Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,571 Members 51,353 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sipdroid 1.0.4 Primer [updated 2009-08-15]

Tip us?
 
smasraum
Old
#131  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 187
Join Date: May 2009
Just FYI. I've got sipdroid and have my phone registered to the Cisco Callmanager where I work. I can dial extensions and dial offnet, but I can't dial my phone from any phones at work and I have one-way audio issues. People that I call can hear me, but I can't hear them. I'm still tinkering with it.

I had to create a user with the DN that I'm using for the username similar to many of the other sites. In Callmanager, you can configure a "Basic SIP Device" and assign a number to that device.

Just thought some folks might be interested.
 
smasraum
Old
#132  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 187
Join Date: May 2009
I've figured out the problem, but I'm not sure how to fix it (I think it's in sipdroid).

When my phone registers with callmanager, the registered address shows as 127.0.0.1 (yeah, that's bad). I just installed and setup X-lite on my PC as a test using the same config in Callmanager and it came up and showed my PCs actual address. So it seems as if sipdroid (or possibly the G1s tcp/ip stack) is not sending the IP address to the CCM (I assume it's supposed to be in a field in the packet someplace besides the "source address" field in the header).
 
smasraum
Old
#133  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 187
Join Date: May 2009
OK, apparently this is a know issue with sipdroid.

http://code.google.com/p/sipdroid/issues/detail?id=9

In that link there is a java file that's supposed to be a band-aid type fix. Unfortunately, I'm not sure how to use the java file. I assume that I'd have to repackage the APK file.
 
fanello123
Old
#134  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 115
Join Date: Nov 2009
I've got a problem with sipdroid. It is working fine, the only problem is, if I call somebody with sipdroid I hear the ringbacktone out of the loudspeaker.
I have connected sipdroid directly with webcalldirect. My device is a Motorola Milestone(Droid).

Thanks for your help.
 
jashsu
Old
#135  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fanello123 View Post
I've got a problem with sipdroid. It is working fine, the only problem is, if I call somebody with sipdroid I hear the ringbacktone out of the loudspeaker.
I have connected sipdroid directly with webcalldirect. My device is a Motorola Milestone(Droid).

Thanks for your help.
I suggest you post an issue at the project issue tracker:
http://code.google.com/p/sipdroid/issues/list#

Also check out the discussion group:
http://groups.google.com/group/sipdroid-users
 
MountainX
Old
#136  
MountainX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 244
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: A place with no mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlitozway57 View Post
EDIT - Got it working perfect now. Will type up a better tutorial.
Here's my tutorial:
http://davestechshop.net/VoIP-on-Mot...ice-Free-Calls

Everything works well except using a headset with Sipdroid -- that has some minor issues I'm still trying to figure out... otherwise, it works great.
 
MountainX
Old
#137  
MountainX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 244
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: A place with no mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by tornamac04 View Post
i have made a step by step instruction manual for setting this up with pbxes and without. How to make video calls and how to call IM clients
Cool. Nice tutorial. The formatting is a little off when viewed with Open Office, but I could still read it.

Have you tried using a headset or earbuds+mic with Sipdroid? That's the only problem I'm having.
 
pwnvds
Old
#138  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Outgoing Caller ID?

I've search long and hard for an answer, and haven't been able to find it yet online... I am using Sipdroid with pbxes.org and sip provider smsdiscount... It works well except for a huge delay.

What I want to know is - how can pass through my regular carrier phone number (or even my Google Voice number, which forwards to my regular phone number) to the receiving PSTN phone? Is this possible? Is this controlled by sipdroid, or pbxes, or the SIP provider?
 
frankwu01
Old
#139  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by defconoi View Post
Killer app, im currently using Google Voice with Gizmo5 and I am able to place/receive calls for free with Google Voice/Gizmo, I just send all my calls to my Gizmo5 sip Number, set sipdroid to login to gizmo5 at serverroxy01.sipphone.com, then login with my gizmo username and password

I then head over to google.com/voice and place a call to my gizmo acct and free nationwide calling
Do you have Gizmo5 for Mobile installed on you cellular? Where can I download it from?
 
jashsu
Old
#140  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankwu01 View Post
Do you have Gizmo5 for Mobile installed on you cellular? Where can I download it from?
There is no "Gizmo5 for mobile". There used to be an apk called GUAVA, but it was really just a copy of Sipdroid slightly customized for Gizmo5. You can perform all the same functions with Sipdroid, and since GUAVA has not been updated in a long long time, the advice is to go with Sipdroid. Please read my updated guide here.

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes