FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What is Dalvik Cache?

160 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By legaleye2005, Senior Member on 27th May 2009, 03:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
What is it? Thanks
 
 
27th May 2009, 03:30 PM |#2  
alapapa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=dalvik+cache
Last edited by neoobs; 27th May 2009 at 10:42 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to alapapa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2009, 03:42 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok, I searched and found it. But I'm running into a lil problem. I did the apps2sd thing on my 2gig sd card and now in settings, its showing 1gb for the sd card and 1gb total space for the internal storage(which isn't right because the phone doesn't come with that much storage, right?).

What am I doing wrong?
27th May 2009, 03:45 PM |#4  
metasage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Even after searching on Google it seems that the purpose of Dalvik Cache is very convoluted. From what little I understand it's the location where application data stored by the OS... but I could be wrong.
27th May 2009, 03:51 PM |#5  
cyanogen's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5,729
 
Donate to Me
More
Simple explanation:

When Android starts up, the DalvikVM looks thru all of your applications (.apk files) and frameworks, and builds a tree of dependencies. It uses this dependency tree to optimize the bytecode for every application and stores it in the Dalvik cache. The applications are then run using the optimized bytecode. This is why when you install a new ROM, sometimes it takes a very long time to boot for the first time. Any time an application (or framework library) changes, it's reoptimized and the cache is updated.
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to cyanogen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2009, 03:53 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cyanogen- Thanks! By the way, great job on the rom. I'm running it right now.

So can you tell me why people want to move it to their sd? (By doing the apps2sd, did I already do this?)

Thanks again.
27th May 2009, 04:10 PM |#7  
metasage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye2005

Cyanogen- Thanks! By the way, great job on the rom. I'm running it right now.

So can you tell me why people want to move it to their sd? (By doing the apps2sd, did I already do this?)

Thanks again.

To save memory, of course. And you probably haven't moved your dalvik cache to your SD Card yet.
27th May 2009, 04:37 PM |#8  
glock30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Ironic
Quote:
Originally Posted by alapapa

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=dalvik+cache

This post is the #2 link in that search... Just found that kind of ironic.
Last edited by neoobs; 27th May 2009 at 10:43 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to glock30 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2009, 06:09 PM |#9  
alapapa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I'm sorry I came off as snide and dismissive -- i guess i was...

I really should have just posted this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_virtual_machine
Last edited by neoobs; 27th May 2009 at 10:43 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alapapa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2009, 06:20 PM |#10  
cyanogen's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5,729
 
Donate to Me
More
If you want to know about the guts of whats going on with the "dalvik cache", try here:

http://android.git.kernel.org/?p=pla...t.html;hb=HEAD
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cyanogen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2009, 10:35 PM |#11  
Mikey's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,550
 
Donate to Me
More
As for this thread it will be moved to GENERAL, since this has no bearing on developement of the G1

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes