5,606,297 Members 32,797 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to install adb on linux??? (ubuntu)

Tip us?
 
jamizzal
Old
#1  
jamizzal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 599
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWK
Default [Q] How to install adb on linux??? (ubuntu)

Hey guys im pretty good with adb, not many problems at all but ive recently ditched windows for a real os Ubuntu but im not super familiar with the commands and how to do this and that. Can someone hep me with setting up adb in Linux the guide posted is really rough for noobs to linux.
Phone: HTC ONE S aka HTC VILLE
Rom: (Android 4.2.2) P.A.C MAN Rom V23 (Halo)
S-OFF
Super CID
 
rsfaze
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 1,121
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
well if you using linux then you will be using terminal to type out the adb commands. once you installed adb into linux you can type adb /? and it will give you the list of commands. In most cases you have to use sudo when running adb commands, at least using sudo when starting the adb server.
The Following User Says Thank You to rsfaze For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jamizzal
Old
#3  
jamizzal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 599
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWK
no i have no problem using adb at all, i was asking how to install it i cant get it to run in the first place ?
Phone: HTC ONE S aka HTC VILLE
Rom: (Android 4.2.2) P.A.C MAN Rom V23 (Halo)
S-OFF
Super CID
 
sonikamd
Old
(Last edited by sonikamd; 4th July 2009 at 05:33 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jan 2008
you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sonikamd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jamizzal
Old
#5  
jamizzal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 599
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd View Post
you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..
thank you you are officially great
Phone: HTC ONE S aka HTC VILLE
Rom: (Android 4.2.2) P.A.C MAN Rom V23 (Halo)
S-OFF
Super CID
 
NPerry
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 50
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wilshire, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamizzal View Post
thank you you are officially great
Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat
Nexus 4
* Motorola Xoom
* Samsung Galaxy S II
* Nexus One
* HTC Dream
 
jamizzal
Old
#7  
jamizzal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 599
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWK
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPerry View Post
Just to expand on that a little, when you adb start-server you will need to sudo, IIRC on ubuntu root is only enable to connect to USB.

Eg

Code:
sudo adb start-server
adb devices
adb logcat
thank you i was wondering why i could not find my device
Phone: HTC ONE S aka HTC VILLE
Rom: (Android 4.2.2) P.A.C MAN Rom V23 (Halo)
S-OFF
Super CID
 
Cetin
Old
#8  
Cetin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 232
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikamd View Post
you have to follow the steps for linux, they are mostly meant for ubuntu afaik. Download the special linux SDK, Eclipse etc. One thing you should do to make adb work is add your sdk/tools directory to linux's $PATH.

It should go something like this...

$ echo $PATH (should return the directories associated with $PATH)
$ export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/sdk/tools (replace with path to your tools directory, you may need to add 'sudo' to the beginning of this cmd)
$ echo $PATH (you should now see your tools directory added to the end of the $PATH variable)
$ adb devices (now adb should do something, if nothing else at least error, no devices)

Is this what you were looking for? or some other issue..
Thank youu a lot! It's working with this but everytime I am rebooting Ubunutu 9.04 I have to type in these commands again to get adb...
what can I do?
 
koala996
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 475
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bruxelles-Brussels
you have to put this command in your .bashrc file
$ sudo gedit ~/.bashrc

then you need to enter your password

in the file you just need to add that command at the end :

PATH=$PATH:/SDK_PATH/tools/
export PATH

SDK_PATH.. you need to put your path .. something like ~/android-sdk-linux/
then you need to reboot to see if it works ;)

enjoy !
Devices:
HTC HD2
HTC Trophy 7
HTC (G2) Magic
HTC (G1) Dream (dev phone)
 
thesk8mafia
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default how do you

install apps on the virtual device?????????

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes