Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,635 Members 52,806 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help - how to set GPRS authentication type on 61x

Tip us?
 
chan200606
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Default Help - how to set GPRS authentication type on 61x

Is there a way to set the GPRS authentication on a 61x to PAP and disable CHAP?

I have been unable to connect to a wireless broadband service because it requires PAP but the 61x appears to default to CHAP with no way to change it to PAP. Spent some time this afternoon on the HP instant support, only to be told that they had not included an UI for this in the 600 series and had no intention of putting it back either!
 
sergiorus
Old
#2  
sergiorus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 927
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallinn
Dont know is it working on our device or not, but test AdvancedNetwork. I extracted it from HTC Iolite rom
Attached Files
File Type: zip Adwanced Network.zip - [Click for QR Code] (23.9 KB, 159 views)
HP Ipaq 614c
Current ROM:WM 6.5.3 29017 Manila Edition v0.5

If you like my work, buy me a beer

 
chan200606
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiorus View Post
Dont know is it working on our device or not, but test AdvancedNetwork. I extracted it from HTC Iolite rom
Hi Sergiorus,

Thanks for the file. I have copied it to my 612c and run the exe from there. It however gave me a 3-tabbed screen, all blank except for but bullets or drop-down lists (no description against each). Looks like the program cannot find the data containing the text descriptions.

Does the program run on your machine, and are there other files that might be part of the package?

Thanks again for the help,
Alfred
 
sergiorus
Old
#4  
sergiorus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 927
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallinn
There are two files in zip archive .exe and .mui, copy two files to any folder and run exe. (mui and exe should be in one folder)
HP Ipaq 614c
Current ROM:WM 6.5.3 29017 Manila Edition v0.5

If you like my work, buy me a beer

 
chan200606
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiorus View Post
There are two files in zip archive .exe and .mui, copy two files to any folder and run exe. (mui and exe should be in one folder)
Yes that was how I tried - had both files in a folder and ran the exe. The program ran and gave me a 3-tab display but none with any description. It is as if running a program with no fonts. Does the program need other components (e.g. selected fonts) installed first?

Again thanks for the help!
 
sergiorus
Old
(Last edited by sergiorus; 11th May 2009 at 06:30 PM.)
#6  
sergiorus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 927
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallinn
So, you didnt see text like on screenshot ?



Hm..strange. I only copyed this two files, nothing more. Maybe your rom is not english?

Only can suggest to manually change GPRS Authentication Method
[HKLM\ControlPanel\PhoneExtendFunction]
"GPRSAuthenticationMethod"=dword:00000001 PAP
"GPRSAuthenticationMethod"=dword:00000002 CHAP
HP Ipaq 614c
Current ROM:WM 6.5.3 29017 Manila Edition v0.5

If you like my work, buy me a beer

 
chan200606
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiorus View Post
So, you didnt see text like on screenshot ?



Hm..strange. I only copyed this two files, nothing more. Maybe your rom is not english?

Only can suggest to manually change GPRS Authentication Method
[HKLM\ControlPanel\PhoneExtendFunction]
"GPRSAuthenticationMethod"=dword:00000001 PAP
"GPRSAuthenticationMethod"=dword:00000002 CHAP
No, I could see only the buttons and tabs, but not the text (neither text on page nor the tab names). You are right my rom is CHT (traditional chinese) and not English, but I have my regional setting at English (Australian) and it displays English alright.

I will try the registry settings to see if they work.

Thanks,
Alfred
 
sergiorus
Old
#8  
sergiorus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 927
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallinn
Also you can translate .MUI file to your language. Just find small program ResHacker, open with it .MUI, translate all english words (about 15 words) and save it as AdvancedNetwork.exe.0804.MUI
HP Ipaq 614c
Current ROM:WM 6.5.3 29017 Manila Edition v0.5

If you like my work, buy me a beer

 
chan200606
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Finally got around to test the methods suggested, and can report as follows:

(a) manually adding [HKLM\ControlPanel\PhoneExtendFunction] to the registry - doesn't work.

(b) changing the 0409.mui with Reshack to use chinese language (1028) - still cannot see text when firing up AdvancedNetwork.exe, whether mui is named 0804.mui or 0404.mui.

(c) found a seeting in [HKLM\MUI] which is defaulting to 1028 (chinese). Change it to 1033, soft reset the machine, and AdvancedNetwork.exe (unmodified) now shows all text - hurray! Used AdvancedNetwork to set authentication to CHAP then back to PAP, then fire up IE - still would NOT connect, with same packet error message!

Looks like the program AdvancedNetworks.exe does not work on the 612c, and have to continue looking for a solution...
 
sergiorus
Old
#10  
sergiorus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 927
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallinn
Maybe solution is not here. Why you think that problem is in GPRSAuthenticationMethod?
HP Ipaq 614c
Current ROM:WM 6.5.3 29017 Manila Edition v0.5

If you like my work, buy me a beer


Tags
61x gprs pap
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more

Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more