Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,205 Members 40,497 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WinMo on Magic ?

Tip us?
 
colonel
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 586
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: london
Question WinMo on Magic ?

sorry if this will upset some Android devotees, but does any one know if there are there any roms or projects to put WinMo that run on the magic.
I love the hardware, and it would be great to be able to run some of my WinMo programs and sync. with Outlook on it.

rgds
Xperia Z2
Previous: Note 3, iPhone 5s, HTC One, Nexus 4, Sony Xperia P, Samsung G SIII, Galaxy Nexus, Nokia 710, Galaxy S, Xperia Ray, iPhone 4s, Dell Venue Pro, BB 9800, Sensation, ChaCha, Desire S, Mozart, BB9780, HD7, Desire, Nokia N97 Mini, iPhone 4, Mini HD, Legend, BB9000, Nokia E72, Nexus 1, Touch HD, Snap, Click, BB9700, T-Mob Pulse (U8220), iphone 3GS, Diamond 2, Nokia E63 & E71, Palm Treo Pro, Magic, S740, Touch Pro, Jade, Diamond, x7500, Elf, S730,S710, S620, Universal, Hermes
 
MontAlbert
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 2,391
Join Date: Jan 2007
i used to use WM. why you would ever WANT to put that dog on a phone amazes me. so slow. M$ needed to get off their butts about 5 yrs ago!
T-mobile G1- Sold
HTC Magic 32A- Sold
Nexus One- Sold
T-mobile HD2- Sold
HTC Inspire 4G- Backup phone
HTC Sensation- Sold due to HTC giving dev's the middle finger and dodgy build quality
Samsung Galaxy Nexus Sold due to crappy camera
LG Nexus 4 Given to the Missus
LG Nexus 5 Backup phone

OnePlus One Gotta love it- if only everyone could get one
follow me on Twitter
 
Joost39
Old
#3  
Joost39's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nęstved
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontAlbert View Post
i used to use WM. why you would ever WANT to put that dog on a phone amazes me. so slow. M$ needed to get off their butts about 5 yrs ago!
LOL - same here - why???
Nokia Lumia 630 dualsim & Omate Truesmart 4GB+32GB
 
w3rw01f
Old
#4  
w3rw01f's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Moscow
that have been discussed here already
Xperia Active (ST17i)
ROM: hybrom by boof
 
Fatal1ty2787
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 122
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonel View Post
sorry if this will upset some Android devotees, but does any one know if there are there any roms or projects to put WinMo that run on the magic.
I love the hardware, and it would be great to be able to run some of my WinMo programs and sync. with Outlook on it.

rgds
Actually I don't think that WinMo supports Capacitive touchscreens! correct me if I'm wrong...
 
xray84
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2008
There are a plenty of reasons for windows mobile and against android. But I think there are 2 or 3 major problems with porting it to the magic.

First, I think getting the drivers for the touchscreen is almost impossible
Second, wimo does not support the magic resolution of 480*320
Third, Finding someone who is able to create a wimo rom from scratch and making a stable Version for an unsupported device

Android is ok, but it still feels like a big public beta software test
 
guinnes.s
Old
#7  
guinnes.s's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 533
Join Date: May 2009
I did play around with my friend HTC TOUCH HD with winmob os.............no thanks,it feels..............old,
 
MPerki
Old
#8  
MPerki's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2006
Just to add my tuppence worth......

I've been using WM for 4 years through Wizard to Touch+ to Diamond and to be honest I was sick of it. I have flash roms, designed dialler screens and spent alot of time with Pointui.
IMHO Android is very good and must run a close second to IPhone. The slick UI is what we have all been waiting for with WM and it has never happened.

I was considering a Touch HD/ IPhone / HTC Magic. In the end the integration with google and the good interface made me plump with the Magic and I am very very very happy.

I am a business user and leisure user and it really is a breath of fresh air to have a phone that actually works.....
HTC Magic A+

HTC Touch Diamond[/B] Duttys Diam V2.5 12PP
T-Mobile Touch Enhanced[/B] (Elfin) [WM6.1] Elf(in) ShadoW 2.1 CE
POINTUI v1.02b
]XDA Mini S G4[/B] XM6 R5 mfrazzz
POINTUI v1.02b www.PointUI.com
 
colonel
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 586
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: london
Quote:
Originally Posted by xray84 View Post
There are a plenty of reasons for windows mobile and against android. But I think there are 2 or 3 major problems with porting it to the magic.

First, I think getting the drivers for the touchscreen is almost impossible
Second, wimo does not support the magic resolution of 480*320
Third, Finding someone who is able to create a wimo rom from scratch and making a stable Version for an unsupported device

Android is ok, but it still feels like a big public beta software test
thanks for the considered response
I was not really asking for "which is better", just the straight question about whether there is a project. It seems not.
I didn't realise the magic has a capacitive screen. thats going to be fun, my magic is coming today or tomorrow.
I have a diamond 2 as well, so i will be able to compare, hopefully 6.5 soon to android.

I don't think the screen resolution is any problem, but your third point is valid.

Google really need to get outlook sync. out of the bat. Apparently androids sold in asia have exchange sync already as they are "not google branded". hopefully google will pull its finger out soon!
Xperia Z2
Previous: Note 3, iPhone 5s, HTC One, Nexus 4, Sony Xperia P, Samsung G SIII, Galaxy Nexus, Nokia 710, Galaxy S, Xperia Ray, iPhone 4s, Dell Venue Pro, BB 9800, Sensation, ChaCha, Desire S, Mozart, BB9780, HD7, Desire, Nokia N97 Mini, iPhone 4, Mini HD, Legend, BB9000, Nokia E72, Nexus 1, Touch HD, Snap, Click, BB9700, T-Mob Pulse (U8220), iphone 3GS, Diamond 2, Nokia E63 & E71, Palm Treo Pro, Magic, S740, Touch Pro, Jade, Diamond, x7500, Elf, S730,S710, S620, Universal, Hermes
 
bunny0007
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Randers
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonel View Post
Google really need to get outlook sync. out of the bat. Apparently androids sold in asia have exchange sync already as they are "not google branded". hopefully google will pull its finger out soon!
Why??

Android where never ment to be used with outlook sync and exchange.

Exchange might be good to have, but i think outlook sync are pointless.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more