FORUMS

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

How to filter ads on your G1

Thanks Meter: 464
 
By delta_foxtrot2, Senior Member on 28th April 2009, 07:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd May 2009, 08:20 PM |#11  
ShatBag1105's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyayo99

(I am using the terminal program on the phone)

Until the above step, no problems
After typing in the above I get the following message:

"bad address "www.mvps.org"

I checked for typing errors, tried it 3 times but get the same error message

Any suggestions please?

thanks

Try it without the http://www. It might work like that. This is a lot harder than it should be lol. The g1 is putting up a fight!
 
 
2nd May 2009, 11:29 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShatBag1105

Try it without the http://www. It might work like that. This is a lot harder than it should be lol. The g1 is putting up a fight!

Thanks, but this didn't work either.
Some googling indicated a possible DNS issue.
So I looked up the IP address (209.68.48.119), substituted that into your instructions and presto, everything worked!

Many thanks for the ad killer option for the G1
3rd May 2009, 01:36 AM |#13  
ShatBag1105's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Aah beautiful work. Just to clarify for newbs like me. The last line is (# wget http://209.68.48.119/winhelp2002/hosts.txt -O hosts). Make sure that -O hosts is a captialized O.
3rd May 2009, 01:57 AM |#14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 464
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShatBag1105

Aah beautiful work. Just to clarify for newbs like me. The last line is (# wget http://209.68.48.119/winhelp2002/hosts.txt -O hosts). Make sure that -O hosts is a captialized O.

Yes, capital letter o, lower case o stores the output of wget into the file which isn't the desired outcome
3rd May 2009, 02:10 AM |#15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 464
 
More
I plan on suggesting the following URLs to the hosts.txt guy to block admob ads in apps

p.admob.com
analytics.admob.com
r.admob.com

In the mean time you can manually add it to the hosts file yourself, just copy and past from another line.

After updating the hosts file you may need to reboot or wait for the hostname to expire from the internal lookup cache, unless someone knows a quick way to flush the cache to speed up the process that is.
Last edited by delta_foxtrot2; 3rd May 2009 at 02:25 AM.
3rd May 2009, 04:55 PM |#16  
JackD3ath's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Satellite Beach, Florida
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Thanks for this. Worked great for me. Very helpful tutorial.
3rd May 2009, 09:20 PM |#17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 464
 
More
Just uploaded "AdFree" to android market, this does all the steps I laid out manually at the touch of a button.
Last edited by delta_foxtrot2; 3rd May 2009 at 09:25 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to delta_foxtrot2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2009, 09:58 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Its funny how

127.0.0.1 localhost


is the only thing blocked in the /system/etc/hosts file. lol.
3rd May 2009, 10:08 PM |#19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 464
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andonnguyen

Its funny how

127.0.0.1 localhost


is the only thing blocked in the /system/etc/hosts file. lol.

That isn't "blocked" and in fact nothing gets blocked by the hosts file it just points hostnames to the local system, which usually has no web server running so the connection fails immediately.

However you MUST have localhost listed or various things will fail and cause all sorts of issues.
3rd May 2009, 10:09 PM |#20  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 464
 
More
New version of AdFree is now up, I have the app adding the admob hostnames to the bottom of the list.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes