Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Recovery] [32A & 32B] [16-May-2010] RA-sapphire-v1.7.0

OP Amon_RA

5th August 2009, 08:56 AM   |  #191  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Thanks a lot for the fantastic recovery

i had a few doubts

1. is it safe to just flash it thru fastoot using
fastboot flash recovery *your_recovery.img*

2. # Partition your SD directly from the menu! (500MB Ext2, 32MB Swap, remaining Fat32) *NEW

can you explain what the above means ?

3. the last option move apps and dalvik cache to SD is not working, could you pls explain what this is and how to get this working
Edit/Delete Message
5th August 2009, 09:08 AM   |  #192  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjareboy

Tried running adb shell df, but doesn't work I'm pretty noobish doing these things..

Attachment 212627

Ok... try installing a terminal app on your mobile and check it that way.
I'm actually 100% you really ran out of SYSTEM space, remove some things you don't need from system to free some space...

If you're using my rom you actually don't need to write it to system, just put the recovery image in data and reboot, it will automatically flash the recovery and remove the image file.
5th August 2009, 09:13 AM   |  #193  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trincisor

Thanks a lot for the fantastic recovery

i had a few doubts

1. is it safe to just flash it thru fastoot using
fastboot flash recovery *your_recovery.img*

2. # Partition your SD directly from the menu! (500MB Ext2, 32MB Swap, remaining Fat32) *NEW

can you explain what the above means ?

3. the last option move apps and dalvik cache to SD is not working, could you pls explain what this is and how to get this working
Edit/Delete Message

1. Yes, why would it be "unsafe"?
2. This will create an 500MB ext2 partition, a 32MD swap partition and the remaining space on your SD will be a fat32 partition. Only do this if you are using a ROM that supports apps2sd, etc...
3. This option only works if you have an ext2 partition AND a ROM that supports apps2sd.
5th August 2009, 09:45 AM   |  #194  
stevetigersix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Windsor
Thanks Meter: 0
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Amon

to replace the older recovery img think its 1.1.2G i have from you can i just transfer the 1.2 img to my sd and reboot?
5th August 2009, 11:02 AM   |  #195  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 12
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

1. Yes, why would it be "unsafe"?
2. This will create an 500MB ext2 partition, a 32MD swap partition and the remaining space on your SD will be a fat32 partition. Only do this if you are using a ROM that supports apps2sd, etc...
3. This option only works if you have an ext2 partition AND a ROM that supports apps2sd.

When will you support app2sd on your ROM?
5th August 2009, 01:39 PM   |  #196  
jerpelea's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Lund
Thanks Meter: 38,464
 
6,685 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
did somebody get this error?

older versions are working fine !!


on version 1.2
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	212806
5th August 2009, 02:11 PM   |  #197  
Senior Member
Flag Ryazan
Thanks Meter: 193
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerpelea

did somebody get this error?

older versions are working fine !!


on version 1.2
Attachment 212806

+1

htc magic a6161

Install from sdcard ...
finding update package .....
E: can t mount /dev/block/mmcblc0 p1 ( or /dev/block/mmcblk0) ( no sush file or directory )
installation aborted
5th August 2009, 02:50 PM   |  #198  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevetigersix

Amon

to replace the older recovery img think its 1.1.2G i have from you can i just transfer the 1.2 img to my sd and reboot?

It all depends on the ROM you are currently using...
Please check the last lines of your init.rc!

Stock ROMs will have something like this in their init.rc :

Code:
service flash_recovery /system/bin/flash_image recovery /system/recovery.img
oneshot
This means that your ROM will search for a recovery.img inside the system directory and flash it at boot.

Other custom ROMs will have something like this in their init.rc :

Code:
service flash_recovery /system/bin/flash_image -d recovery /data/recovery.img
oneshot
This means that your ROM will search for a recovery.img inside the data directory and flash it at boot.

Some custom ROMs don't have this line at all, this means that you have to flash your recovery using fastboot or flash_image yourself.
5th August 2009, 02:58 PM   |  #199  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxgg

When will you support app2sd on your ROM?

I don't think I'll implement it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerpelea

did somebody get this error?
older versions are working fine !!
on version 1.2
Attachment 212806

Could you please tell me which steps you took?
Did you choose "Apply sdcard:update.zip" or did you choose "Apply sdcard:choose zip" ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbit19

+1

htc magic a6161

Install from sdcard ...
finding update package .....
E: can t mount /dev/block/mmcblc0 p1 ( or /dev/block/mmcblk0) ( no sush file or directory )
installation aborted

Boot into recovery, wait a minute or 2 so your SDcard can mount and choose update package.
5th August 2009, 03:20 PM   |  #200  
bjareboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trondheim
Thanks Meter: 4
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Ok, I'll try with terminal...
What kind of files can I delete from system?...and how? I checked the system folder with ASTO file manager, but didn't see any "useless" files to delete..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amon ra
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes