Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New and improved Apps to SD(more stable, more powerful, etc) Tutorial

OP MarcusMaximus04@gmail.com

1st June 2009, 11:16 AM   |  #1001  
Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
i've done the first part, but when i run apps2sd 2 app, it tells me 'oops, looks like you need to go through the tutorial to set up apps to sd.'
is this because i already partitioned my sd card??

please help


Quote: (I started from a fresh wipe and flash of jf1.51 adp.
A newly formatted fat32, non partitioned sd.
Put the init.rc and app2sd.sh on the sd (the files NOT the zip)

Then go to the terminal emulator and typed:
su
cp /sdcard/init.rc /data/
cp /sdcard/a2sd.sh /data/

Then reboot

Next I ran the apps2sd 2 app. It will ask you how much to you want to partition. I did 3000mb the first successful time and the dreaded low mem notice would not leave the status bar. I have read not to make it more then 1500mb. Have a good connection, dont force close it. It will reboot.

Next, after the reboot, I ran the apps2sd 2 app again and pressed "copy apps to sd" (let it do its thing)
Reboot.

Next I went back to the emulator and typed:
su
mkdir /system/sd/app-private
mkdir /system/sd/dalvik-cache
Reboot.

Go back to the apps2sd 2 app and hit move dalvik-cache.
Reboot for good measure and your done.) Quote
Last edited by jl1030; 1st June 2009 at 11:52 AM.
1st June 2009, 01:27 PM   |  #1002  
Phawkes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Phone wont mount =/
Ok I wanted to try apps to SD but didnt really care for it and wanted to convert back to normal. I got rid of my partioned part of my SD but I did nothing in the terminal to revert the actions taken to get apps2sd. When I download apps they go directly on the phone and not the SD card. At some point the apps2sd did work though but after wiping here and there i noticed the effects of it were going(apps going to phone and not sd). But to get to the point whenever I try to mount my phone it works for like a second and the phone says preparing sd card again. For some reason it wont connect to my computer and I'm sure you guys can imagine the trouble that bring me. I have a sd card adapter but I need to be able to mount my phone. Any ideas what went wrong or if its because I didnt revert the actions taken to get apps2sd back to normal? Please let me know anything. Thanks.
1st June 2009, 02:32 PM   |  #1003  
cronin4392's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghettoyungin718

after a wipe to the dudes build.. i install mybackup pro so i can upload apps2sd app onto my phone

when i move apps2sd all of my apps from the market including mybackup pro are erased off my phone and if i restart my phone it'll stay in a loop

is this an issue with my sd card ? thanks in advance

yeah i ran into the asme problem. after the reboot after these steps:
su
mkdir /system/sd/app-private
mkdir /system/sd/dalvik-cache

i get the same problem (apps missing, including appstosd) so i am not able to complete the last steps.

why is this happening and is there a work around?
1st June 2009, 03:38 PM   |  #1004  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Apps Gone
All the apps that i chose to move when using apps to sd 2 are gone and when I try to launch them from "my downloads" in the market it says "app could not be launched" WHAT IS GOING ON, help please and also it re boots whenever i download a app....
1st June 2009, 04:51 PM   |  #1005  
Phawkes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Any have any idea whats going on with my phone from my above post? I really need to be able to hook my phone up to my computer.
1st June 2009, 04:53 PM   |  #1006  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
1,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phawkes

Any have any idea whats going on with my phone from my above post? I really need to be able to hook my phone up to my computer.

Is this on a JF build? If so you can do this in the terminal emulator to completely remove any semblance of appstosd:

Code:
su
rm /data/a2sd.sh
rm /data/init.rc
reboot
1st June 2009, 05:25 PM   |  #1007  
Phawkes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Thanks for the reply Marcus, it is indeed a JF rom. I did as told and it said the files didnt exist I believe. Does this mean all traces of apps2sd are gone? And is this why my apps went straight to phone? Also does the effects of apps2sd go away with a wipe and reflashing a rom?
1st June 2009, 05:53 PM   |  #1008  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
1,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phawkes

Thanks for the reply Marcus, it is indeed a JF rom. I did as told and it said the files didnt exist I believe. Does this mean all traces of apps2sd are gone? And is this why my apps went straight to phone? Also does the effects of apps2sd go away with a wipe and reflashing a rom?

Ya, that would mean that there's no traces of it left(those scripts are really the only things enabling it). The effects of it are gone as soon as those scripts are gone, but reflashing(without a wipe) doesn't clear them out.
1st June 2009, 08:58 PM   |  #1009  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
So has anybody got this method working on the new Hero rom?
1st June 2009, 11:04 PM   |  #1010  
Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 3
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Can anybody please kindly tell me what I should do next? I have been stuck at this apps2sd phenomenon for over 5 days... I have successfully done this before with JF 1.5 ADP but ever since it got bricked, I have switched to many other builds to see if I can get through this process.
Now I'm at Dude's 1.1 which I believe it should be the easiest build to install the apps2sd (I just simply ran the apps2sd.apk provided in this thread) But then it went to android screen loop...

Later on I discovered that I could take out the sdcard until it got pass the android screen, then stick it back in again, it loads but I receives a lot of force closes.... long story short... I need help.

Now after I typed busybox df -h in terminal I get:

Filesystem
tmpfs 48.2M 0M 48.2M 0% /dev
tmpfs 4.0M 0M 4.0M 0% /sqlite_stmt_journals
/dev/block/mtdblock3 90.0M 60.7M 29.3M 67% /system
/dev/block/loop0 492.K 492.K 0M 100% /system/modules
/dev/block/loop1 3.4M 3.4M 0M 100% /system/xbin
/dev/block/mtdblock5 89.8M 23.3M 66.4M 26% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock4 30.0M 1.1M 28.9M 4% /cache
/dev/block//vold/179:1 720.5M 38.8M 681.7M 5% /sdcard
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 237.8M 26.6M 198.9M 12% /system/sd
/dev/block/mtdblock5 89.8M 23.3M 66.4M 26% /system/intmem
unionfs 237.8M 26.6M 198.9M 12% /data/data


Can anybody diagnose the above log for me? I spent more time trying to fix this than seeing my girlfriend for the past days... please help me...

Matty

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes