FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[Q] How to install adb on linux??? (ubuntu)

600 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By jamizzal, Senior Member on 4th July 2009, 03:15 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys im pretty good with adb, not many problems at all but ive recently ditched windows for a real os Ubuntu but im not super familiar with the commands and how to do this and that. Can someone hep me with setting up adb in Linux the guide posted is really rough for noobs to linux.
 
 
4th July 2009, 03:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Orlando, Fl
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
well if you using linux then you will be using terminal to type out the adb commands. once you installed adb into linux you can type adb /? and it will give you the list of commands. In most cases you have to use sudo when running adb commands, at least using sudo when starting the adb server.
The Following User Says Thank You to rsfaze For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2009, 03:58 AM |#3  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
no i have no problem using adb at all, i was asking how to install it i cant get it to run in the first place ?
4th July 2009, 05:30 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..
Last edited by sonikamd; 4th July 2009 at 05:33 AM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sonikamd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2009, 06:10 AM |#5  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd

you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..

thank you you are officially great
4th July 2009, 04:15 PM |#6  
Member
Flag Wilshire, England
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamizzal

thank you you are officially great

Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat
4th July 2009, 07:13 PM |#7  
jamizzal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag NWK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPerry

Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat

thank you i was wondering why i could not find my device
26th October 2009, 01:17 AM |#8  
Cetin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd

you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..

Thank youu a lot! It's working with this but everytime I am rebooting Ubunutu 9.04 I have to type in these commands again to get adb...
what can I do?
7th November 2009, 12:37 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Bruxelles-Brussels
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
you have to put this command in your .bashrc file
$ sudo gedit ~/.bashrc

then you need to enter your password

in the file you just need to add that command at the end :

PATH=$PATH:/SDK_PATH/tools/
export PATH

SDK_PATH.. you need to put your path .. something like ~/android-sdk-linux/
then you need to reboot to see if it works ;)

enjoy !
27th December 2009, 01:05 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
how do you
install apps on the virtual device?????????
27th December 2009, 06:29 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
This is how I did it on my machine:

1. Download this zip file
2. Extract the file and copy both files to /usr/bin/
3. In the terminal type lsusb and copy first 4 ID symbols for High Tech Computer Corp
4. In the terminal type sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules and paste the following SUBSYSTEM=="usb",ATTRS(idVendor)=="0bb4",SYMLINK+="android_adb",MODE="0666" where the bold symbols are taken from step #3.
5. Save and close everything. Unplug your device and plug it back again. ADB should now work as supposed.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Karolis For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes