Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,064 Members 40,760 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to filter ads on your G1

Tip us?
 
ShatBag1105
Old
#11  
ShatBag1105's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 112
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyayo99 View Post
(I am using the terminal program on the phone)

Until the above step, no problems
After typing in the above I get the following message:

"bad address "www.mvps.org"

I checked for typing errors, tried it 3 times but get the same error message

Any suggestions please?

thanks
Try it without the http://www. It might work like that. This is a lot harder than it should be lol. The g1 is putting up a fight!
 
nyayo99
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShatBag1105 View Post
Try it without the http://www. It might work like that. This is a lot harder than it should be lol. The g1 is putting up a fight!
Thanks, but this didn't work either.
Some googling indicated a possible DNS issue.
So I looked up the IP address (209.68.48.119), substituted that into your instructions and presto, everything worked!

Many thanks for the ad killer option for the G1
 
ShatBag1105
Old
#13  
ShatBag1105's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 112
Join Date: Feb 2009
Aah beautiful work. Just to clarify for newbs like me. The last line is (# wget http://209.68.48.119/winhelp2002/hosts.txt -O hosts). Make sure that -O hosts is a captialized O.
 
delta_foxtrot2
Old
#14  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 579
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShatBag1105 View Post
Aah beautiful work. Just to clarify for newbs like me. The last line is (# wget http://209.68.48.119/winhelp2002/hosts.txt -O hosts). Make sure that -O hosts is a captialized O.
Yes, capital letter o, lower case o stores the output of wget into the file which isn't the desired outcome
 
delta_foxtrot2
Old
(Last edited by delta_foxtrot2; 3rd May 2009 at 02:25 AM.)
#15  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 579
Join Date: Feb 2009
I plan on suggesting the following URLs to the hosts.txt guy to block admob ads in apps

p.admob.com
analytics.admob.com
r.admob.com

In the mean time you can manually add it to the hosts file yourself, just copy and past from another line.

After updating the hosts file you may need to reboot or wait for the hostname to expire from the internal lookup cache, unless someone knows a quick way to flush the cache to speed up the process that is.
 
JackD3ath
Old
#16  
JackD3ath's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 420
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Satellite Beach, Florida
Thanks for this. Worked great for me. Very helpful tutorial.
T-Mobile G2
Asus Nexus 7 Paranoid Android + Trinity Kernel
 
delta_foxtrot2
Old
(Last edited by delta_foxtrot2; 3rd May 2009 at 09:25 PM.)
#17  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 579
Join Date: Feb 2009
Just uploaded "AdFree" to android market, this does all the steps I laid out manually at the touch of a button.
The Following User Says Thank You to delta_foxtrot2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
andonnguyen
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 835
Join Date: Nov 2008
Its funny how

127.0.0.1 localhost


is the only thing blocked in the /system/etc/hosts file. lol.

T-mobile G2X
Gingerbread
 
delta_foxtrot2
Old
#19  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 579
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andonnguyen View Post
Its funny how

127.0.0.1 localhost


is the only thing blocked in the /system/etc/hosts file. lol.
That isn't "blocked" and in fact nothing gets blocked by the hosts file it just points hostnames to the local system, which usually has no web server running so the connection fails immediately.

However you MUST have localhost listed or various things will fail and cause all sorts of issues.
 
delta_foxtrot2
Old
#20  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 579
Join Date: Feb 2009
New version of AdFree is now up, I have the app adding the admob hostnames to the bottom of the list.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes