FORUMS

Google Now Marches Forward with ‘Now on Tap’

When Google Now was announced three years ago, it revolutionized the mobile … more

I/O 2015: Google Announces App Link Enhancements

During the Google I/O Keynote, VP of Engineering Dave Burke announced that the Android … more

Google Announces its IoT platform titled ‘Brillo’

A few days ago, a leak highlighted Google’s foray into the Internet … more

Android M Adds “Doze” Deep Sleeping

Android M has answered the call of battery by adding in a deeper sleep implementation … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Rogers HTC Magic rooted, but can't tether

28th June 2009, 06:01 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So thanks to RA and Haykuro, I have my Magic rooted. But I'm still unable to tether. I get this message in the log of the app:

Code:
Tearing down firewall rules...
iptables v1.3.7: can't initialize iptables
table 'filter': iptables who? (do you need 
to insmod?)
Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to 
be upgraded.
failed
What can I do to make it work?
 
 
28th June 2009, 06:10 PM |#2  
ranxoren's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
from wot i gather, the iptables on the Rogers rom dont allow you to tether and therefore you have to load a custom ROM for it to work aka the ION5 rom for example. It already comes with a tethering app. I cant try it since im overseas on a paygo sim card with no data plan.

Someone correct me if im wrong please.
28th June 2009, 07:14 PM |#3  
Amon_RA's Avatar
Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 398
 
More
My best guess is that the Rogers kernel isn't supporting netfilter/iptables , you'll have to replace the kernel with a "netfilter-enabled" kernel or compile one yourself.
28th June 2009, 07:34 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Ive had the same problem the only way i could teather was to use PdaNet.....

hers the link enjoy..... http://www.junefabrics.com/android/
28th June 2009, 07:45 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killadude

Ive had the same problem the only way i could teather was to use PdaNet.....

hers the link enjoy..... http://www.junefabrics.com/android/

I know of PDANet and I have no intention of using it.

Amon_RA, tell me more.
28th June 2009, 07:59 PM |#6  
birnie's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Im as noob as you get with linux stuff, but is it extremely had to recompile the original rogers kernel with IPtables?

Birnie
29th June 2009, 07:07 PM |#7  
birnie's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Anyone made any progress on this?
29th June 2009, 10:42 PM |#8  
jfive74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
From what I have read, you with 1.5 cupcake, deep root access was blocked and to attain that level, got to apply this "su" to enable it. hey warn that it leaves phone security wide open. Google search. Will post
link I found shortly.
29th June 2009, 10:44 PM |#9  
jfive74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...ic_Root_Access

That's the link!
29th June 2009, 10:51 PM |#10  
alpinux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfive74

From what I have read, you with 1.5 cupcake, deep root access was blocked and to attain that level, got to apply this "su" to enable it. hey warn that it leaves phone security wide open. Google search. Will post
link I found shortly.

It's not a matter of root access. As Amon_RA said you'll have to replace your kernel in the boot.img or recompile one yourself.
To answer the next question "how does it work"...... google is your friend: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...&meta=&aq=f&oq
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes