Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,005 Members 38,003 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Copyright infringment all over the market

Tip us?

mmafighter077
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Default Copyright infringment all over the market

I am not a lawyer and I don't know too much about this... but isn't it illegal to sell apps such as sound boards and pictures that are copyrighted on the market or anywhere for that matter if they don't have the rights from the owners?

I am seeing a bunch of apps on the market with icons from other copyrighted pictures and apps such as soundboards that use copyrighted content. Doesn't it make it illegal for the devs to sell them w / out copyrights?

P.S im not complaining just inquiring.

Karolis
Old
Thanks Meter 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmafighter077 View Post
I am not a lawyer and I don't know too much about this... but isn't it illegal to sell apps such as sound boards and pictures that are copyrighted on the market or anywhere for that matter if they don't have the rights from the owners?

I am seeing a bunch of apps on the market with icons from other copyrighted pictures and apps such as soundboards that use copyrighted content. Doesn't it make it illegal for the devs to sell them w / out copyrights?

P.S im not complaining just inquiring.
It probably is illegal, but until someone claims copyright, no one will do anything.

UnkzDomain
Old
Thanks Meter 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis View Post
It probably is illegal, but until someone claims copyright, no one will do anything.
Well, it would be a good way to clean up the market wouldn't it? =P

Karolis
Old
Thanks Meter 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by amgupt01 View Post
Well, it would be a good way to clean up the market wouldn't it? =P
Yes, but I don't think if anyone but the copyright holder will complain, Google will do anything.

UnkzDomain
Old
Thanks Meter 4