Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Root for the HTC Magic/Sapphire] (from haykuro) (updated 5/23)

OP Darkrift

29th May 2009, 12:28 PM   |  #131  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Rooting and tethering...
I just rooted my Vodafone UK Magic (without installing the modified SPL) and I tried to install the Wireless for tethering program (the latest 1.5 build as well as the older 0.9 one) and it installs fine but still does not work when I try to start tethering... Says "Unable to start tethering..." Tried reinstalling the binaries/libraries but no luck. Any reason for this? Thanks
29th May 2009, 05:16 PM   |  #132  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
this doesn't work at all

everytime when i give fastboot command it just want to reboot and then it is stuck on the TIM splashscreen and doesn't do anything.

Help please i need to provide it with dutch language
29th May 2009, 11:28 PM   |  #133  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
@ all and haykuro,

I have an issue. First I have rooted my magic with this tutorial:

http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

After that I have activated Apps2SD within this code of RootMe Rom:

Code:
adb shell cp -r /data/app /system/sd/app
adb shell cp -r /data/app-private /system/sd/app-private
adb shell rm -r /data/app
adb shell ln -s /system/sd/app /data/app
adb shell rm - /data/app-private
adb shell ln -s /system/sd/app-private /data/app-private
No problem through this steps. After reboot all progams will be shown from ext2 partition. I have inserted the microSD card from my G1.

Now when I start Advanced Task Manager in order to finish all tasks, following message appear "Failed to end all due to lack of root access".

What have been wrong? Can anyone help me?

Thx

Kindly Regards

Puky70
30th May 2009, 01:06 PM   |  #134  
YannR's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Hello,

It doesn't seem to be critical as I can run a "fastboot boot recovery-new.img" without any problem but I think my in-built Recovery is "broken". Starting with VolDown + Power gives me the HBOOT mode but I see displayed the following messages on the device :

SD Checking...
Loading...[SAPPDIAG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[SAPPDIAG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loading...[SAPPIMG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[SAPPIMG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!


Then <BACK> FastBoot Mode is proposed. No Recovery/Nandroid screen.

My HTC Magic has already hacked SPL and I already did every steps described here :
http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

And, being a noob on Android, should I try to flash the boot-new.img mentionned in the procedure posted here in this thread :
Quote:

fastboot boot boot-new.img
wait for device to boot.
adb push boot-new.img /sdcard/boot-new.img
adb push recovery-new.img /sdcard/recovery-new.img
adb shell flash_image boot /sdcard/boot-new.img
adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-new.img
adb shell reboot

But I'm suspecting Haykuro's Magic RooteMe ROM has done the job already... or? [Edit] And this is not related to the Recovery problem, right?

So, I'm wondering how I can get this sorted out... Any tips?
Last edited by YannR; 30th May 2009 at 01:17 PM. Reason: because I like to re-edit my posts... ;)
30th May 2009, 01:20 PM   |  #135  
cmf's Avatar
Member
Flag Manchester, England, UK.
Thanks Meter: 0
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannR

Hello,

It doesn't seem to be critical as I can run a "fastboot boot recovery-new.img" without any problem but I think my in-built Recovery is "broken". Starting with VolDown + Power gives me the HBOOT mode but I see displayed the following messages on the device :

SD Checking...
Loading...[SAPPDIAG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[SAPPDIAG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loading...[SAPPIMG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[SAPPIMG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!


Then <BACK> FastBoot Mode is proposed. No Recovery/Nandroid screen.

My HTC Magic has already hacked SPL and I already did every steps described here :
http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

And, being a noob on Android, should I try to flash the boot-new.img mentionned in the procedure posted here in this thread :

But I'm suspecting Haykuro's Magic RooteMe ROM has done the job already... or? [Edit] And this is not related to the Recovery problem, right?

So, I'm wondering how I can get this sorted out... Any tips?

You get to the Recovery/Nandroid screen via Home + Power. You get to Fastboot via Vol-Dn + Power.
30th May 2009, 01:23 PM   |  #136  
YannR's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
LOL... I'm stupid...
Thank you, cmf!
30th May 2009, 02:00 PM   |  #137  
cmf's Avatar
Member
Flag Manchester, England, UK.
Thanks Meter: 0
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannR

LOL... I'm stupid...
Thank you, cmf!

It's OK. I made the same mistake, backwards.. I was trying fastboot in Recovery/Nandroid mode.
30th May 2009, 08:57 PM   |  #138  
stevetigersix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Windsor
Thanks Meter: 0
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
hi people im a complete self confesed n00b when it comes to android platform and ive just landed myself a htc magic/sapphire and wanted to do some improvements on it. Im okish on pcs so following instructions isnt an issue.

my questions this

is it easy peasy to root this bad boy and flash it with a new rom apart from the wiki guide to haykuro in this thread is it as easy as he suggests, also once rooted i gather you will no longer get ots updates,true or false. Also can we flash anything thats been done for the dream like the latest dream interfaces? looking foward to rosie comming our way eventually

btw anyone done a video tutorial or pic tutorial ive browsed youtube etc and found nothing
Last edited by stevetigersix; 30th May 2009 at 09:23 PM. Reason: extra info
30th May 2009, 09:37 PM   |  #139  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
Hi Steve, just follow the instructions as stated, it is as easy as it sounds. You will not be able to flash G1/dream interfaces, or at least its not advisable . The dream has a hardware keyboard etc......and yes you are right, no more ota updates.

Good luck


Craig
30th May 2009, 09:47 PM   |  #140  
stevetigersix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Windsor
Thanks Meter: 0
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csw43

Hi Steve, just follow the instructions as stated, it is as easy as it sounds. You will not be able to flash G1/dream interfaces, or at least its not advisable . The dream has a hardware keyboard etc......and yes you are right, no more ota updates.

Good luck


Craig

thanks for that craig i might jump in and do the fandango with it.....stilll worried about bricking it though lmao.

do you think we will get something like this from haykuro as well http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRX5N5bte68

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes