FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] How to install adb on linux??? (ubuntu)

600 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By jamizzal, Senior Member on 4th July 2009, 03:15 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys im pretty good with adb, not many problems at all but ive recently ditched windows for a real os Ubuntu but im not super familiar with the commands and how to do this and that. Can someone hep me with setting up adb in Linux the guide posted is really rough for noobs to linux.
 
 
4th July 2009, 03:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Orlando, Fl
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
well if you using linux then you will be using terminal to type out the adb commands. once you installed adb into linux you can type adb /? and it will give you the list of commands. In most cases you have to use sudo when running adb commands, at least using sudo when starting the adb server.
The Following User Says Thank You to rsfaze For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2009, 03:58 AM |#3  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
no i have no problem using adb at all, i was asking how to install it i cant get it to run in the first place ?
4th July 2009, 05:30 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..
Last edited by sonikamd; 4th July 2009 at 05:33 AM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sonikamd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2009, 06:10 AM |#5  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd

you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..

thank you you are officially great
4th July 2009, 04:15 PM |#6  
Member
Flag Wilshire, England
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamizzal

thank you you are officially great

Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat
4th July 2009, 07:13 PM |#7  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPerry

Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat

thank you i was wondering why i could not find my device
26th October 2009, 01:17 AM |#8  
Cetin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd

you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..

Thank youu a lot! It's working with this but everytime I am rebooting Ubunutu 9.04 I have to type in these commands again to get adb...
what can I do?
7th November 2009, 12:37 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Bruxelles-Brussels
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
you have to put this command in your .bashrc file
$ sudo gedit ~/.bashrc

then you need to enter your password

in the file you just need to add that command at the end :

PATH=$PATH:/SDK_PATH/tools/
export PATH

SDK_PATH.. you need to put your path .. something like ~/android-sdk-linux/
then you need to reboot to see if it works ;)

enjoy !
27th December 2009, 01:05 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
how do you
install apps on the virtual device?????????
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes