FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Bares All in New Tear Down Gallery

Last year, the launch of the OnePlus One, dubbed ‘the flagship killer’, visibly … more

Focus – An Attractive But Raw Gallery Replacement

Focus is an attractive new app built by XDA members Liam Spradlin … more

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

[Recovery] [32A & 32B] [16-May-2010] RA-sapphire-v1.7.0

1,278 posts
Thanks Meter: 398
 
By Amon_RA, Retired Senior Recognized Developer on 26th June 2009, 09:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th December 2009, 01:01 AM |#601  
karaduke's Avatar
Member
Flag essex
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
can someone tell me how to fastboot the recovery because i`m totally stumped. i have ion 1.6 rom installed and after trying to get recovery back on my phone it now wont let me do factory reset???
 
 
7th December 2009, 01:10 AM |#602  
schtuka's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
here is for the new guys who are too lazy to look around and want everything now. your guide to fastboot and adb:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=532719
7th December 2009, 01:28 AM |#603  
Senior Member
Flag Mentone, CA
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
For those having issues, here's what I did:

Changed the name of the image to "recovery.img"

Copied the recovery.img file to my adb folder which for me is c:\android-sdk-windows-1.6_r1\tools

Booted my phone into recovery (Home + Power)

Plugged the phone into my pc.

Ran the following command from the command prompt: adb push recovery.img /data

Then reboot the phone.

Then reboot into recovery and you should be set.

That's it. Hope this helps.
7th December 2009, 05:17 AM |#604  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello all. I'm new to the forum, actually I just registered. I've been lurking around for a while and finally decided to throw in my two cents. I don't use adb, as I'm not familiar with it yet. I had trouble flashing from terminal. But, for all the other "noobs" like myself that are struggling to get this awesome new recovery image:

Change the name of the file to recovery.img on the root of your sd:

From terminal window (Terminal Emulator, or Better Terminal from the market):

su
cp /sdcard/recovery.img /data/recovery.img
reboot

After it fully reboots, reboot into recovery and VOILA!!

Hope this helps, it worked like a charm for me.
7th December 2009, 05:54 AM |#605  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
For some reason, I can always flash the recovery, and it will work one time.

Then if I try to go back into it again, it's always back at the stock recovery screen with this at the bottom:

Code:
E:Can't Open /cache/recovery/command
7th December 2009, 06:21 AM |#606  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Yes, use the G one...

Neejay: Do you have a recovery under /data? (or something similar, sorry can't rmb offhand)
7th December 2009, 06:53 AM |#607  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
nand restore !!
first thank you ;
i installed 1.5 it works very good but i try to make nand restore i found this error can't restore and try make restore through console by nandroid-mobile.sh
why in 1.4 this not come i went console i made restore but pls. chk. this error
thank you
7th December 2009, 08:59 AM |#608  
karaduke's Avatar
Member
Flag essex
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
at last i finally figured it out lol

if your gonna use the fastboot method from the first post to it like this:-

Copy recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0H to a location where fastboot can find it.
Boot your phone into fastboot mode (boot while holding BACK)
Connect your phone via usb to your pc/mac/...
fastboot devices (to make sure that fastboot "sees" your phone)
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0G.img

i added .img at the end of the above recovery image and it worked. if you read this amon_RA can you edit your first post so people don`t copy and paste(like me) the recovery path into the pc cmd shell and then wonder why it don`t work lol.


just to add this is everything i entered on my pc in cmd shell-make sure your in fastboot mode on your phone.

cd C:\AndroidSDK\tools
fastboot devices
fastboot shell

fastboot erase recovery
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0G.img

and then it says okay twice and thats it all done.


excellent recovery 1.5 by the way keep up the good work.
Last edited by karaduke; 7th December 2009 at 09:42 AM.
7th December 2009, 10:09 AM |#609  
5[Strogino]'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 194
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karaduke

at last i finally figured it out lol

if your gonna use the fastboot method from the first post to it like this:-

Copy recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0H to a location where fastboot can find it.
Boot your phone into fastboot mode (boot while holding BACK)
Connect your phone via usb to your pc/mac/...
fastboot devices (to make sure that fastboot "sees" your phone)
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0G.img

i added .img at the end of the above recovery image and it worked. if you read this amon_RA can you edit your first post so people don`t copy and paste(like me) the recovery path into the pc cmd shell and then wonder why it don`t work lol.


just to add this is everything i entered on my pc in cmd shell-make sure your in fastboot mode on your phone.

cd C:\AndroidSDK\tools
fastboot devices
fastboot shell

fastboot erase recovery
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.0G.img

and then it says okay twice and thats it all done.


excellent recovery 1.5 by the way keep up the good work.

Nice nooby method)))) But you can get it easy, if you know your device.

Turn off the phone, turn on by holding (Back + Power) - phone boots into HBoot
At the first 4-5 strings - there is a SPL-info (Information about Second Program Loader - like BIOS at the computer)

So...

SAPPHIRE PVT 32A ENG S-OFF H
HBOOT-1.76.2007 (SAPP10000)
CPLD-12
RADIO-6.35.07.29
Aug 21 2009, 18:19:15

to know, what recovery do you need, you must remember these options:

Motherboard of your sapphire/magic/mytg:
32A - htc magics
32B - some (not all) vodafone magics, t-mobile mytouch 3g, all phones with title "with Google" on the back.

for 32A phones - recovery with suffix 'H' - like 1.5.0H
for 32B phones - recovery with suffix 'G' - like 1.5.0G
7th December 2009, 10:21 AM |#610  
karaduke's Avatar
Member
Flag essex
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
totally agree BUT when i changed my spl to eng spl 2005 the top line when in fastboot on my phone now says SAPPHIRE PVT 32B ENG S-OFF H

the G for google has now been replaced with H for htc

how confusing would that be to some lol
7th December 2009, 10:54 AM |#611  
5[Strogino]'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 194
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karaduke

totally agree BUT when i changed my spl to eng spl 2005 the top line when in fastboot on my phone now says SAPPHIRE PVT 32B ENG S-OFF H

the G for google has now been replaced with H for htc

how confusing would that be to some lol

Yes. It will confuse everyone. But important option is version of motherboard.
If you have 32B - you can't never change it...

Originally, 32B versions updating through OTA-updates. At last time, OTA updates came with ROM or patch and without SPL.
Some of 32A updates came with new SPL, so we have a small library of these SPLs. As they all came from HTC, so they marked 'H'
You flashed SPL 2005 - it changed G to H, but functionality still same...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amon ra
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes