FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Duke Nukem GP, Heretic for G1 (Using the Free Doom off Market)

1,590 posts
Thanks Meter: 90
 
By Mysticales, Senior Member on 29th May 2009, 07:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey all, did some old digging in my Zodiac 2 Palm files. Back when I was playing Duke GP on it. Anyways learned that some wads dont work on the Doom G1, however I found my wad file that does. =D

So if you wanna play duke nukem. http://www.darkmystics.com/g1 is where to go. You have to put the file on your SD card in the doom folder. (I used Lind file manager) However.. was odd tho, Do not try clicking it with the G1 browser.. seems to wanna load up as a txt file which then freezes the G1. Instead long press, save link as, then after it saves, use lind to rename it to .wad and move it to the doom folder.

Download Doom on the Market, its free. Then install sounds, install the various wad files you want, long as this wad file is in the folder it works. One glitch however. It wont use the Duke 3d sfx. So Id suggest turning them off. Since its mapping Doom sounds to Duke3d but if you wanna play Duke, least its something. =) Just wanting to give back something to the forums. (Since on the market the other dev charges for Duke Nukem..)

Anyways hope this is ok with everyone and hope you have fun. =)

Update: Went more digging in my files. Heretic works as well now. =D

Sadly my Quake 2 doesnt.. nor counter-strike. But I am still working to find what more I can add for you all. =)
Last edited by Mysticales; 30th May 2009 at 06:53 AM.
 
 
29th May 2009, 12:08 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
This is awesome! Brings back some great memories

Thanks very much for finding this!
29th May 2009, 02:20 PM |#3  
predo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
doom works fine but when i try to run dukegp.wad i get the

fatal error:... iwad not found...

any ideas?
29th May 2009, 03:21 PM |#4  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Iwad not found..? Just to make sure do you have the sound files installed? Did you DL it with the G1 or what?

Cause I tried some other wads I had on my palm and if it doesnt work on the G1 it would just crash out to the home screen. Or say force close. But iwad not found, not sure there. But I have all the wads installed the app can do on its own. Then I added this one. Plus you do have it in the doom folder right?

Btw.. Doom 2 is also in the site... shhh! I didnt say a word.

Edit: Also I see 2 doom versions now, so to clarify, Its "Doom for Android (FREE)" by Scheff's Blend.
Last edited by Mysticales; 29th May 2009 at 03:24 PM.
29th May 2009, 07:12 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by predo

doom works fine but when i try to run dukegp.wad i get the

fatal error:... iwad not found...

any ideas?

I had the same problem. Even though there's no sound, click Dukegp, and then install the sound files. That will get it to work.
29th May 2009, 07:36 PM |#6  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
I emailed the dev on his Doom port so he knows of this wad. Ill look around too see if I can jury rig something about the sound files for everyone. =) Thank god I still have my Zodiac 2 working. ^^
30th May 2009, 06:54 AM |#7  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Woot Heretic now posted as well. =D I really hope the dev gets back to me now, maybe were we can add a separate sounds folder to map to the wads. Either way with this solid port in progress and smooth control and frame rate. Good stuff indeed. =D
30th May 2009, 09:00 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
works fine, but the dn3d cheats dnstuff and dncornholio dosenīt work
30th May 2009, 10:04 PM |#9  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Rem the wads are being run on a Doom port. So since this is new on the G1. Not sure how everything maps out. So not sure about extras and so. If the dev responds to this stuff. Would help alot. But this was what I had for Zdoom and so.
31st May 2009, 08:09 PM |#10  
LatinSilEighty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
LOL Heretic and Duke Nukem sound halarious with Doom sound FX
1st June 2009, 02:25 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Talking Hey man just wanna say thankx so much that dn is awesome
Hey thanks very much I really enjoy playing doom and doom 2.
Duke nukem is always fun , mostly in a boring situation

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
doom duke nukem
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes