Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 47,956 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

TP2 looses WIFI settings

Tip us?
 
Chris Proud
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Default TP2 looses WIFI settings

Anybody else find that if it can't connect to a wireless network, it deletes the saved settings? The most recent time it actually said invalid key and prompted for a new key rather than just doing the usual delete job.

Also, would be nice if you could paste into the touchflo 3D config page rather than having to go into the advanced config. Would be a small detail if I didn't have to enter the key again every time I go out of range!

Thanks
 
quarintus
Old
#2  
quarintus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 551
Join Date: Apr 2007
I know your problem. It's more a windows mobile problem.

At the moment you click on a connection (router) on your wm device, it will loose the network key. So don't do that.

I've had the problem with one router at our home, but it was the router was faulty. Often it wasn't possible to connect. We got a new one, and it didn't happen egain.
 
Fidipaldi
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2006
I also experience that the wifi connection drops with the TP2 several times a day. This does not happen with all the other devices so I guess that this is a TP2 specific problem....
 
Chris Proud
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
My old TYTN2 didn't have this problem but I have heard the occasional complaint in the office. The TP2 consistantly looses the settings.
 
Fidipaldi
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2006
I contacted HTC support and that is what they recommend. Just applied the settings so I can't say yet if that works.

"I would recommend that you set your WLAN to best performance on your device. This will normally cure any network problems you are having. Please see the instructions below for more information. - Start - Settings - Connections - Wireless LAN - Power Mode - Move bar all the way to the left for Best Performance - Perform a soft-reset - Try and re-connect to your WiFi Network"
 
davidebeatrice
Old
#6  
davidebeatrice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 1,016
Join Date: Jun 2007
my wifi always not connecting...
HTC One - InsertCoin Sense6 M8 Port

Asus FonePad - Rooted

Xperia Arc S - BackUp Phone

HTC One X - Old One

HTC Desire HD - Old old One

Motorola Xoom - OmniRom 4.4.2

Toshiba Folio - Old One
 
Mashe
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidipaldi View Post
I also experience that the wifi connection drops with the TP2 several times a day. This does not happen with all the other devices so I guess that this is a TP2 specific problem....
got the same one .. will try the cure described bellow
 
neforce
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 50
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stadskanaal
Yesterday i had the same thing. I lied in bed, and turned on wifi. It tried to connect, and connect, but after a while, it says: new wifi network found.

So I connected, and I had to fill in again my wifi password… really strange.
 
deekul
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default TP2 looses wifi settings

Try configuring network key using WPA + TKIP instead of WPA2 which helped fixing my TP2 wifi settings

Tags
wifi, wireless
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more