Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,501 Members 46,786 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Apps to SD card app

Tip us?
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
(Last edited by MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com; 8th May 2009 at 09:24 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default Apps to SD card app

Hey all,
I know I just put up my tutorial on how to do this but hopefully this will make things easier for everyone. I'd still suggest doing a nandroid backup first just to make sure but I tested this on my phone so it should work. Just run the app and if this is the first time moving your apps to your sd card(and you want to keep the ones you have) leave the checkbox checked. Otherwise uncheck it. Then just press the buttons that correspond to what you want to do. Enjoy

In order to use this you MUST:
1: Have an apps-to-sd ROM
2: Have your sd card partitioned correctly with FAT32 first and ext2 second.
3: Have busybox already installed to /system/xbin

NOTE: I'll try to help as much as I can but I can't take responsibility for anything this does to your phone. I'm pretty sure nothing bad will happen and nothing irreparable can happen but gotta say these things just to be sure anytime I'm messing with root permissions.

ANOTHER NOTE: I'll put this up in the market for $1. It'll remain free here but people can donate to me that way.

YET ANOTHER NOTE: I've managed to get a new method working that's a lot more stable and flexible. I will keep this thread here but won't be maintaining it.

EDIT: Moving data is too unstable, I've removed the option. It doesn't force close anymore when you don't have the setup right, it just gives an error and wont let you do anything, so that's better.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AppsToSD_signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (17.0 KB, 9331 views)
Device: Nexus 4/Nexus 7/Nexus 10
 
derekedw
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 384
Join Date: Feb 2008
Tried it this morning and worked great. You might add a pop up at the end of moving apps to restart the device. When less experienced people use it, they won't know to do that I'm afraid.
 
Nismo300zx
Old
(Last edited by Nismo300zx; 15th April 2009 at 04:12 PM.)
#3  
Nismo300zx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 1,033
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida
the app sends me into abootloop at the htc screen

ps
i tried from fresh wipe and sd
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nismo300zx View Post
the app sends me into abootloop at the htc screen

ps
i tried from fresh wipe and sd
OH SHOOT!!! I fixed this problem on the market one but forgot to put it back up on here. Umm... for now no1 should use the one posted here, until I can get home and post the updated one. OR if you still want to fix this and don't much just a bit of fiddling in the recovery terminal, after moving apps to sd, restart in recovery mode and do this:

Code:
Select Code
mount data
ln -s /system/sd/app /data/app
For anyone who cares about such things, the problem is that it deletes the /data/app folder and then makes a symlink, which sounds ok, except that every super user command has to be run through the whitelist app... which no longer exists. So it's not able to set up the link and all hell breaks loose.
Device: Nexus 4/Nexus 7/Nexus 10
 
Nismo300zx
Old
(Last edited by Nismo300zx; 15th April 2009 at 04:35 PM.)
#5  
Nismo300zx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 1,033
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida
i did use the 1 from here

it says ln: /data/app: file exists
 
AbsoluteDesignz
Old
#6  
AbsoluteDesignz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 1,579
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
if i already had apps2sd, tried to upgrade my phone from 5.0 to 5.01G, so I wiped...then data.img wouldn't flash over...if i do this, will my apps show up again?
yeah...
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nismo300zx View Post
i did use the 1 from here
ya it's the one from here that's broken, sorry. If you haven't already flashed back and everything(still have the boot loop) then you can use the code I posted and it should fix it. I'll post the updated version tonight when I get back home.
Device: Nexus 4/Nexus 7/Nexus 10
 
MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbsoluteDesignz View Post
if i already had apps2sd, tried to upgrade my phone from 5.0 to 5.01G, so I wiped...then data.img wouldn't flash over...if i do this, will my apps show up again?
Yes, just uncheck the checkbox. But you might want to read the note that I just posted, there's a known problem with it that has a fix but requires going into the recovery terminal. I'll post the updated version of this app that doesn't have that bug tonight.
Device: Nexus 4/Nexus 7/Nexus 10
 
Nismo300zx
Old
#9  
Nismo300zx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 1,033
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida
jus tried and nothing ..now im stuck at tmobile g1 screen..im startin to think it just dnt like me
 
ThaBadBoy
Old
#10  
ThaBadBoy's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nismo300zx View Post
jus tried and nothing ..now im stuck at tmobile g1 screen..im startin to think it just dnt like me
Try reading a few of the posts above yours.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more