5,595,815 Members 36,332 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Speedometer for WM6/6.5 QVGA/WVGA

Tip us?
 
gopinathann
Old
(Last edited by gopinathann; 23rd April 2010 at 06:40 PM.) Reason: New version provided
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Default GPS Speedometer for WM6/6.5 QVGA/WVGA

WVGA version v1.0
GPS Speedo WVGA.CAB

VGA version in Page 2

QVGA v1.2
GPSSpeedoQVGA.CAB
Changes in v1.2:
* Packaged CAB file
* Replaced Microsoft GPS driver with GeoFramework GPS component. Thanks to http://navsgo.codeplex.com/
* GPS Port can be configured using Settings tab.
* Few bug fixes

QVGA v1.1
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPS.JPG
Views:	7334
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	206265
GPSSpeedo QVGA v1.1.zip
Changes in v1.1:
* Big digital display
* Analog display
* Speed alert
* Send SMS alerts
* 2 Trip meters
* Configurable speed timer
* Kph/Mph unit configuration
* Lat and Long information


QVGA v1.0
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_14.jpg
Views:	3271
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	184222 Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_30.jpg
Views:	4035
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	184223

GPS Speedo.zip
Description:
This application displays an attractive dash with both digital and analog display using GPS. More features have been added to this application.

Prerequisites:
1. .NET Framework 3.5
2. MVB Backlight (optional)
3. Mortscript (optional)
 
amsatnetg
Old
#2  
amsatnetg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 265
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Not a bad idea I will give it a try
CR86 6.5.0.0.6
G3 2.26 x2
3.02 radio
 
indagroove
Old
#3  
indagroove's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: Nov 2007
Looks cool. Any chance for VGA?
 
-Arturo-
Old
#4  
-Arturo-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 669
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
Attachment 184222 Attachment 184221 Attachment 184223

Attachment 184220

This is my first development in windows mobile to have an attractive speedo on the car dash.

Make sure you have .net framework installed. The setings.exe included in the attachment is from the Microsoft SDK samples, which can be used to set the COM port if you dont' have any other application.

This has been tested in HTC P3300 (Artemis). Give a try and let me know if it works for you.
It looks promising....can you tell me whether the app shows speed in miles or kilometres??? If it's in iles can you make an option to show speed in kilometers....and if it's in kilometers can you extend the scale to at least 250 Km per hour?
 
Alex_w
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Arturo- View Post
It looks promising....can you tell me whether the app shows speed in miles or kilometres??? If it's in iles can you make an option to show speed in kilometers....and if it's in kilometers can you extend the scale to at least 250 Km per hour?
Hell, I would not be looking at my phone @ 250km/h. Or are you flying or something?
 
gopinathann
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Arturo- View Post
It looks promising....can you tell me whether the app shows speed in miles or kilometres??? If it's in iles can you make an option to show speed in kilometers....and if it's in kilometers can you extend the scale to at least 250 Km per hour?
By default it shows the km. I have provided an option to display in Mph. Because of the image I had to restrict with less km. I will increase the limit atleast to 220 later.
 
-Arturo-
Old
(Last edited by -Arturo-; 12th May 2009 at 11:17 PM.)
#7  
-Arturo-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 669
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex_w View Post
Hell, I would not be looking at my phone @ 250km/h. Or are you flying or something?
Come on tell me that you have never checked how fast your car can go?

Besides it was at night on a motorway and the nearest car was probably a few kilometers away from mine ....so no harm done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
By default it shows the km. I have provided an option to display in Mph. Because of the image I had to restrict with less km. I will increase the limit atleast to 220 later.
Ok thanks
 
rast62
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2006
@gopinathann:
please, whats about a vga-version???
 
raizaM
Old
#9  
raizaM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 102
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oregon
nice!
Other resolutions like VGA or WVGA would be useful...
  • SAMSUNG Galaxy S 4 - T-Mobile
  • SAMSUNG Galaxy S II T-989[/B] 16GB: Android 2.3.6 + aData 8GB Class 6 microSD
  • SAMSUNG Galaxy S 16GB: Android 2.1 PDA: I9000DXJG4 + aData 8GB Class 6 microSD
  • HTC Blackstone: HTC Touch HD: [WWE][27.09.10]blackSTONEhenge™ (WM6.5.3.28238/Manila 2.1) v6.0
  • HTC Blue Angel: i-mate PDA2k: WinMo 6.5: xplode R6.1 ROM: Build 21202.5.0.0 + SanDisk 2.0GB SD
  • JayBird: JB-200 Stereo Bluetooth Headset + Universal MP3 Adapter + iPod Bluetooth Adapter
 
EJLT
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2007
what exactly mean green parth of picture?

Tags
gps, meter, mobile, speedo, wm6
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more