Post Reply

[Recovery] [32A & 32B] [16-May-2010] RA-sapphire-v1.7.0

26th June 2009, 10:30 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
EDIT from my post above. So the before i just did fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img and it booted to the recovery. thats fine.

then i tried to flash it using adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RAv1.0H.img (after pusing the recovery image to my sd card)
but i get Permission denied.

^ is it because we dont have root?
26th June 2009, 10:39 PM   |  #12  
skittleguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I think its because the stock spl has signiture checking on. Change the spl though and...
The Following User Says Thank You to skittleguy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2009, 10:42 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by skittleguy

I think its because the stock spl has signiture checking on. Change the spl though and...

possibly. I'm no expert but what i can say is my rogers magic is different from my friends. I have S-OFF (signature off? maybe) while he has S-ON. I have CPLD-11 while he has CPLD-12.

I am afraid to flash my SPL to 2005 though.
26th June 2009, 10:46 PM   |  #14  
skittleguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Odd...I had no problem flashing the 2005 spl...
26th June 2009, 10:54 PM   |  #15  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mack

EDIT from my post above. So the before i just did fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img and it booted to the recovery. thats fine.

then i tried to flash it using adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RAv1.0H.img (after pusing the recovery image to my sd card)
but i get Permission denied.

^ is it because we dont have root?

Try this :
1. Boot the device in fastboot mode.
2. Connect the device to your machine over USB.
3. $fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img
Wait for a minute or two..
$adb shell mount -a
Ignore the failed mounts...
$adb push recovery-RAv1.0H.img /system/recovery.img
$adb push recovery-RAv1.0H.img /sd-card/recovery-RAv1.0H.img
$adb shell flash_image recovery /sd-card/recovery-RAv1.0H.img
4. Reboot

If it doesn't work you might need to flash your SPL :
- 32A board : apply this update from your sd-card after fast booting with this recovery.
- 32B board : apply this update from your sd-card after fast booting with this recovery.
Last edited by Amon_RA; 26th June 2009 at 11:03 PM.
26th June 2009, 11:45 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

Try this :
1. Boot the device in fastboot mode.
2. Connect the device to your machine over USB.
3. $fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img
Wait for a minute or two..
$adb shell mount -a
Ignore the failed mounts...
$adb push recovery-RAv1.0H.img /system/recovery.img
$adb push recovery-RAv1.0H.img /sd-card/recovery-RAv1.0H.img
$adb shell flash_image recovery /sd-card/recovery-RAv1.0H.img
4. Reboot

If it doesn't work you might need to flash your SPL :
- 32A board : apply this update from your sd-card after fast booting with this recovery.
- 32B board : apply this update from your sd-card after fast booting with this recovery.


thanks, so i just tried that. successful until the last one. it gives me /sbin/sh: flash_image: not found.

However I did get /sbin/sh: -c requires an argument when i did adb shell -a

I will try to flash SPL 2005 now. can i just fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img then apply update.zip from there?
26th June 2009, 11:56 PM   |  #17  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Talking
For those who need root on their Rogers Magic :

I quickly enabled root and added busybox to the Rogers Magic boot image:

1. Copy this update to your SD-card.
2. Boot the device in fastboot mode.
3. Connect the device to your machine over USB.
4. $fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img
wait a few minutes and unplug your device from USB
5. Choose option "Apply sdcard:update.zip" from the menu

Enjoy
27th June 2009, 12:15 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
amazing. you did it again amon. i now have root =)
27th June 2009, 12:18 AM   |  #19  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mack

amazing. you did it again amon. i now have root =)

You're welcome, you can now update your signature
27th June 2009, 01:47 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
My Ion came with what appears to be a G1 recovery image - It was a 3d ! triangle with no menu options. I flashed it to use the Smartphone France image (same thing but with a trackball-accessible menu).

http://wiki.smartphonefrance.info/pu...ckup-magic.png

Did your Ion come with the green HTC logo and a trackball-accessible menu?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amon ra
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes