Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,150 Members 43,731 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

***Making Your Own EQ Settings!!! **UPDATE: PRE-MADE SETTINGS**

Tip us?
 
Meltus
Old
(Last edited by Meltus; 12th June 2009 at 02:17 AM.)
#1  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 993
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Default ***Making Your Own EQ Settings!!! **UPDATE: PRE-MADE SETTINGS**

Uploaded one of many pre-made EQ settings. i will begin making more soon. This one is for you Drum n' Bass lovers out there, you know who you are :P although this sounds alright with other kinds of music (better than the flat EQ anyway) it is built predominantly for songs with low bass, i will be making more EQ settings, working on a good Rock one as we speak

You install this exactly the same as my AudioMods. REMEMBER!!! you will need my other modified files for this to have it's proper effect. using this alone will not increase the volume by much and might not even work


editing the EQ on the G1 isn't hard, but it's kinda long winded and requires a fair bit of tinkering.
i'll try and talk you through it as best i can i've already enabled the EQ, all you need to do is set it up to your needs.

step 1 - download included file (the EQ taken from V1 audiomod, so a slight volume increase)

step 2 - open it with Microsoft Excel

step 3 - Editing. The only line we're interested with is Row 6.
If you look at this line, it's all to do with the EQ. you have BAND1 all the way across to BAND8. basically, i wouldn't touch either BAND1 or BAND8 as these are only filtering out the really high and bottom end which you don't want.
ok, so looking at BAND2 we have:

BAND2 gain
BAND2 gain does essentially what it says on the tin, increases the gain/volume. REMEMBER!!! we're working in hex here, so the lowest is 0 and the highest is 0F (i think)

for those who don't know much about hex it goes:
0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0A,0B,0C,0D,0E,0F and then 10. but 10 loops back to 0's volume so 0F is as loud as you can go, and in comparison to V3, which is only on 0B, thats pretty damn loud.


BAND2 Freq
yup, you guessed it. this controlls at which frequency range the gain controlls. a lower number is lower and a higher number higher. This is pretty advanced tbh, i left it well alone lol

BAND2 type
this is a tricky one. I think this controls what type of EQ is happening at that point, e.g. a parametric, or it could even be Q control, i don't know.
we can judge by BAND1 and BAND 8 that type 1 is a low-shelving EQ and type 2 is a high-shelving EQ. basically, you don't want to use these. again, i left these well alone.

so yeah, thats about it really. Gain is the only main one you need to worry about. you also need a basic understanding of how an EQ works.
Increasing all the Gains to the same volume is fine, thats what i did in my mods, but that gives a very 'basic' sound. creating a Bass Boosting EQ, for example, would mean you increase the gain in the first few bands and keep them lower in the mid-high ranges.
research, some spare time and patience would come in handy

anyway guys, i hope this helps. feel free to ask any questions, although i wont be able to answer them until i get home from work tomorrow

here is a graphical representation of what i'm going on about. (i don't fully understand band 1 and 8 so i kinda left them out )

BTW this diagram and the file included is based on V2 so, as you can see in the diagram, the volume is already boosted quite a bit. i wouldn't go much higher tbh. 0B is V3 and thats pretty distorted, so i'd say thats about the limit. unless you're very brave :P


--------------Flat EQ (AudioFilter.zip) ------------------------ Drum n Bass style EQ (...DnB EQ.zip) ----------------- Rock style EQ (...Rock EQ.zip)

i can't say this is spot on what happens but it's a very basic guide from my 'interpretation' of how the EQ works :P
i hope this helps some of you
Attached Files
File Type: zip AudioFilter.zip - [Click for QR Code] (624 Bytes, 163 views)
File Type: zip AudioFilter(DnB EQ).zip - [Click for QR Code] (625 Bytes, 325 views)
File Type: zip AudioFilter(Rock EQ).zip - [Click for QR Code] (626 Bytes, 211 views)
 
amirnew
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 185
Join Date: Apr 2009
someone can write an app that will change this file within the OS?

amir
 
Meltus
Old
#3  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 993
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
unfortunately i have not been able to make the settings change without rebooting the phone. but i imagine it's perfectly possible if someone can figure out how to do it
 
amirnew
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 185
Join Date: Apr 2009
does this Affects the headphones too?

amir
 
JLine05
Old
#5  
JLine05's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 1,023
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas
What are the chages that you are using personally, I would like to try that first and go from there. Thanks.

JLine
HTC ONE M8
ASUS TF300T
Chromecast

 
Meltus
Old
#6  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 993
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLine05 View Post
What are the chages that you are using personally, I would like to try that first and go from there. Thanks.
i'm just using my V2 atm which has a flat EQ. not had chance to mess with the settings properly.
it all depends what kinda of EQ you are after. i'm gonna try and make a 'smily-face' EQ (as we call it at college) which boosts the high and low end and leaves the mid range fairly untouched. personally, for the music i listen to (pendulum mainly ) it sounds pretty good.
 
Zappletoo
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Well, I tried that but it's very hard to fine tune.
When it sounds good with the head phones, it sounds like crap with the loudspeaker and vice versa.
And having to reboot the phone each time you try new settings makes the process way too long to appreciate the difference.
 
Meltus
Old
#8  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 993
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappletoo View Post
Well, I tried that but it's very hard to fine tune.
When it sounds good with the head phones, it sounds like crap with the loudspeaker and vice versa.
And having to reboot the phone each time you try new settings makes the process way too long to appreciate the difference.
very true. we need a way of making the settings 'stick' without rebooting the phone
 
southsko
Old
#9  
southsko's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jan 2009
Nice work! I will play around with this once I get out of the woods
 
fastludeh22
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 366
Join Date: Mar 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappletoo View Post
Well, I tried that but it's very hard to fine tune.
When it sounds good with the head phones, it sounds like crap with the loudspeaker and vice versa.
And having to reboot the phone each time you try new settings makes the process way too long to appreciate the difference.
Ya when I get to it, I'm gonna have 2 files set and saved on sdcard. One for line out/headphones. And one for phone speaker out put and just swap them on the fly via terminal.

What about sym links. Just have both files and point them where u want depending on what use ur using... now some gui with on the fly adj would be the best.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Count Cells Like a Pro with White Coat Buddy

There are times when we need to use our devices for things other than playing games, checking … more

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more