driver for the phone, it says the driver is not compatible with my phone.. I am using Haykuro's ROM 4.5 with FW 1.5.. would that be the reason for this issue?
9th April 2009, 07:03 PM |#7  
tubaking182's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devildogg2001

ok, i need some help please... I downloaded the SDK and followed the instruction in this thread, but when i try to update my driver for the phone, it says the driver is not compatible with my phone.. I am using Haykuro's ROM 4.5 with FW 1.5.. would that be the reason for this issue?

you may need to uninstall the current driver for your phone if you have mounted it before downloading the SDK. if you don't have the SDK setup the first time you plug the phone in then your computer will auto-update the driver to a regular UMS driver and it won't help you when you try adb. i forget how to uninstall your current driver since i don't use windows, but i'm sure you can find a nice crash course online
9th April 2009, 07:29 PM |#8  
Member
Cleveland, tx
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubaking182

you may need to uninstall the current driver for your phone if you have mounted it before downloading the SDK. if you don't have the SDK setup the first time you plug the phone in then your computer will auto-update the driver to a regular UMS driver and it won't help you when you try adb. i forget how to uninstall your current driver since i don't use windows, but i'm sure you can find a nice crash course online

I dont know if thats the problem because when i plug it in, it doesnt show up as a notification, and when i go to the device manager it shows the little yellow triangle.. I'll look again. Thanks for the quick reply though. I am no expert in linux, but i have it installed, let me see if i can figure it out there..
9th April 2009, 08:12 PM |#9  
Member
Cleveland, tx
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubaking182

you may need to uninstall the current driver for your phone if you have mounted it before downloading the SDK. if you don't have the SDK setup the first time you plug the phone in then your computer will auto-update the driver to a regular UMS driver and it won't help you when you try adb. i forget how to uninstall your current driver since i don't use windows, but i'm sure you can find a nice crash course online

ok, so i am in linux now, and i just noticed this guide was for windows.. lol can you or someone tell me how to install the SDK on linux?
9th April 2009, 09:01 PM |#10  
xyrcncp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag D.C. Metro
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devildogg2001

ok, so i am in linux now, and i just noticed this guide was for windows.. lol can you or someone tell me how to install the SDK on linux?

Downloading
http://developer.android.com/sdk/1.1_r1/index.html

Installing
http://developer.android.com/sdk/1.1_r1/installing.html

Found through Google...imagine that.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to xyrcncp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2009, 09:08 PM |#11  
tubaking182's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
as well as what xyrcncp said can you you can download it and just mv ~/Desktop/sdk/tools/adb /usr/bin/adb abd you should be able to run the adb commands from any directory. not too hard to cd to the correct directory but i personally don't like to type cd ~/Phone/tools/android-sdk/tools every time cause i tend to make typographical errors. let me know how it worked but you shouldn't have any problems at all

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes