Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

Duke Nukem GP, Heretic for G1 (Using the Free Doom off Market)

OP Mysticales

29th May 2009, 07:53 AM   |  #1  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Hey all, did some old digging in my Zodiac 2 Palm files. Back when I was playing Duke GP on it. Anyways learned that some wads dont work on the Doom G1, however I found my wad file that does. =D

So if you wanna play duke nukem. http://www.darkmystics.com/g1 is where to go. You have to put the file on your SD card in the doom folder. (I used Lind file manager) However.. was odd tho, Do not try clicking it with the G1 browser.. seems to wanna load up as a txt file which then freezes the G1. Instead long press, save link as, then after it saves, use lind to rename it to .wad and move it to the doom folder.

Download Doom on the Market, its free. Then install sounds, install the various wad files you want, long as this wad file is in the folder it works. One glitch however. It wont use the Duke 3d sfx. So Id suggest turning them off. Since its mapping Doom sounds to Duke3d but if you wanna play Duke, least its something. =) Just wanting to give back something to the forums. (Since on the market the other dev charges for Duke Nukem..)

Anyways hope this is ok with everyone and hope you have fun. =)

Update: Went more digging in my files. Heretic works as well now. =D

Sadly my Quake 2 doesnt.. nor counter-strike. But I am still working to find what more I can add for you all. =)
Last edited by Mysticales; 30th May 2009 at 06:53 AM.
29th May 2009, 12:08 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
This is awesome! Brings back some great memories

Thanks very much for finding this!
29th May 2009, 02:20 PM   |  #3  
predo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 8
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
doom works fine but when i try to run dukegp.wad i get the

fatal error:... iwad not found...

any ideas?
29th May 2009, 03:21 PM   |  #4  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Iwad not found..? Just to make sure do you have the sound files installed? Did you DL it with the G1 or what?

Cause I tried some other wads I had on my palm and if it doesnt work on the G1 it would just crash out to the home screen. Or say force close. But iwad not found, not sure there. But I have all the wads installed the app can do on its own. Then I added this one. Plus you do have it in the doom folder right?

Btw.. Doom 2 is also in the site... shhh! I didnt say a word.

Edit: Also I see 2 doom versions now, so to clarify, Its "Doom for Android (FREE)" by Scheff's Blend.
Last edited by Mysticales; 29th May 2009 at 03:24 PM.
29th May 2009, 07:12 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by predo

doom works fine but when i try to run dukegp.wad i get the

fatal error:... iwad not found...

any ideas?

I had the same problem. Even though there's no sound, click Dukegp, and then install the sound files. That will get it to work.
29th May 2009, 07:36 PM   |  #6  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I emailed the dev on his Doom port so he knows of this wad. Ill look around too see if I can jury rig something about the sound files for everyone. =) Thank god I still have my Zodiac 2 working. ^^
30th May 2009, 06:54 AM   |  #7  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Woot Heretic now posted as well. =D I really hope the dev gets back to me now, maybe were we can add a separate sounds folder to map to the wads. Either way with this solid port in progress and smooth control and frame rate. Good stuff indeed. =D
30th May 2009, 09:00 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
works fine, but the dn3d cheats dnstuff and dncornholio dosenīt work
30th May 2009, 10:04 PM   |  #9  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Rem the wads are being run on a Doom port. So since this is new on the G1. Not sure how everything maps out. So not sure about extras and so. If the dev responds to this stuff. Would help alot. But this was what I had for Zdoom and so.
31st May 2009, 08:09 PM   |  #10  
LatinSilEighty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
LOL Heretic and Duke Nukem sound halarious with Doom sound FX

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
doom duke nukem
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes