FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

How to filter ads on your G1

605 posts
Thanks Meter: 467
 
By delta_foxtrot2, Senior Member on 28th April 2009, 07:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th November 2011, 08:45 PM |#1051  
bmdixon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
My hosts file is pretty much empty! Been working fine till a day or two ago. Only about 600B now (yes bytes!). Is something wrong with the server?

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA App
 
 
27th November 2011, 10:21 PM |#1052  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I got the same problem with above,
It works fine for last few weeks
But after i update it today, all ads comes out again
Please fix~~thx so much!!
28th November 2011, 08:05 PM |#1053  
VK7HSE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hobart
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
Same for me here. My temporary solution was to disable the auto update of your hosts file and download the hosts file from the url listed in the comments within the hodts file.

A small annoyance, but I'm sure that a fix won't be far away
Last edited by VK7HSE; 28th November 2011 at 08:14 PM.
28th November 2011, 09:19 PM |#1054  
340DartMan's Avatar
Member
Flag Motel 6
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Question AdFree no longer blocks ads after 0.8.41 update
I realize this is for G1 phones, but looking for a solutions from the Dev.

Every since I upgraded to AdFree 0.8.41, it is not working. I tried rebooting my phone (as the app states after upgrade), uninstalled, reinstalled AdFree, and rebooted, no help. Updated again after re installation, then tried rebooting again and no help.

This app worked after I initially installed it.

The host file (\system\etc\host) looked the same throughout the process. I thought about deleting my host file, then uninstalling and reinstalling AdFree, but wasn't sure if that was a good idea.

Is there something I need to do after the update to get it to work?

I have a rooted Bionic with stock ROM.

Thank you,

Tony
30th November 2011, 07:29 AM |#1055  
ToddeSwe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alvesta
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
not woking since upfate
Hi, kinda glad to see that I'm not alone.
Since I updated to sensation 2.08 stock ROM it has not worked here.
But I had problems before as well.

Hope you solv it soon.
Keep up the good work.

ToddeSwe
2nd December 2011, 06:45 AM |#1056  
GldRush98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taylorville, IL.
Thanks Meter: 286
 
More
This app has turned in to a damn train wreck. It used to work great and now it forces landscape mode on my Galaxy Tab for no reason. And worse, now all it does is just wipe out your hosts file.
I'm done with this. Going to manual host file updates from now on.
3rd December 2011, 04:30 AM |#1057  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 467
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GldRush98

now it forces landscape mode on my Galaxy Tab for no reason.

Actually it was for a good reason, there is no way to tell if someone is on a device that rotates or a TV that doesn't, except for the screen size.

Quote:

And worse, now all it does is just wipe out your hosts file.

This seems to be happening only to people that turn on all extra lists as the system runs out of memory processing it all, I'm still trying to work out how to send the host names differently so it's not memory bound. Quick fix is to stop using the extra lists with lots of hostnames.

UPDATE: I ended up hiding 3 lists of hostnames for the time being, even if the server did have enough RAM the deal with requests, the compressed hosts file comes out at 14M, so I'm going to be switching to some kind of diff method, but will take some time to code.
Last edited by delta_foxtrot2; 3rd December 2011 at 04:45 AM.
3rd December 2011, 06:56 AM |#1058  
hooozy's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Working great on NDTV app but not working on times of India app. Please make it work
TOI v 1.1.3 ( http://market.android.com/search?q=p...der.activities )
3rd December 2011, 08:23 PM |#1059  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta_foxtrot2

Actually it was for a good reason, there is no way to tell if someone is on a device that rotates or a TV that doesn't, except for the screen size.



This seems to be happening only to people that turn on all extra lists as the system runs out of memory processing it all, I'm still trying to work out how to send the host names differently so it's not memory bound. Quick fix is to stop using the extra lists with lots of hostnames.

UPDATE: I ended up hiding 3 lists of hostnames for the time being, even if the server did have enough RAM the deal with requests, the compressed hosts file comes out at 14M, so I'm going to be switching to some kind of diff method, but will take some time to code.

I concur on being forced to landscape mode on the Galaxy Tab. It is very annoying. The program was actually quite easy to use before the mandatory changes were made. The choices should be the users' to choose, instead of forcing it upon them. Afterall, we're using Android, not IOS, right?
3rd December 2011, 09:15 PM |#1060  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 467
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendel

I concur on being forced to landscape mode on the Galaxy Tab. It is very annoying. The program was actually quite easy to use before the mandatory changes were made. The choices should be the users' to choose, instead of forcing it upon them. Afterall, we're using Android, not IOS, right?

if you setup auto update you don't even need to use the app 99.999% of the time.
4th December 2011, 08:47 PM |#1061  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I'm still seeing ads in Angry Birds Seasons at the moment. I've even seen ones for iPhone 4S. Is the adfree app in the market current? And is the list used by that app maintained by developers in this thread? Because I have no way of determining the host names for them.

Also why isn't adfree compatible with Android 1.6? Not really relevant to me now since I upgraded to a Gingerbread phone but I don't see why 1.6 isn't supported.

Also, the app forces my phone into PORTRAIT mode, even when the keyboard is slid out, which is just as annoying.
Last edited by p_025; 4th December 2011 at 09:03 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes