Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,386 Members 52,077 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][25MAR10][v2.4.0.2]Power Radio - FM player with RDS decoding

Tip us?
 
6Fg8
Old
(Last edited by 6Fg8; 7th December 2010 at 10:10 PM.)
#1  
6Fg8's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,150
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vienna
Post [APP][25MAR10][v2.4.0.2]Power Radio - FM player with RDS decoding

Why PowerRadio?
The built-im FM player - at least on HTC HD - misses many features i'd like to have in a FM radio. PowerRadio delivers many data available via RDS which would otherwise be invisible to the listener. Here are just a few examples:
- Radiotext: contains information broadcast by the respective station. What you get here totally depens on the broadcaster. You might see title and interpret, call-in numbers, SMS trafficservice numbers, URL's etc.
- traffic announcements, program type, coverage area, date, time, timezone, various status flags
More info on RDS can be found in this post.



Note: symbolic picture. HD2 is not currently supported.

You like Power Radio?

I've spent many hours in writing this app. If you like it, why not buy me a coffee to keep me awake during the nightly coding sessions?



Thank you for your kind donations
Marta F.P.
Bruno M.
thommic
MartinHDK
ricarp
kandisbunzler
rigoletto04
ReM942000
Ivan S.
Koffein Schluck
Herbert K.
oscarfpa
mcmaja
AlexK
MassimoG
JürgenF
JohanP
GünterL
VassiliosP
WolfgangN


DOWNLOADS
Power Radio runs on many, but NOT ALL devices!
check here to see if you're lucky!


Power Radio cab's
Supported Devices list


Station Icons
includes instructions how to make your own cabs!
v1.4 or greater only!

Skins
get shiny, colorful, cool skins for Power Radio
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 6Fg8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
uvz
Old
(Last edited by uvz; 29th June 2009 at 11:34 PM.)
#2  
uvz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 137
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milano
fantastic! works great on my raphael (6.5)
thanks
Now I just change the color brown ..
http://xs313.xs.to/xs313/07114/logoSoloTreoAlpha.png
The Italian Treo Forum

S3 mini/Nexus 7
 
flywhc
Old
#3  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 357
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
I am using Raphael 6.5 ROM too.
I couldn't hear anything after installation but I couldsee RDS data on the screen.
I closed and replaced GFMAPI then it works.

Suggestion: add indicator of loading/unloading progress such as a spinning hourglass.
Current: O2 Serra

[Donation] Please support the RDS FM Radio project. You will get Radio Text, Sync Clock, Traffic Info (TMC) etc from build-in FM Radio on your phone.
 
NetRipper
Old
#4  
NetRipper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 563
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 's-Gravendeel

 
DONATE TO ME
Heya. Nice to see you released your radio Looking quite good! I like the classic yellow/brown look.

Just two remarks I found so far..
1) When on speaker mode, shutdown and restart, it's on full volume. Woke half my family with it ;) Could you enforce the previous volume on startup?
2) Could you change the sensitivity setting to allow higher sensitivity? When at 9 I still get way too many 'static noise' stations. I need it to go to at least 15 or so. Besides, sensitivity is more like 'minimal signal level'. Else a value of '0' implies less sensitive, while it seems to be even more sensitive.
░ Wizard ► Hermes ► Raphael ► Leo ░ My Tech BlogTwitterDonate
TorchButtonKeypadLedControlLeoExtendedNotificationsLeoCpuSpeedMsm7kCpuSpeed
░ Linux on Diamond/Raphael and Leo
 
uvz
Old
#5  
uvz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 137
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milano
Quote:
Originally Posted by flywhc View Post
I couldn't hear anything after installation but I couldsee RDS data on the screen.
right.
I was listening with headphones
http://xs313.xs.to/xs313/07114/logoSoloTreoAlpha.png
The Italian Treo Forum

S3 mini/Nexus 7
 
L_o_k_i
Old
(Last edited by L_o_k_i; 30th June 2009 at 08:52 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 254
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paris
Hi,

That's great for a start! I'm impressed!



I have found some bugs:

- The volume level is louder than the volume indicator after a close/restart.

- After a close/restart, the names of the preset buttons change from for example "87,5" to "87" with the "5" under the "87" (see pics)... After that the preset button for my example tunes to "87" and not to "87,5". If I try to edit the name, only "5" is editable.

- There's a problem with the police you use: after I use Power Radio, the font of the task manager on my Touch HD is replaced by yours (see pic)... I have to soft reset to get it back.



Will it be possible to:

- store more presets

- store the name of the station instead of the frequency during the scan

- add the possibility to record the radio

One more question, but it may be for flywhc: when the reception is not good, the name of the station can be misspelled (the other information also can be wrong)... I thought the checkwords in RDS groups could help in detecting these errors and not transmit a wrong block.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen002.jpg
Views:	2957
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	200523   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen003.jpg
Views:	2232
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	200524   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen005.jpg
Views:	2654
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	200525  
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7
Samsung Galaxy S4 (Stock ROM)
Nexus 5 (Stock ROM)
 
powersquad
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 194
Join Date: Jun 2009
Did not open on Touch Pro 2. Installed fine. When opened it, error came "can't open GFMAPI"
 
Boss428man
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 328
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston
Hi, Looks good however it isn't working on my verizon diamond. It opens and say wait loading forever. If you close and restart the ap I get can't open GFMAPI. I also noticed that it changes my HTC task bar font to the digital font. Well i'm looking forward to your next rev. Thanks for the hard work.
 
6Fg8
Old
#9  
6Fg8's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,150
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vienna
Thanks everyone for your comments. I added a todo list to the first post reflecting your suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L_o_k_i View Post
- After a close/restart, the names of the preset buttons change from for example "87,5" to "87" with the "5" under the "87" (see pics)... After that the preset button for my example tunes to "87" and not to "87,5". If I try to edit the name, only "5" is editable.
I forgot to mention that country settings are ignored in this version. I'm using a WWE rom where comma is a ".", on your screenshot i see a french version where obviously comma is ",". I will add country support later - it's on the todo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L_o_k_i View Post
- store the name of the station instead of the frequency during the scan
Thats possible, but would extend scan times dramatically as i've to wait for RDS data to arrive. And then there are still broadcasters without RDS at all. I'll consider adding a scan option for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L_o_k_i View Post
- add the possibility to record the radio
I have no plans for writing another audio recording app, but it should be possible to integrate with an existing one. Will check that out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L_o_k_i View Post
One more question, but it may be for flywhc: when the reception is not good, the name of the station can be misspelled (the other information also can be wrong)... I thought the checkwords in RDS groups could help in detecting these errors and not transmit a wrong block.
It's not flywhc's fault, GFMAPI delivers the checkwords but at the moment they are simply ignored . Added to todo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by powersquad View Post
Did not open on Touch Pro 2. Installed fine. When opened it, error came "can't open GFMAPI"
Touch pro 2 doesnt have native FM radio support, though some guys managed to add that. See this thread for details:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...=521356&page=1
 
6Fg8
Old
#10  
6Fg8's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,150
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss428man View Post
Hi, Looks good however it isn't working on my verizon diamond. It opens and say wait loading forever. If you close and restart the ap I get can't open GFMAPI. I also noticed that it changes my HTC task bar font to the digital font. Well i'm looking forward to your next rev. Thanks for the hard work.
I dont know your device, does it have a built-in FM radio app? Could you try to run flywhc's APITest (see first post) and see if it opens/plays?

After closing PowerRadio, you have to wait for approx. 10 secs. before restarting it. This is due to hidden threads running in background after exit. I'll add waitcursors in future releases to indicate that.

You could try to run a manual scan while it still displays "wait loading", or manually step through frequencies to a known station. Please let me know the outcome.

Tags
fm player, fm radio, gfmapi, rds
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes