Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][WWE][16-Jul-10] Timolol's stock-like WM6.5.5 ROM (Build 23569)

OP timolol

21st June 2009, 01:16 PM   |  #31  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 2
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilgrim011

Great job. It's weird that the problem was caused by irrelevant app like MP3 Trimmer.

Yeah I know hey! Oh well I'm glad it's fixed. I'll upload the new version when I get home (which could be a few hours)
21st June 2009, 04:46 PM   |  #32  
Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 353
 
1,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Can you tell me what's your experience with alarm function in your ROM? Is it absolutely reliable like in 6.1 official ROM or not? This is one of my major concerns regarding custom ROMs. Btw., I'm back to 6.1 for now because of the RAM problems with the current build and to tell you the truth, I think 6.1 is more functional than 6.5 out of the box. 6.5 just looks better - nicer icons, contextual menu and a little better scrolling, but I cannot see any real advantage over older OS version. CHome is a big disappointment for me - TF3D is much more functional, SPB MS also. New start menu is awful - I don't see where is the logic in it...
Last edited by pilgrim011; 21st June 2009 at 04:49 PM. Reason: forgot smthng
21st June 2009, 05:38 PM   |  #33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
timolol or anyone who's tried out this ROM,
I have yet to try out this ROM, but can you answer a quick question for me?
Is your ROM UC enabled? Couldn't find any information saying it is.
Thanks,
21st June 2009, 10:59 PM   |  #34  
sammypwns's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Woodlands, TX
Thanks Meter: 0
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
if its not too much to ask, could you upload your kitchen to some place like 4shared.com?
22nd June 2009, 01:12 AM   |  #35  
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 96
 
639 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I am very excited about this ROM -- I 100% agree with your "minimal, bug-free apps only, WM6.5 w/HTC apps" philosophy -- perfect! It is driving me crazy how all of other ROMS are cooking in the new tachi dialer and TF3D2 which all have bugs on top of bugs! Wait until it's fully working, then cook in, people! Anyway, I am really looking forward to giving this ROM a shot, perhaps tomorrow night. Thank you for taking this approach, I really think it's the way to go!
22nd June 2009, 04:00 AM   |  #36  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
"the WM6.5 lock screen not being compatible with the included dialer"

Next upgrade can u use ms standard dialer or something else that compatible?

found this bug really ...well....sucks. when i receive a call its not ring, but 1st the lcd flip flip for several second, and then the screen messed up and then its ring and after that phone becoming very slow need to soft reset.
22nd June 2009, 08:02 AM   |  #37  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 2
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilgrim011

Can you tell me what's your experience with alarm function in your ROM? Is it absolutely reliable like in 6.1 official ROM or not? This is one of my major concerns regarding custom ROMs. Btw., I'm back to 6.1 for now because of the RAM problems with the current build and to tell you the truth, I think 6.1 is more functional than 6.5 out of the box. 6.5 just looks better - nicer icons, contextual menu and a little better scrolling, but I cannot see any real advantage over older OS version. CHome is a big disappointment for me - TF3D is much more functional, SPB MS also. New start menu is awful - I don't see where is the logic in it...

The alarm function in this ROM has never failed me and I use it everyday. I guess WM6.5 and Chome take a while to get used to, but once you spend enough time with it, it becomes natural.




Quote:
Originally Posted by ken_shin33

timolol or anyone who's tried out this ROM,
I have yet to try out this ROM, but can you answer a quick question for me?
Is your ROM UC enabled? Couldn't find any information saying it is.
Thanks,

Yes, it is UC enabled. Sorry, I forgot to mention that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmith8858

I am very excited about this ROM -- I 100% agree with your "minimal, bug-free apps only, WM6.5 w/HTC apps" philosophy -- perfect! It is driving me crazy how all of other ROMS are cooking in the new tachi dialer and TF3D2 which all have bugs on top of bugs! Wait until it's fully working, then cook in, people! Anyway, I am really looking forward to giving this ROM a shot, perhaps tomorrow night. Thank you for taking this approach, I really think it's the way to go!

I'm glad to hear you agree with philosophy Cheers!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dialupboy

"the WM6.5 lock screen not being compatible with the included dialer"

Next upgrade can u use ms standard dialer or something else that compatible?

found this bug really ...well....sucks. when i receive a call its not ring, but 1st the lcd flip flip for several second, and then the screen messed up and then its ring and after that phone becoming very slow need to soft reset.

I haven't experienced the problem that you describe when receiving calls. However, if you want to disable the HTC dialer, it's very straightforward. Just use any registry editor program to navigate to 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Security/Phone/Skin' then change the value of 'Enabled' from 1 to 0. Soft reset, and you will now be using the standard WM6.5 dialer. Alternatively, you could use a program like Advanced Config or Diamond Tweak to achieve the same outcome
Last edited by timolol; 22nd June 2009 at 08:13 AM.
22nd June 2009, 08:15 AM   |  #38  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 2
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Version 2 of this ROM has been released! Please check the first post for details and the download link Can somebody please kindly upload some mirrors (especially rapidshare). Cheers

I fixed the memory issue, which is the main reason for the new version.
Last edited by timolol; 22nd June 2009 at 08:17 AM.
22nd June 2009, 08:23 AM   |  #39  
Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 353
 
1,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Thanks for new version, I'm gonna try it later today when I come home. Can you tell me what does this means - Disabled AutoDataConfig (redundant)? Not sure what is AutoDataConfig, is it the automated configuration of gprs/mms settings or something else?
22nd June 2009, 08:29 AM   |  #40  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 2
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilgrim011

Thanks for new version, I'm gonna try it later today when I come home. Can you tell me what does this means - Disabled AutoDataConfig (redundant)? Not sure what is AutoDataConfig, is it the automated configuration of gprs/mms settings or something else?

It's the windows mobile automated configuration of network settings (gprs/mms). However, I have cooked in an HTC program called "Connection Setup" which performs exactly the same function, but looks much nicer. If both are enabled (as in the last ROM version), the automated configuration basically runs twice, which is completely unnecessary.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes