5,600,571 Members 33,236 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to gain root access to google ion rom?

Tip us?
 
hankit
Old
#1  
hankit's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 56
Join Date: Dec 2006
Exclamation How to gain root access to google ion rom?

I'm have the original ION phone with Ion Rom...
But from what i search from wiki to forum's here, mostly I see is reflashing the whole rom to get root access..

is it possible to get the root access on the rom I have now rather than reflashing it?

This is what I have right now in my phone:
HBoot-1.33.3004 (SAPP30000)
CPLD-10
RADIO-2.22.19.261
 
Amon_RA
Old
#2  
Amon_RA's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 392
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Jan 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes this is possible.

1. Download a rooted recovery image (recovery.img) with nandroid support.
2. Switch your ion to fastboot mode.
3. Execute "Fastboot boot recovery.img" (this will not flash the recovery to your Ion, it will just load it).
4. perform a nandroid backup.
5. unpack the boot.img you find in the nandroid directory on your sdcard.
6. change the ro.secure property and repack the boot.img.
7. flash the rooted boot.img image to your ion.
 
hankit
Old
#3  
hankit's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 56
Join Date: Dec 2006
So the instruction mention is the same as the one posted on wiki?
http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

Many thanks!
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA View Post
Yes this is possible.

1. Download a rooted recovery image (recovery.img) with nandroid support.
2. Switch your ion to fastboot mode.
3. Execute "Fastboot boot recovery.img" (this will not flash the recovery to your Ion, it will just load it).
4. perform a nandroid backup.
5. unpack the boot.img you find in the nandroid directory on your sdcard.
6. change the ro.secure property and repack the boot.img.
7. flash the rooted boot.img image to your ion.
 
Amon_RA
Old
#4  
Amon_RA's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 392
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Jan 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
No, it's not the same, with the instructions on the wiki your are overwriting your ROM with a different one... so you basically undo the ion rom.
 
hankit
Old
#5  
hankit's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 56
Join Date: Dec 2006
Im very new to this, do you mind bring me throught the how process?

I have just went ahead to try that process..(as i thought its just bascially rooting the magic with the recovery rom and ended up on a boot loop)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA View Post
No, it's not the same, with the instructions on the wiki your are overwriting your ROM with a different one... so you basically undo the ion rom.
 
ultraMX
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
5. unpack the boot.img you find in the nandroid directory on your sdcard.
How do you do that?
 
Amon_RA
Old
#7  
Amon_RA's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 392
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Jan 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultraMX View Post
How do you do that?
http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...ck_Boot_Images
 
ultraMX
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thank you Amon_RA!
 
yochaigal
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 105
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boston
Hello,
Just got a google ion. Originally followed the instructions in the link above about rooting an htc magic... which allowed me to put haykuro's rootme on. Everything works fine now, I have root (I was able to add new fonts as su). However I do not have a superuser app--- and I am a bit confused about who I receive updates from now. I have read that jf1.5 does not work on this phone.
I did not need to unpack any .img files.
I have a recovery where I can flash new update.zip files, do nandroid backups, etc.
Can anyone fill me in on where I can get a superuser app, who should I receive updated update.zip fles from, etc?
The ion rom that is floating around installs but wifi doesn't work, so I'm back at rootme.zip.
 
colonel
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 585
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: london
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA View Post
No, it's not the same, with the instructions on the wiki your are overwriting your ROM with a different one... so you basically undo the ion rom.
no you don't
I followed the wiki and had ROOT and Hard SPL but the rom was unchanged
**
Note 3
Previous: iPhone 5s, HTC One, Nexus 4, Sony Xperia P, Samsung G SIII, Galaxy Nexus, Nokia 710, Galaxy S, Xperia Ray, iPhone 4s, Dell Venue Pro, BB 9800, Sensation, ChaCha, Desire S, Mozart, BB9780, HD7, Desire, Nokia N97 Mini, iPhone 4, Mini HD, Legend, BB9000, Nokia E72, Nexus 1, Touch HD, Snap, Click, BB9700, T-Mob Pulse (U8220), iphone 3GS, Diamond 2, Nokia E63 & E71, Palm Treo Pro, Magic, S740, Touch Pro, Jade, Diamond, x7500, Elf, S730,S710, S620, Universal, Hermes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more