Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,845 Members 50,930 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SD card not shown

Tip us?
 
gurluver
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 163
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hanoi
Default SD card not shown

Hi, since I upgraded my SPL to 1.54/1.56, i've tried installing both Dutty WM6.1 v2.9 and Mira WM6.5 v8.1 but neither of them seems to like my storage card, i have to do soft reset for it to recognise the card, but after a while the card will disappear again...
any1 got the same problem or know how to fix it please?
Thanks
 
Digital Outcast
Old
#2  
Digital Outcast's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Woodstock, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurluver View Post
Hi, since I upgraded my SPL to 1.54/1.56, i've tried installing both Dutty WM6.1 v2.9 and Mira WM6.5 v8.1 but neither of them seems to like my storage card, i have to do soft reset for it to recognise the card, but after a while the card will disappear again...
any1 got the same problem or know how to fix it please?
Thanks
I've seen one other user with the same issue. What type / brand of SD card are you using? Trying to narrow down what is causing this... he had the same issue with same rom(s).
 
gurluver
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 163
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hanoi
its the SanDisk 8GB SDHC one - one that came by default with Orange UK contract.
Btw, I did upgrade to the offcial 1.54/56 ROM before upgrading to the 2 ROMs above.
 
tnyynt
Old
#4  
tnyynt's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 2,270
Join Date: Jun 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurluver View Post
its the SanDisk 8GB SDHC one - one that came by default with Orange UK contract.
Btw, I did upgrade to the offcial 1.54/56 ROM before upgrading to the 2 ROMs above.
Maybe it's got to do with the power management policies the Chef applied. Try to use schaps' Advanced Config 3.3 to disable SD Card Power Management and see if it helps.

Also, some caches and DMA could be the culprits but first let's see about power management.
 
gurluver
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 163
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hanoi
The Power Management is disabled.
Also, 1 thing I particularly noticed is when I open Windows Media player, attempt to update my library on storage card, it can find all my music files, but when it attempt to add the music to the library, it doesnt. and then the sd card disappear from File Explorer, WMP libary option.
 
xmsnx
Old
#6  
xmsnx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: Jan 2008
Backup your sd card to your PC, and reformat it. Had the same problem, fixed with a format
Google Nexus 5
ROM: Niksus Kitkat v3.5 4.4.4
_______________

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505
ROM: EchoeROM V27 4.4.2 - AEL Kernel - New Boobloader
_______________

Google Nexus 7 2013
ROM: CleanROM 3.5 4.4.4


Sign up with COPY.COM! Get 15GB space free, use my link and we'll both earn an extra 5GB!!!
Get DROPBOX, use my link and we'll both earn 500MB extra!
 
incobra
Old
(Last edited by incobra; 19th April 2009 at 01:50 PM.) Reason: want to add stuff
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurluver View Post
its the SanDisk 8GB SDHC one - one that came by default with Orange UK contract.
Btw, I did upgrade to the offcial 1.54/56 ROM before upgrading to the 2 ROMs above.
I have the same SanDisk8GB SDHC one - default card which came with the phone. Same thing happned. It has become very slow to access, and practically useless, the phone cannot detect the card. If put into the computer with the adapter then also it is the same computer cannot read it or sometimes takes too long, cannot format. this happened after the 1.54/56 rom.
HTC Touch Pro>HTC HD>HTC Magic[Airtel]>
HTC HD2 [ Leo ] ROM 1.48.720.2 (71294) WWE,
Blackberry 9800, LG Optimus 2X, Samsung GS2 [2 pieces DOI ],
HTC Sensation.
 
foulke
Old
#8  
foulke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 271
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Le Mans
Happened to me also with some custom ROM.
I used my warranty to exchange the SD card.
My advice : backup your SD card when you can, from time to time.
XDA II WM6.1 CE OS 5.2.19199 (Build 19199.1.0.0 S_Ather) => Stolen
HP iPAQ rw6828 CE 0S 5.2.19971 (Build 19971.1.2.6)-WM 6.1 /b196
HTC HD (NRGZ 28244 CHT2 11/13 FRA)
Galaxy Tab Wifi 10.1
HBH-608 / GPS Globalsat BT-308
Galaxy S2 I9100G
 
ryahia
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Same Thing

Same thing happenned to my card. Same default card that came with the phone. But I have SPL 1.14 which I have had for a while now. I just flashed to a Miri ROM and it started happenning. I will try reformatting to see if it helps.
 
2unique
Old
#10  
2unique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 312
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangkok
did you remove the sd-card when you flashed?
Samsung Galaxy SIII I-9300T
Galaxy Tab 10.1 running 4.1.2 AOKP

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes